Back to Richard’s Profile

Client Review

Richard has received 44 client reviews

First DUI offense client

Posted by: a DUI client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 1-6 months ago.

Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr. Lurye was very knowledgeable about the entire DUI process. I completed all of the items on his "checklist," which gave me a very favorable outcome in both the criminal hearing and MVA hearing. If you follow all of his instructions, you should see similar results (depending on your prior criminal record, of course). I got more than I could have asked for from Mr. Lurye, but there is effort required on your part that you must be willing to undertake. You won't get favorable results if you don't put any of your own personal time/energy into his instructions.

Very helpful and supportive

Posted by: a DUI client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I interviewed several lawyers before I hired Mr. Lurye- this being my first offense ever, DUI or otherwise (not to mention I blew a .17 BAL), I was naturally very nervous and wanted to find the best. While most of the lawyers I met with had decent track records, none of them really inspired a lot of confidence. Then I found Mr. Lurye here on Avvo and decided to give him a call. Though he was out of town and unable to meet with me in person for while, he immediately called back, asked me if he could look at my case, asked me if I could explain my situation in my own words, and gave me sound advice before I even hired him or met in person. After I hired him, Mr. Lurye was very helpful and supportive every step of the way, and he showed a personal investment not only in my legal troubles but also in my personal well-being. He was always informative and thorough. He helped me understand the legal process behind DUI cases and all the possible outcomes from these cases, including "probation before judgement" which I did not know about before, and he always kept me informed about all my options. Based on my case he gave me a to-do list before my hearing that would both help me get the best possible outcome from my case and be a powerful learning experience so that I would not repeat the same mistake. It was a lot of work, but completely worth it. In the end I managed to get probation before judgment with two years of unsupervised probation, which was even better than I expected. But most importantly, I will never drink and drive again.

Very Professional

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.

Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

He was very professional and kept me informed on what was going on at all times and what to expect. Was always available for any questions that I had and answered them thoroughly. He was very effective and fought to get me the best possible out come. Would recommend to anyone seeking a good lawyer.

Great Representation

Posted by: a DUI client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.

Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Rick was great throughout the whole process. He kept me informed and helped me get a very favorable outcome. I will definitely refer him to others I know.

Fully recommend Mr. Lurye

Posted by: a DUI client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.

Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Mr. Lurye was very professional and kept me informed on next steps in my case. He sought to understand me as a person and not just as another client. He was genuinely concerned for me and my well -being throughout my trial process. He was knowledgeable of the law and also put me in contact with resources beneficial to my case. He understood what questions to ask and sought to understand my answers. Mr. Lurye stayed in contact with me throughout the development of my case and provided great insight along the way. I would recommend him fully.

the man!!!

Posted by: Xavier, a DUI client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.

Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Mr. Lurye is just the best possible lawyer for this type of cases I won't go too much into details since the previous person (Dick) pretty much explained how Mr. Lurye approached and handle the case as he did with mine. My incident happened many years ago but I couldn't asked for a better outcome. thank you so much Mr. Lurye

Excellent Lawyer, caring man!

Posted by: E., a Criminal Defense client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.

Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

If you are seeking a lawyer we highly recommend Mr. Lurye. He was professional yet empathetic to our situation and we always felt there was hope after speaking with him. He is a very caring man and was genuinely concerned and not condemning which was a relief. He always kept us apprised of the status of our case, even contacting us while he was out of state attending a funeral. He worked closely with the State's Attorney and was able to negotiate to have the serious charges dropped for which we are very grateful. We would definitely turn to Mr. Lurye again if the need ever arose. Thank you Richard Lurye and God bless.

Best choice for a DUI attorney

Posted by: Dick, a DUI client 7 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.

Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Immediately after getting a DUI/DWI, I conducted some research on attorneys and eventually contacted Richard Lurye in Rockville, MD. After having spent part of the previous evening in jail, I was very, very anxious to begin planning for my defense as this was my first time being arrested. Richard was very good about explaining the circumstances and what to expect. I appreciated his approach, not overly optimistic and not too dreadful, just very specific about what happens next. He asked me for all the details and specifics about the arrest. I appreciated his candor and not trying to over-sell me on his abilities and how he would be able to get a not-guilty verdict or have the case thrown out. I actually had a couple attorneys suggest this. My alcohol level was twice (.16) the limit (.08) and high enough to potentially cause a judge to render a harsher verdict. Richard devised a very effective and complete game plan for my defense including doing community service, attending a PADD class, reading a book about alcohol addiction and AA, and attending alcohol counseling. He also was very familiar with the legal system in Montgomery County, MD and knew the Judges and the Prosecutors well enough to know which judges were more conservative than others. He recommended that I avoid the Administrative Law Hearing at the DMV due to my high BAC level and have an intelock systme installed instead. I made a decison early on to do eveything he asked me to do including having the interlock system placed on my vehicle. When we appeared in court, he also arranged to have the Psychologist appear and provide the court with a summary of the work I did during our counseling sessions. He tutored me on what to expect at the hearing as well as what to say and what not to say. The result of the hearing was much better than expected. Essentially, because I had followed the advice of my attorney to the letter, the judge accepted a probation before judgement and actually ruled that even the probationary period was now over so I was free of having to do anything else other than pay a fine (which I did prior to the trial on advice of Counsel). Needless to say I was very, very relieved to hear this verdict. I present these details to offer my strongest recommendation for Richard Lurye as your attorney. He was very effective in my defense and prepared me in every aspect in order to postion me for the best possible outome. You would be doing yourself a favor by hiring Richard as your defense attorney. I am certainly glad I did.

Advice on provisional driver & speeding ticket...

Posted by: Kathy Y., a Speeding Ticket client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.

Richard handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

Thank you very much Mr. Lurye! After initially turning to the internet for legal advice, being given the opportunity to actually discuss the situation with an attorney was a big relief. Though your advice included a recommendation NOT to formally retain a lawyer, it also included much needed guidance and wise counsel as to how best to proceed. I truly enjoyed speaking with you. Your patience and willingness to delve into the details during a phone consultation absolutely highlights your genuine concern for your clients. So, please consider this (almost) client extremely satisfied. I am sincerely grateful.

A brilliant lawyer who truly cares about his clients -- an unconditional recommendation !!

Posted by: a client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

We were referred to Rick Lurye by some close friends when our teenage son fell foul of the law and was charged with second degree assault (on a police officer) and resisting arrest. Rick was very thorough and thoughtful in his interventions. His experience in dealing with similar cases is more than evident and his ability to negotiate a deal with the attorney's office was exceptional. Rick also made sure that my son understood the gravity of his mistake and provided "tough love" and wise counseling. We are thrilled that my son had the charges against him dropped (after completing community service and alcohol awareness education) and that he can now go on to fulfill his promise as a more thoughtful citizen and leader of the future. We highly recommend that you work with Rick. He is a truly exceptional lawyer who really cares about his clients.