Back to Richard’s Profile

Richard has received 50 client reviews

A great ally

Posted by: a client 12 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

After getting a DUI, I was overwhelmed with the whole process, as this was my first arrest of any kind. I quickly read as many reviews of lawyers as I could, in an effort to inform myself, and narrowed it down to a remaining handful. I called each one of these on my list, but Rick stood out from our first conversation, and immediately helped me to reach a comfort level. Without even having me signed up as a client, he advised me of my rights, explained what I needed to do next, and how I should proceed going forward. I hired Rick the next day, and it was the best decision I could have made. My case involved a first-offense DUI with a BAC under .15, and no accident or injuries. Rick provided me a "to-do list", as many others have mentioned below this review...it is extensive, but if you are truly committed to showing the court that this incident is not a good reflection of your character, then it will not be a problem to complete. These included attending a state recognized alcohol counseling program, reading a book and writing a paper, attending a victim impact class that highlights the dangers of driving under the influence, and volunteer work with an organization of your choice. The items Rick requests you do may see pretty overwhelming at first, and even after a couple weeks it seems like they are more hassle than they are worth. But by doing multiple things over a longer timeline, there is very little chance you will forget about WHY you are doing these things, and in the long run, this will help to ensure you don't make the same mistake again. Because I started with these items almost immediately after my arrest, I was able to complete the check list before both my DMV hearing and my court date. This was a powerful tool to help mitigate the punishment I could have received at either of these hearings, and it showed the DMV and the court that I was doing everything in my power to learn from my mistake, and to try to right my wrong. I received a Probation Before Judgement, with 6 months unsupervised probation (meaning I had no further actions to complete once my court hearing ended). And compared to the other DUI cases that were heard before mine, I was easily the most prepared person in the courtroom that day. I credit this to Rick. I can't recommend Rick enough...he is a true professional. He will give you the guidance you need to improve who you are, and that will not go unrecognized by the court.

I recommend Mr. Richard Lurye to anyone seeking an Excellent and capable lawyer

Posted by: a client 15 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I really recommend Mr. Richard Lurye to anyone seeking a good and capable lawyer. He is: - an Excellent Lawyer, - intelligent, - knowledgeable, - professional, - humble, - patient man, - caring man, - but, most importantly, he is very humane. I hired Richard in February 2014 and my date court was scheduled in October the same year. At the time, I was disturbed because it was my first time to be arrested in my life. When I received a DUI, it was after being involved in a car accident (but I was alone in the car), I was therefore dealing with both emotions and healthy problems. This being my first offense/ DUI ever, I was feeling very nervous and wanted to find the best Lawyer. I therefore surfed on internet to google Maryland Lawyers and see how I can contact them. While most of the lawyers I saw on internet had good track records, only Mr. Lurye inspired a lot of confidence considering his profile and his experience and decided to give him a call. It was an afternoon. He asked me if I could go to see him the following day and explain my situation to him. We sat together in his office and gave me sound advice before I even hired him. I’m a foreigner, new in US at time, and my English was not good and, therefore, I could not speak properly to him because I missing suitable expression to explain him my case. But he always made sure I understood what he was telling me. He was really patient with me. He even taught me how to speak properly in order to be understood. Mr. Luyre offered me an excellent consultation, keeping me at ease while discussing a number of options I had. I appreciated his approach, not overly optimistic but also not overly pessimistic; just very specific about what can happen according to my case. He played a role of a very good teacher to me! He asked me all the details and specifics about my family life, education, career, but also about the arrest. He was really genuinely concerned for me and my well-being throughout the whole period and process. He was always asking questions about my Family, since he knew that I came in this country for job purposes. Mr. Lurye is really a very knowledgeable lawyer about the entire DUI process. He took his time to teach me the legal process behind DUI cases and all the possible outcomes from these cases. He is very patient. As I said above, my English was not good, and I was always asking him to repeat what he was telling me, but he did not get nervous about that. He suggested me a “list to do” while waiting the court date, which I completed (all of the items on his "checklist") after almost 6 months. This checklist included notably doing “community services”, attending a “PADD class”, the “Right Turn”, “reading a book about alcohol addiction”, and attending “alcohol counseling classes”. He also advised me to install an interlock system in my car. I decided to follow all his advices to the letter because I knew that all these would contribute to a very favorable outcome in the court. The outcome was probation before judgment with 364 days of unsupervised probation. This outcome was really a real relief for me. I thank you so much, Dear Richard Lurye, you really defended me as you would defend a member of your own family. I am sincerely grateful.

Extremely Helpful and Experienced

Posted by: a client 18 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

Mr. Lurye was everything I could have asked for during this difficult time. In my case, I was very worried about the outcome. I refused to use the breathalyzer (bad choice) and was charged with a DUI/DWI after driving onto the curb. I cannot express how deeply depressed I was about the whole situation and what could have happened. Nonetheless, Mr. Lurye immediately gave very detailed counsel and advice when I called. Furthermore, he met with me on a weekend and got me ready to take the next steps in my case. Mr. Lurye suggested I complete various programs and I did so. He was extremely trustworthy and knowledgeable. He responded whenever there was a true need for a response and if an emergency was taking place, he was extremely quick to respond. As a result, I was extremely lucky and had the most favorable outcome possible - in whole I attribute this to Mr. Lurye's suggestions and following through with them. The process is time consuming, financially devastating, and emotionally draining....but Mr. Lurye is a kind and helpful man who will get you through it all.

Its good to know Rick

Posted by: a client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

Richard Lurye is a caring, accomplished, and compassionate man. Rick, as he is often called, effortlessly demonstrated this from our first initial phone conversation all the way through to our final handshake as we departed the courthouse together. Via thorough processes and diligent planning , Mr Lurye left our team very well prepared for our day in court. Decades of service helping people has allowed Mr Lurye to accumulate a wealth of legal knowledge which he readily made available to me via in person visits at his home, phone conversations, text messages, and emails. The capstone of my experience with Rick was the actual court hearing. Mr Lurye masterfully took command of not only my case, but the audience in the courtroom, as well. From the courts reaction, it was clear that Rick is a know and respected figure in his profession. His eloquent soliloquy to the listeners , was based on fact and presented my case in the best possible light. I truly feel that with the help of Mr Lurye, I received the most favorable outcome from the judge. That being said, if I or a loved were ever to face a similar legal predicament, I would not hesitate to seek out Mr Lurye and request his excellent service.

A True Blessing!!

Posted by: a client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I received my 2nd DUI charge in 2014, and I was very nervous the first time I met Mr. Lurye, but he was able to immediately put me at ease. Mr. Lurye was knowledgeable, personable, and he listened very well, but his best character trait is that he TRULY cares about his clients. Mr. Lurye took care of all my paperwork, and took the time to advise me of my rights. He was very clear when he explained things to me, and he always ended by saying " do you have any questions". My Lurye is very easy to talk to, and he has a great personality. Please know that Mr. Lurye will do the best he can to assist you with your legal issue, and he expects you to do the same. Meaning, he fully expects you to take care of business, in a timely manner, because he wants the best outcome for you. I recently went to court, and I received a very favorable outcome. Much better than I expected. I'm am currently on probation for a year, but I did not face any jail time, I did not have to put the interlock on my car, and I did not have to do any additional volunteer work. I FULLY endorse Mr. Lurye as a very good attorney, and I also FULLY endorse him as a great person.

Could not have asked for a better outcome.

Posted by: a client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I am so thankful to have stumbled on Richard Luyre's profile while perusing Avvo. I had just received a DUI and was dealing with a number of emotions, shame and fear being some of them. Mr. Luyre provided me with an excellent consultation, keeping me at ease while discussing a number of options I had. I proceeded to request representation and he accepted. What separates Mr Luyre from other lawyers is the care and compassion he puts in every case. These qualities make the absolute difference in the courtroom. Having a lawyer that actually cares means he knows many important details from your experience. From learning about my history, he was able to create a thorough checklist that impacted the judges decision. I had a high reading during my arrest, a suspended license, and citations for reckless driving. I walked out the court room with all charges except DUI dropped and unsupervised probation for 18 months. Thank you Richard Luyre for everything! I can emerge from this experience with a positive outlook because of your representation.
  1. Richard Stefan Lurye

    Richard Lurye

    LawyerComment:

    I deeply appreciate this client's kind comments. The judge actually decided to close her case without placing a conviction on her record.

    Posted 5 months ago. Flag

First DUI offense client

Posted by: a DUI client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.

Richard handled my DUI & DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr. Lurye was very knowledgeable about the entire DUI process. I completed all of the items on his "checklist," which gave me a very favorable outcome in both the criminal hearing and MVA hearing. If you follow all of his instructions, you should see similar results (depending on your prior criminal record, of course). I got more than I could have asked for from Mr. Lurye, but there is effort required on your part that you must be willing to undertake. You won't get favorable results if you don't put any of your own personal time/energy into his instructions.

Very helpful and supportive

Posted by: a DUI client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

Richard handled my DUI & DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I interviewed several lawyers before I hired Mr. Lurye- this being my first offense ever, DUI or otherwise (not to mention I blew a .17 BAL), I was naturally very nervous and wanted to find the best. While most of the lawyers I met with had decent track records, none of them really inspired a lot of confidence. Then I found Mr. Lurye here on Avvo and decided to give him a call. Though he was out of town and unable to meet with me in person for while, he immediately called back, asked me if he could look at my case, asked me if I could explain my situation in my own words, and gave me sound advice before I even hired him or met in person. After I hired him, Mr. Lurye was very helpful and supportive every step of the way, and he showed a personal investment not only in my legal troubles but also in my personal well-being. He was always informative and thorough. He helped me understand the legal process behind DUI cases and all the possible outcomes from these cases, including "probation before judgement" which I did not know about before, and he always kept me informed about all my options. Based on my case he gave me a to-do list before my hearing that would both help me get the best possible outcome from my case and be a powerful learning experience so that I would not repeat the same mistake. It was a lot of work, but completely worth it. In the end I managed to get probation before judgment with two years of unsupervised probation, which was even better than I expected. But most importantly, I will never drink and drive again.

Very Professional

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.

Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

He was very professional and kept me informed on what was going on at all times and what to expect. Was always available for any questions that I had and answered them thoroughly. He was very effective and fought to get me the best possible out come. Would recommend to anyone seeking a good lawyer.

Great Representation

Posted by: a DUI client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Lurye

I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.

Richard handled my DUI & DWI matter.

Rick was great throughout the whole process. He kept me informed and helped me get a very favorable outcome. I will definitely refer him to others I know.