Stuart H Grozbean’s Reviews

Stuart H Grozbean

Average Rating

Based on 44 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. There is no finer attorney than Stu Grozbean!

    Posted by Elaine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • I hired Stuart < 1 month ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I first met Stu Grozbean, I was a stay at home Mom with two young children stuck in an abusive marriage. Just having recovered from breast cancer, I was facing another incredibly difficult battle. Stu was there for me from the beginning to the end, and then even six years later when revisions had to be made to our agreement. Stu took care of me and my children......he made sure we were protected and got what was rightfully ours. My divorce had to be handled long distance, and he made everything as easy as it could possibly be. He is a good, caring man and there is no more knowledgeable and determined attorney to be had! He is also someone that I like to still be in touch with just because he is such a good man! Thanks to Stu, I have my life back and am extremely happily married. You can't trust just anyone when it comes to something this big. I'd never call anyone else!

  2. Playing chess with a Grandmaster on your side

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • I hired Stuart 1-6 months ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I felt confident that I had picked the right lawyer to represent me when, ten minutes after having left a message with his office receptionist, Stu called me. I had left messages with a few other law offices that week, and none had called back. Never having retained an attorney, I did not know what to expect in terms of responsiveness. So I was surprised at the speed with which I received a return call, and I told this to Stu, who explained: "When someone I have never heard from calls me and leaves a message, I assume that he is feeling some anxiety and wants to talk sooner rather than later. When can you stop by?"

    Stu over the ensuing weeks and months showed himself to be not only a veritable encyclopedia of the legal code but also a premier expert on the nuances of human behaviour and psychology, helping me to craft a strategy that kept me two steps ahead of the opposition and which, in the end, produced a most satisfactory outcome, far better than I had imagined possible given the circumstances of my situation.

    It was, I imagine, like playing a game of chess and having Gary Kasparov on my team.

    But Stu was more than an advocate: he was patient, supportive, indefatigable. On more than one occasion I woke in the morning to find an email from him, timestamped between 1 and 3 am, with an insight or idea or simply a brief message of reassurance -- evidence, if any was needed, that he was concerned about me and was determined to secure for me the best outcome possible.

    And he did.

  3. The Big Guns

    Posted by Solomon, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • I hired Stuart 6-12 months ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The divorce process is probably one of the most confusing, and extremely stressful experiences a person will probably go through. It becomes especially stressful and nerve racking when children are involved!! Some divorces can proceed with minimal issues when both parties are willing to cooperate in the best interest of everyone involved. However, more than not the vast majority of divorces has one party that is unwilling to cooperate…even be crazy by anyone’s standards. When you go into this type of divorce, you want to have the very best attorney on your side! The best for me, and I strongly recommend for you too, was Stuart Grozbean of Beli, Weils and Grozbean in Rockville, Maryland!

    It was extremely devastating when my ex (along with the help of her attorney) attempted to gain full custody of my children by continuously misrepresenting facts in a negative manner. Stu was able to successfully maneuver me through the process and ensuring that the best interest of my children, and those of mine were preserved. Stu kept me informed throughout, and when I had questions, Stu would take a step back and ensure that I not only understood the particular topic but that I was also comfortable with the decision. He always took my calls personally, even when I needed to speak to him at midnight or when he was on vacation during the holidays. Once the custody case and later the financial case were completed, Stu took the time to call me personally to see how I was doing and to answer any questions that I might have had.

    Stu is a no nonsense attorney with nearly 40 years of experience handling cases like mine and it clearly showed throughout! He will tell you that he does not wear the “black robe”, but he might as well given the upmost respect he receives from the judges and opposing attorneys. In other words, when you retain Stu you are making a statement that you’re not playing around and you mean business!

    You will also work with other members of his team, namely Jamie Maier, Esq, and Charlotte Shifrin. Like Stu, they are genuine about helping you gain what you want out of the process. I highly recommend Stuart Grozbean and his team at Beli, Weils and Grozbean if the time comes that you need his expertise.

  4. BOTTOM LINE-STU GROZBEAN REALLY CARES ABOUT HIS CLIENTS.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • I hired Stuart 6-12 months ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When I first met Stuart Grozbean, he insisted I call him Stu. He is not stuffy and made me feel comfortable from the moment he sat down. He was professional, but funny and I really needed that with the stress of the divorce. I emailed him at 1:00 AM and actually got an email back from him shortly thereafter. When ever I need to talk to him he personally calls or emails. I needed to talk to him at 10:00 PM on a Saturday and he actually called. Needless to say he did a great job for me. BOTTOM LINE- STU GROZBEAN REALLY CARES ABOUT HIS CLIENTS. He was more then fair with his fees and his staff is terrific. There were many times we spoke and he never charged for his time. Thanks Stu, Charlotte and Jamie

  5. Mr. Grozbean is an amazing attorney, possesses a firm command of family law, and treats his clients with compassion and respect.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • I hired Stuart 6-12 months ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Grozbean is an amazingly astute attorney with a rare ability to integrate compassion, empathy, and a keen understanding of human nature with his excellent knowledge of family law. I retained him as my divorce attorney. He and his colleague, Jamie Maier, Esq, were respectful of my needs and goals while strategizing. Their top priority was my well-being and protection. They are absolutely client-focused. Mr. Grozbean accurately assessed areas of risk for my case, and addressed such issues while respecting my needs. He, his colleague Jamie, and his assistant, Charlotte, were kind, thoughtful, and respectful during the most difficult period of my life. They continue to be of great support to me, and I could not fathom choosing another attorney to oversee my protection and life-changing legal decisions. Mr. Grozbean and his staff have truly been a blessing amidst unimaginable stress.

  6. An Attorney worthy of trust and confidence!

    Posted by Brian, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • I hired Stuart 6-12 months ago.
    • Stuart handled my Family matter.

    Have used Mr. Grozbean numerous times in my life. He provides outstanding legal representation.
    He is an honest gentlemen and extremely knowledgable in all legal aspects.
    Have trusted him to represent other members of my family as well.
    My highest recommendation!

  7. Stuart Grozbean is phenomenal!

    Posted by Michele, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • Stuart handled my Family matter.

    Stuart Grozbean is phenomenal!

    I highly recommend Stu and I would never go to any other lawyer!
    I hired him back in 2005 for my Divorce and Child Custody.
    From time to time my ex-husband rears his head and the first person I call is Stu!

    He is extremely knowledgeable, professional and puts you as ease.
    I have never had any worries that the job would not be done 150%!

    His staff is fantastic as well!!!

  8. Top notch attorney

    Posted by David, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    I hired Mr. Grozbean to represent me in a very complicated contract matter. He immediately grasped the issues and devised a strategy that proved to be successful. He took on the burdens of the case and relieved me of concerns about the outcome. I was able to sleep better knowing that he was representing me. I appreciate his intellect, his hands on approach, his courtesy, and his professionalism. He is the consummate lawyer. I would use him again and recommend him to others without hesitation.

  9. A Super Lawyer When You Need One!

    Posted by William,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.

    As I am sure you can imagine, the process of divorce is a confusing, life-altering, and extremely painful experience - especially when children are involved (I have two beautiful twin girls). When the dark clouds of divorce descended upon me, I was devastated and had to absorb not only the painful loss of my wife taking our children away, and the end of our marriage, but also of her callous and mean-spirited attorney, who had no interest in settling the case - which would have been best for all involved (especially our children) considering that I was with my wife for over 20 years. Having nowhere to turn, and with limited resources, I was fortunate to walk into the offices of Stu Grozbean, who informed me in great detail as to the divorce process, and what I needed to do to preserve my rights in remaining an integral part of my daughters' lives. Needless to say, Stu was brilliant not only in trying to honor my wishes to settle, but also in meticulously preparing for trial when my wife's lawyer compelled her not to do so. Stu was a master in the courtroom, and preserved my ability to remain an integral part of my daughters' lives - even doing so in a cost-effective manner. If the clouds of divorce ever descend upon you (and I pray that they do not), you must seek out Stu Grozbean. Simply put, and I take these reviews seriously, Stu is the best!!!

  10. Great, No Nonsense, Legal Representation!

    Posted by Doris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Grozbean.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Grozbean is an extremely knowledgeable, personable, no nonsense lawyer. (He always introduces himself as Stu, by the way) He kept me involved in all decisions and, at all junctions, provided no nonsense explanations for my legal options. When working with Mr. Grozbean, you always feel that he cares not only about doing a good job but also about you. He follows up with you personally to ensure that everything was taken care of and that you're OK. I always leave a discussion with Mr. Grozbean confident that I've received the best advice possible from a profession who really cares about his work and clients.

    Mr. Grozbean clearly knows his way around the legal system and knows "everyone" as was obvious when we walked through the courthouse and he was greeted by admins, clerks and fellow lawyers! Therefore, I've recommended Mr. Grozbean to many people and, because he is such a professional and knows "everyone," he has even recommended other lawyers when he could not take a case.

    I recently phoned Mr. Grozbean's office to get a copy of my divorce judgement which was finalized over 6 years ago. Instead of having an assistant send me a copy, Mr. Grozbean personally got on the phone, got the copy for me (in a minute or so) and e-mailed it to me. He also took the time to speak with me about my kids and gave some advice on a couple of legal issues that I had going on at the time. As always, he was personable and supportive and I left the conversation confident that I had received the best support available.

    So, if you want a great, non nonsense lawyer who knows his way around the legal system and will provide you the best, informed, representation possible, you must call Stuart Grozbean.

Call now for a free consultation.

301-738-5700