Philip H Armstrong’s Reviews

Philip H Armstrong

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Representation for Theft Felony Crime

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would recommend this firm to anyone wanting an honest, non-judgemental lawyer with precise expertise. Always there to answer questions and very familiar with the Rockville judicial system/judges. I received the best possible outcome thanks to this firm! Would definitely use them again if ever needed!

  2. Great Lawyer, Great Service!

    Posted by J_C., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • Philip handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Armstrong is an amazing lawyer. He handled my case efficiently and with caution. He made me feel comfortable and confident that he would do the best to ensure that my case went well. I will most definitely refer him to other friends of mine and use him for future cases.

  3. Great firm and lawyer, Phil and his partner Howard!

    Posted by Amanda, a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my White Collar Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have hired Phil and Howard and since my case I still get positive feed back. They always remember me, my life, family and everything that was spoken of and my case. Always ask how I am, ask about my life and the positive things I am doing in the present. Always made me feel more then just a check or another client, but as a friend and not just another case... They really cared!!

  4. Don't gamble with your freedom/future.......Phil Armstrong is the "ONLY CHOICE"

    Posted by Sean, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was first referred to Phil Armstrong by a childhood friend who had many run-in's with the law. Phil somehow kept my friend out of jail on 5 different DUI arrests over a 10 year span. With such a track record when i got my first DUI Armstrong was the only choice for me.

    My DUI was accompanied by a 101 in a 55 reckless driving charge so even though i had only blown a .14 getting a Probation before judgement (PBJ) wasn't a guarantee as it would have been without the heavy speeding charge. I truly believe having used Phil and only Phil i was able to get all the charges wrapped into a PBJ. He actually made this deal happen just using his relationship with the prosecutor. With his experience and longevity he is VERY well liked/respected in the law community by prosecutors, judges and peers!

    So having been VERY satisfied with my total experience with Mr. Armstrong...i did the unthinkable.....got pulled over for another DUI just ten months after my first. At this point after consulting with Phil he advised me of my options and he didn't candy coat it. He is a realist.......while he is an excellent attorney.....he shoots you straight on what you're up against.....so there still exists an area that you must decide which direction YOU want to pursue.

    On my second DUI i basically refused any and all testing by the police officer.....so in my mind they had very little evidence other than the officer stating my eyes were glassy and that he smelled alcohol on my breath. He actually pulled me over for doing 61 in a 55 mph zone.

    That being said......when we did end up in court.....the prosecutor gave me a plea deal.....to plead guilty and i would get no jail time. Looking at all the options and the fact that Phil had known this judge to be not easily convinced to drop all charges against my type of case.......and the fact that if we lost in district court we would have to appeal to a jury trial in the circuit court and that move would cost me thousands of dollars more........I still chose to try my case that day instead of pleading guilty............

    What an amazing experience.........i never even had to say a word.......when i walked back in that courtroom.....it was the most thrilling trial of my life......I guess these prosecutors have gotten lazy with all the people taking plea deals or just plain pleading guilty that they forgot how to prosecute a case. Not to mention the state trooper must have been in the same boat considering he was probably the worst witness on the stand when it came to remembering anything about the case.....or having any common knowledge of basic speed and distance questions.....

    Long story short.......Phil Armstrong is a Yale graduate and Georgetown law school grad........he is no shlep.......this man has been practicing law for 38 years and it shows........he is highly intelligent/sharp....he knows the law....and he is extremely keen on courtroom etiquette/protocol.....

    He absolutely annihilated the prosecutors making them look incompetent and desperate while repeatedly cross examining the state trooper in a tenacious and surgical manner transforming what was seemingly an easy win for the state into a utter landslide win for the defense (ME). It was like watching masterpiece theater.........just exquisite work. Trust me when i say this man is a genius.......and i will be forever indebted for the absolute mastery he performed in my case......Thank you again sir!

  5. Client

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    This was a positive experience from the outset to the conclusion. Mr. Armstrong assumed control of this matter in a straightforward, no-nonsense manner. He advised me frankly what my options and exposure were and very accurately informed me what would likely occur. His preparation for the case appeared very thorough, he advised me on every detail as the matter proceeded and did not disappoint at my adjudication. I should note that this attorney walked me from his office on our way to the court and reviewed the final developments in my case, all of which bolstered my confidence. His allocution on my behalf was thoughtful and carefully crafted, leading to a very favorable outcome. I can say without reservation that I made a good choice. This was solid service!

  6. Highly Recommended!!! Worth every cent!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been using Phil for the past 11 years and he has never let me down. He is very knowledgable with all legal issues and he is trustworthy! I started using Phil when I was charged with a DWI, he had the charge dropped. Most recently I have used Mr. Armstrong for business matters and he delivered. Phil is one of the smartest people I have ever met and I value his advice and friendship.

  7. He knows the facts, he knows the system, he knows the players

    Posted by Liese, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Phil Armstrong won't give you a hug and a pat on the back and tell you everything is going to "be okay." He is a straight shooter armed with years of experience and and uncannily keen grasp of the facts and how cases play out in Montgomery County. He is confident, reasonable, demanding, weighs out the options, and wins. Despite a thin veneer of arrogance, this lawyer actually cares. I say with absolute certainty that he turned by son's life around. His colleagues were carefully selected by Phil to join him in practice and there is a complete and comprehensive team approach.

  8. Best attorney around!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Armstrong represented my daughter almost 10 years ago in a case in Montgomery County. He was knowledgeable, thorough, accommodating, and made my daughter feel she was getting the best. I have to say that she did get the best. Mr. Armstrong's staff was always willing to answer my questions as well. I would absolutely recommend him or his partner to handle any future legal matters.

  9. THE BEST!

    Posted by Ted, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had many lawyers...sadly. The good thing is that I have found one who has helped me not only win some cases but also change my life. The advice Phil has given not only helped me make better decisions, but also helped me stay out of trouble with the courts. He has helped reduce charges and has helped many of my friends and family also, whether it was criminal or a simple letter to end a dispute. I have since moved on from many of my "issues" and started my own business. I still used Phil for a simple speeding ticket, but I also have many of my employees use him for things such as DUI or any other criminal acts. He is always respectful and honest. He never gives you BS! You will be happy using him, I have yet to have a bad result, and if you want my advice, stay out of trouble so you never need a lawyer. In case you do though, this is the one to call!

  10. I've seen him in action and he is the best.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Armstrong.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you want the very best attorney possible, then Philip Armstrong is the person to choose. He really knows what he is doing and is very knowledgeable. He was able to get officers to recant their stories so the truth could come out. I put my son's life in his hands and he did not disappoint me. Yes, he is confident and he has reason to be, he is a very good attorney.