Lewis Maurice Silber’s Reviews

Lewis Maurice Silber

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Hire Mr.Silber only if you want to get the job done

    Posted by N. M, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 1-6 months ago.
    • Lewis handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Lewis Silber and his team are simply phenomenal. I had the honor to meet Mr.Silber and from our first conversation he showed me he had a tremendous capacity in listening, analyzing , breaking down the situation into a strategic tactical manner. He is very talented in understanding the client's needs letting you know what is going on during the entire process, thereby building a trusting relationship. This process can be quite frustrating but with Mr.Silber's integrity, professionalism and expertise I knew I couldn't have picked a better lawyer for my case.His communication style is straightforward and precise. I cannot speak highly enough of Mr. Silber. I would not consider going anywhere else. Please do not waste your time looking around, this is it! Mr.Silber is a tremendous asset to the Montgomery County community. It is without a doubt that I would strongly recommend Mr.Silber to any prospective client.

  2. Great lawyer!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 1-6 months ago.
    • Lewis handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very knowledgable and determined. Helped me in my criminal case. He's very friendly and makes you feel confortable. He's an excellent lawyer and I recommend him. He's also very experienced.

  3. My first expereince with a lawayer

    Posted by Xiomara, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 6-12 months ago.
    • Lewis handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had never had a car accident in the past or ever needed a lawyer before. I was referred by a friend and I really did not want to get a lawyer because I have heard bad things about them. I have to say that Mr Silber made my experience very simple and easy. I am very happy with my experience. I will recommend Mr. Silber to my friends and family.

  4. what a Great man God sent to me wonderful lawyer

    Posted by Tyeacha410, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 6-12 months ago.
    • Lewis handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Just wanted to say I felt like a family Memeber he was so great. I had a DUI/dwi second charge they wanted jail time but mr.Silber wasn't having that at all so I got no jail time walk out the court very happy. He was very respectful at all times made me feel safe with him and the way he Handel my case. My mom loved everything he did for me . Plus he work out payments with me I wasn't stress out at all . I thank God that he sent Mr, Silber to handle my case ... Just wanted to say thanks for everything God will truly be blessing you.

  5. A lawyer you can depend on

    Posted by Shannon, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 1-3 years ago.
    • Lewis handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    Mr. Silber and staff where always warm, welcoming, dependable as well as knowledgeable. There were a few curveballs I threw their way and they adapted quickly and efficiently.

  6. Very satisfied

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 6-12 months ago.

    I had a charge of driving under suspended license dropped, with probation before judgement for the offence of entering the intersection with flashing red light without stop. Ended up with a reduced fee of 75 dollars and a very happy disposition. This lawyer is definitely worth his price. He does focus on you exactly when he needs to do his job, very good communicator and does his job well. I recommend.

  7. Professional and personable

    Posted by Eve, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 1-3 years ago.
    • Lewis handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    Mr Silber very attentive to my needs. His staff was also very professional and willing help me through the process. My case was a bit of a difficult one and I'm not sure too many other lawyers would be willing to take it. Mr. Silber took it to trial and we won! I highly recommend his services.

  8. Aggressive Criminal Defense Attorney

    Posted by Peter, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 1-3 years ago.
    • Lewis handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had come across his advertisement in the pile of mail my friend received for her DUI arrest. While she ended up picking another attorney, Mr. Silber was on her short list and had answered many of her questions well on the phone. Ultimately it came down to a matter of cost for her, as she had found an attorney that offered a flat rate for her DUI defense. He had offered me a different flat rate for my defense. Possession of paraphenalia in Maryland happens to be the smallest misdemeanor one can be charged with and still have to go to court for. However, because it is not a jailable offense, I could not be represented by a public defender. Moreover, I had been in the middle of a job search, and did not want any inconsistencies on my record which would show during a background check. I chose to spend the extra money for an attorney with an hourly rate so I could ensure that someone could really go to bat for me in the courtroom and get the best outcome possible.
    My initial consultation with Mr. Silber was uneventful. He ran through the standard procedure that the State would go through to make my life miserable. He also went through what he would do to prep for my case. Satisfied, I paid his retainer and went back to work.
    Things were quiet for the next few weeks. I typed up the events as they happened and e-mailed them to Mr. Silber. I was a bit apprehensive as I had not heard from him nor gotten confirmation of his getting my e-mail. I called his paralegal and was assured that everything was fine and I would get a phone call from Mr. Silber the night before my court appearance. Mr. Silber ended up calling around 10PM and told me I had nothing to worry about as he had a few approaches to my case and to meet him outside the courtroom the following morning.
    I was barely on-time due to subway problems the following morning. Mr. Silber even called me to make sure I was on my way as I exited the subway station. He had been there for about 20 minutes and had sized up the District Attorney and the judge (who, in Mr. Silber's estimation, was one of the harder ones). Mr. Silber had also sized up the DA (she was a b***h who didn't like losing) and had identified people in her entourage who he had worked with in the past. This man was truly in his element. Over the course of the next few hours I watched the wheels of 'justice' turn. There were two shows going on – the main stuff that you normally see in courtroom dramas – and Mr. Silber working his way through the DA's staff. As the DA ground through other cases, Mr. Silber kept going outside the courtroom with various people from the DA's staff and coming back in to tell me how my case was progressing. We could have copped out early with an IPSA but he was swinging for the fences for a nolle prosequi. He was truly enjoying this. My case was such small potatoes to the state that the DA had actually brought in a law school student to prosecute me. Unfortunately for the law student I had brought a real lawyer. Ultimately, the law school student did not get her courtroom experience at my expense as Mr. Silber's constant onslaught on her staff made the DA opt for the nolle prosequi in the end. We strolled out of the court and worked out how I would pay him and expunge my record. In the end I ended up doing the expungement paperwork myself (easier than taxes).
    I would definitely recommend Mr. Silber to anyone in a similar situation as he truly loves his job and he loves to win as well. While the rate might seem excessive, it is preferable to leaving court matters to chance. I got the best outcome possible because I was willing to retain a quality attorney to fight for me. I certainly could not have done it by myself.

  9. Highly Recommend

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 1-3 years ago.
    • Lewis handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A few months ago, (Oct 13, 2012) I received a DWI/DUI. I really felt as if my life was over. Working in the health profession, a citation could result in loss of my employment. Terrified about the possible outcome, I hired Mr. Silber upon a recommendation by a friend. It was honestly the best thing I ever did. From the time I hired and him until now, Mr. Silber has been in constant communication about the entire legal process. He was honest about the case and the potential negative outcome. He never gave me false hopes, but was confident in his ability to represent me in this case. He gave me the possible scenarios of how things would play out and gave me advice on how to handle certain things. There were days prior to the court date, where I would have anxiety attacks about the case. He would take time out in the evening to allay my fears. The actual court date was surreal. His cross-examination of the police officer that had given me the citation was simply brilliant. As a result, the judge acquitted all charges against me. I honestly didn’t think that I would get out of there without at least a PBJ, but thanks to Mr. Silber, I came out of that court room with all the stress lifted off my shoulders. I recommend Mr. Silber very highly. He saved not only my reputation and but also my career.

  10. Best Criminal Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lewis Silber.
    • I hired Lewis 1-3 years ago.
    • Lewis handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Being the first time needing an attorney for a criminal case I did some research in finding the best attorney. Lewis Silber was by far the best attorney to work with, as soon as I walked into the office everyone was welcoming and friendly. When explaining my case Mr.Silber listened to everything and told me what the next steps were going to be, I felt very comfortable know I was working with someone with as much knowledge as he had. I would definitely recommend him to anyone in the MD area needing a good criminal attorney.

301-787-8811