Keith R Havens’s Reviews

Keith R Havens

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If your soon-to-be former spouse refuses to resolve a divorce in a reasonable manner...Keith could be your guy.

    Posted by JBR, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Keith is probably the most knowledgeable family law attorney I have met. I interviewed several before hiring Keith Havens. Keith makes no promises, but he is a subject matter expert regarding marital law. I was surprised that his hourly fee was $250...lower than most.. My divorce was fairly uncomplicated except my career is federal law enforcement and there was property involved...those in my career field no what I'm talking about. FYI - even at $250 per hour, my divorce cost me approximately $15,000 in attorney fees, but his trial preparation is impressive. He is not perfect, but he is definitely looking out for your best interests. Keith takes charge when he needs to, but doesn't need to hear the sound of his own voice, i.e. mediation etc.

    My former spouse began to experience psychological issues before and during this process which made negotiations very tough. Her attorneys were competent, but they turned a simple 1 year wait into a 2 year hassle...typical for most attorneys that squeeze their clients for every dollar.

    If you need a family law attorney in Maryland, you need to contact Keith Havens.

    And if you get married without a prenuptial marital agreement...bad idea...

  2. Great lawyer!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Havens.

    Great lawyer! Always prepared sometimes late but it is always understandable. Very nice to talk to and is always helpful. You should defiantly hire him to be your lawyer!

  3. Highly recommended

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Havens is a wonderful attorney! I retained him to deal with a sensitive harassment issue. Keith approached the situation very professionally and clearly outlined all of my options. He never pushed me into an services I didn't need. He would provide me updates immediately and was always in communication regarding my situation. I highly recommend his services to anyone needing family law help.

  4. Unresponsive - complete waste of money

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith 1-3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I thought he seemed decent in the interview but was hugely disappointed. Unresponsive, dragged his heels on everything, missed discovery deadlines by months, provided no useful or substantive advice/counsel, said he wanted to negotiate but completely ignored other lawyers, and did not keep me informed of significant actions by the opposing side. I had to get documents from the opposing counsel as I could not get them from my own lawyer. Also somewhat of a jerk. New lawyer -- much better -- found him uncooperative in the transfer. After thousands of dollars, I find myself almost exactly where I started.

  5. Great Attorney

    Posted by Larry, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Keith proved to be an unusual combination of personal advocate and professional attorney. His honesty was unparalleled and his ethics superb. If you are looking for an attorney who will fight for you with all he has, this is the gentleman you want.

  6. Unresponsive and unprepared

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Keith to represent me in my divorce. Of the 4 people I wanted as witnesses against my ex, he failed to contact any of them. We would set up phone meetings and he'd typically never call, he refused to use evidence of adultery I had obtained from a PI. Additionally, my ex's lawyer argued that she was unable to get information from Mr. Havens and myself therefore I got slammed with my ex's legal fees! Then it took him 3 months to get an order of contempt written up about my ex not letting me see the kids and he didn't even have the correct information on the order. The list goes on and on. I would not hire him again. He isn't worth the money and he isn't frugal with how he spends it. I've paid less overall for lawyers that charge more/hour.

    1. Keith R Havens

      Keith R Havens

      Lawyer Comment:

      It is unfortunate that a person would post misleading and false comments without even having the character to make his name known. Further, eithical rules preclude me from explaining the full magnitude of the misleading and false nature of this person's comments. With that limitation in mind, in this case, I took over the case from another lawyer after custody had been decided against this person (whom this person also found to be inadequate despite her having a stellar reputation). Notwithstanding the fact that there was a relatively short time period between when I was hired and the hearing on the manner by which to divide the parties' assets, I interviewed all relavant witnesses and examined all relevant documents that had been provided to me. All documents that were provided to me were, in turn, promptly turned over to the other attorney. After the hearing, a show cause order was promptly prepared and forwarded to this person. As a show cause order is written in the negative (ie. "you shall appear and show cause as to why you should not be held in contempt"), it is difficult for some people to understand the manner by which they are written. Contrary to this person's allegation, I am, and was in this case, mindful of the cost of my time to my clients and try to keep all fees and costs to a minimum. Unfortunately, when someone does not understand the concepts or issues and fails to listen or read communications sent to them, this causes fees and costs to escalate because the attorney is forced to cover a second or sometimes more the same concepts or issues.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  7. another sheister attorney

    Posted by gary schwartz and mike shiflet, a Construction client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Construction / Development matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We were referred to Havens by another attorney who could not represent us because he represented builders. We were to sue both the builder and the insurance adjuster for misrepresentation and breach of contract. We met with Havens and he seemed good.. he then took a $5,000 deposit, then never returned phone calls which we have documented, refused to act accordingly in representing us, refused to do what he said he would do when we met with him, refused to do what we asked him to do. He had told us in our meetings that our case would be his first priority. ON the few times were were able to speak to him he would tell us how sorry he was for forgetting about us. ALL OF these conversations and calls made were documented. Our case was never resolved and we were left with no resolution. I was blatantly and rudely discriminated against by Havens when I called to give information to help our case by him telling me he will not deal with me when I called him to ask questions, he is the typical liar of an attorney who knows how to take advantage of people. I sent him an email which he also NEVER responded to, a year and a half after we hired him expressing my frustrations and disappointment with his breach of fiduciary responsibilities. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND HIM or trust him.

    1. Keith R Havens

      Keith R Havens

      Lawyer Comment:

      While I try in every case to provide my clients with the outcome that they are seeking and I try in every case to ensure that my clients are told the realistic nature of what they are seeking and the cost that they can expect to incur. Unfortunately, some clients say at the outcome that it is the "principle" of the matter and not the cost with which they are concerned. In these cases, after incurring substantial fees and costs, these clients often refuse to pay the outstanding fees mid-stream because they have not achieved the results they sought and they begin to realize that, as the lawyer had advised them at the outcome, the results they sought to achieve would be costly. In such a situation, the lawyer either has to permit the bill to ever increase, knowing that the lawyer will not be paid, or cease his representation. Often times, the second option is the only logical business decision.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  8. Great Attorney!

    Posted by Julie, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I saw Keith in court in action and immediately fired my current attorney and hired him. Keith is very well prepared. Professional, respected, quick, and very detailed. Also, honest and truly cares about his clients. He is out to win your case, period. His fees are reasonable and very, very fair. I'd hire him again in a heartbeat!

  9. A great attorney on so many levels. . . !

    Posted by Laura,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have seen Mr. Havens for several matters. He continues to be extremely trustworthy, diligent, and always on top of his game. He has not only helped and advised me with personal divorce and custody matters, but went above and beyond in assisting me with disability approval matters with work. I was approved through Social Security before my employment first. With Mr. Havens sound advice and direction my appeal was approved and I am now in a secure place until age 65. I would recommend him without a doubt again and again. Now he is assisting me with home ownerswhip & Wills.

  10. Overall legal advice for child custody issues

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Keith Havens.
    • I hired Keith more than 3 years ago.
    • Keith handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Excellent strategic guidance on child custody issues providing sound, realistic advice and helped me see not only the strengths/weaknesses of my case/situation, but also those of my former fiancé. Keith also has a unique ability to quickly process/understand information, remember facts, think on his feet, and articulate facts in a contentious environment.

Call now for a free consultation - 301-947-3330

301-947-3330