James J Gross’s Reviews

James J Gross

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent, Knowledgeable & Extremely Responsive

    Posted by Laura, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    I hired Mr. Jim Gross to help enforce a Separation Agreement contract and mediate. He would respond almost immediately to all of my questions, emails, calls and was always honest without being brutal (but didn't sugarcoat anything either). He was always extremely level headed, courteous and professional when dealing with the opposing lawyer. He always kept me up to date on what was going on. I couldn't of asked for a better lawyer to represent me.

  2. Jim Gross Topnotch Attorney

    Posted by Richard, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I cannot say enough good things about jim Gross. He is a fabulous attorney who exceeded all my expectations.

  3. Responsive & Knowledgeable - Can't Go Wrong

    Posted by Russell, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was incredibly thankful for Mr. Gross's experience, responsiveness, and negotiating acumen as he assisted me in negotiating a parenting plan and obtaining greater custody of my son. He didn't waste my time (or money), and cut to the heart of every argument and issue. He is an incredibly valuable ally to have on your side if you have to through this.

  4. First time seeking counsel, and boy, did we make the right decision

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I bought Mr. Gross's book, "Fathers' Rights" as a resource to help combat my husband's ex-wife's attempts to control and dictate his visitation with their children. We had not even noticed that the author practiced family law in Maryland, until we got very desperate and went combing through the book for more information. My husband emailed Mr. Gross with an explanation of our situation and our objective. Mr Gross replied within 24 hours with his suggested options and his firms location and rates. We decided to hire his firm and could not have been more pleased. We invested a lot of time and effort, and it was reassuring to feel that the counsel we sought, spent as much time and displayed care and integrity. We were often very emotional and Mr. Gross continued to remind us to remain focused and not to be lead by our emotions. The bottom line is we now have more time with the children, have writeen language to deter thier mother from unnecessary interference with visitation, and are paying a more reasonable amount of Child support.

  5. Thank you Jim!

    Posted by Janet, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have utilized the services of Jim Gross and find him to be briliant in his negotiations. Any lawsuits received or executed carry with it the burdens of anger which Jim is able to subdue to get to the point and end goal satisfying both parties. There is a reason he is a member of The Mensa Socitey...........

  6. Making lemonade

    Posted by Eugenio, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Life gives you some lemons every once in a while. But it is nice when in rough times you find someone like James Gross who can help your make lemonade. Unfortunately I find myself going through a separation. I called a few lawyers who tried to steer me toward the adversarial, stressful and legally expensive route. This is despite the fact that I have a pre nuptial and an amicable separation.

    Luckily I did my howework and found Mr. Gross. As I told him, his stellar reputation is NOT an exageration.

    He was extremely accommodating, prompt and cordial. I had a seperation agreement in my hands in a little more than 24 hours.

    I am grateful for his diligence in minimizing my stress level in this diffiuclt time.

    I highly recommend his legal services.

  7. Mr. Gross is the Best of the Best...

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    ...legal professional to navigate the Judicial system. His clear, thoughtful and informative advice will empower you to solutions for your legal problem rather then churning legal fees. He is worth every penny you choose to spend for legal advice and he takes 1/2 the time other attorneys would require to understand your case. He is consistently accessible and his expererience and knowledge combined with his desire to help others embody the attorney you want on your side. Call him. You will be glad you sought his counsel. I am!

  8. Jim Gross - Hard working, reliable and trustworthy

    Posted by Estela, a Prenuptials client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Marriage / Prenuptials matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jim Gross is unusual to the extent that he has all of the qualities that you seek in an attorney - he is trustworthy, smart, calm and always available by either email or telephone. Mr. Gross handled and coordinate an out of state post-marital agreement for me that was managed to perfection. His cordial and professional manner with two other coordinating attorneys went a long way to make the process smooth. If you are overwhelmed with emotion and surrounded by caos he is the person to call for legal assistance. His legal fees are excellent for the quality of services that he provides.

  9. Calm and even handed attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James Gross was levelheaded and calm and worked for me to attain my objectives. He was very responsive and helpful Very knowledgeable seeks to get the best for his clients.

  10. Level-headed, minimizer of conflict

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gross.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Excellent choice for mediation and/or legal counsel regarding divorce/ separation. Superb follow-up and clarification of the issues. He is almost always in office and answers his phone! Displays common sense most attorneys seem to lack. My case was settled via mediation, therefore I do not have actual trial/ courtroom experience with Mr. Gross.

301-907-4580