Vance R Redmond’s Reviews

Vance R Redmond

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. More time with son and better financial agreement for Dad!

    Posted by John,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.

    I hired Vance to help with visitation and financial issues between me and my ex regarding my 11 year old son. I, mistakenly, did not hire an attorney when we divorced 6 years ago and got into a very one-sided agreement where I was not getting a fair deal. (If only I had hired Vance then!) When overnight visitations were supposed to start at age 10, my ex refused the change and insisted I take her to court. Around that time, my income also decreased by 75%. It was an ugly case with my ex falsely accusing me of everything from drug abuse to pornography addiction, doing and saying anything she could think of to keep me from having the time I deserved with my son. She also tried to say that I owed her an astronomical sum of money based on various erroneous clauses in our original child support agreement.

    Vance was always very upfront, honest, and realistic about exactly how he thought a judge would rule on the case, if it went to trial. He gave me some good feedback that were wake-up calls that I needed to know/hear to ensure we were on the right track throughout the process. His goal was always to avoid trial, keep my costs low, and settle out of court on on both fronts.

    Unfortunately, my ex and her lawyer did not have that same goal and we ended up in trial for the financial piece, going through 2 days of trial, then settling anyway. When it came down to it, everything turned out exactly how Vance predicted it would and I "won". I came out of the situation with a MUCH better child support agreement (a Flat amount that includes everything; no CPI increase, no more nickle-and-diming me for various expenses each month, etc) and was able to remove most of the horrible financial clauses I signed up for in the original agreement. I agreed to pay my ex a much smaller sum of money and wiped the slate clean. Best of all, though, I finally got my overnight visitation - every other weekends, vacation time, and holidays with my son.

    Vance stood by me the entire time and really fought for my rights - even when there were times I just wanted to give up out of sheer exhaustion of the ordeal. He was almost as angry as I was, at times, with my ex's behavior, her lies in court and accusations against me. Not only did he help with the court/legal proceedings but always provided advice on how to respond/react when my ex was ranting over email or causing other problems. He's phenomenal in court and has a no-nonsense, succinct, to-the-point approach the the Maryland Masters/Judges really seemed to appreciate - especially when compared to my ex's overly-detailed, disorganized, and verbose attorney.

    A month later, even though the case and the books are closed, Vance has still been willing to help and provide advice with some issues that have come up related to visitation and child support. I believe that is a testament to the commitment he has to his clients.

    I'd highly recommend Vance Redmond as an attorney for a child support and/or visitation/custody case.

  2. Very satisfied with my case

    Posted by Anne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.

    From the beginning of this divorce, Vance had a thorough understanding of divorce law in MD and was able to successfully help me through this very trying process of divorce. He was accurate as to the process, and the outcome. He is level headed and represented me with confidence and professionalism. Thank you Vance

  3. Knowledgeable, Professional and Straightforward

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.
    • I hired Vance 1-3 years ago.
    • Vance handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    While I certainly hope that I do not require Mr. Redmond's services in the future, I wouldn't hesitate to retain his legal assistance again should the need arise. He was informative, responsive and what I most appreciated, he will not beat around the bush. He is straightforward while maintaining a professional demeanor. Unfortunately I was under a time constraint. While he acted immediately and drew up the necessary paper work he did not fail to explain any potential scenarios that could arise which would delay the divorce from being granted. Two other attorneys I interviewed guaranteed my deadline will be met with no hesitation, I knew this was a promise that could not be 100%. Mr. Redmond knew this as well thus prepared me of potential situations that could occur. My questions were always answered clearly and I never felt like I did not know what was going on with my case. I am positive he went above and beyond to help me meet my deadline. He is experienced and knows divorce law, and I could easily tell from my hearing that he has earned the respect he deserves as a lawyer for divorce and family law.

  4. Direct, Clear, Professional , Respectful, Knowledgable, Responsive ....... Council of Choice

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.
    • I hired Vance 1-3 years ago.
    • Vance handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I received more information from Vance in a free consultation than previous attorneys. He looked up my case and informed me of the divorce process and asked questions that helped guide me on how to move forward before I hired him. Vance was always responsive to my emails even late nights and weekends. He was non emotional, clear in his communication and stayed focussed on the facts and not the drama. Compared to my previous council I felt secure and confident that Vance had my best interest in mind. I have worked with other attorneys involving my husbands previous wife , they were not as informative as Vance. It has been a hard road for me and it is not over. If needed in the future Vance will be my first choice as council.

  5. Great Attorney!!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.
    • I hired Vance 1-3 years ago.
    • Vance handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A friend gave me Vance's contact information and I am so thankful he did. I retained Vance during a critical time in my case after having a really bad experience with my first attorney. Vance handled my custody agreement, contempt order and my divorce. He made himself readily available and worked quickly and smoothly to transition the case from my previous lawyer to him. He was informative and responded quickly to requests for information and assistance. I was reassured many times during endless stressful situations by Vance's quick e-mail responses. This was the most stressful and awful time of my life and I was lucky to have a lawyer who I could depend on. I made sure he knew what I wanted and he made sure to advocate accordingly for me. Vance always did a great job of listening and helped navigate me through the mess of the court system. He is a true professional and always speaks and dresses accordingly. He was aggressive and persistent when we needed to be and patient and calm when needed. Vance did a great job of working with me to provide me as much information as I requested and keeping me informed about everything . He listens and was also respectful of my time and money and that is rare to find in the sea of attorneys. Vance helped me stay involved without losing anything. He brought justice to me and my family and there is nothing more I can ask for.

  6. Exceeded my expectations and went well above what I have experienced with previous lawyers...

    Posted by Abel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.
    • I hired Vance 1-3 years ago.
    • Vance handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I would give Vance Redmond the highest recommendation without reservation. One of the first things Vance told me was, "you just worry about being a good doctor, and I'll handle your legal issues." True to his word, he instilled confidence in me. He was amazingly responsive and did everything he said he would do in a timely and thorough manner. He took charge of my case, invested the appropriate amount of time obtaining the relevant facts, and then he figured out the optimal approach and executed the plan. I could not have been more pleased. I would say that the most important thing I got out of our professional interactions is peace of mind that my legal issues would be handled as well as could be (and that is priceless!). I have worked closely with well over a dozen lawyers in the past, and I would easily put him at the top of the list!

  7. A Good Attorney Right When I Needed One!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.
    • I hired Vance 1-3 years ago.
    • Vance handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had a difficult case concerning custody of my children after my husband left and filed for divorce. I had spoken with several attorneys in several counties and consulted with even more before deciding to go with Mr. Redmond. He was one of the few who really listened to my concerns in addition to having confidence that I could get my kids back (had an unofficial nearly 50/50 schedule that was too difficult on my young children). Every attorney I consulted with in my county practically threw their hands up in defeat concerning the current schedule, stating there was nothing I could do to change it, leaving me feeling like it was hopeless. Not Mr. Redmond. He was confident things could be changed, and almost immediately upon hiring him, they were! He took the bull by the horns and with his expertise, formulated a plan and gave me the courage to carry out what I needed to do. He was aggressive, which I appreciated and needed in the beginning; and yet, when I explained that my intentions were not to destroy my husband in any way, he understood completely and handled matters of correspondence with the opposing party with grace, finesse, and an "easy going" attitude, while maintaining a strong initiative to protect my rights, which I also greatly appreciated. Due to Mr. Redmond's representation, the judge ordered custody, support, and alimony in my favor following our court case. Despite the circumstance, my relationship with my husband progressed in a positive direction and upon Mr. Redmond's insight and initiative, my husband and I found ourselves discussing reconciliation (an answer to my prayers). I found Mr. Redmond to be highly adaptable, honest, straight forward and eager to ensure my satisfaction. My ratings of "good" rather than "excellent" above are for the following reasons:
    A) While Mr. Redmond was highly knowledgable, he was unprepared for some minor differences in the way my county handled matters compared with what he was familiar with in Montgomery County; however, it had little bearing on how the case proceeded in court.
    B) Mr. Redmond was generally very responsive to email correspondence, though I did ask a few questions that went unanswered (these were not imperative to the case necessarily, but inquisitive of possible scenarios). I also felt slightly unprepared for the court appearance due to less preparation than we planned as some matters that needed his attention concerning another one of his cases came up at the same time. These are the reasons I gave the "good" rather than "excellent" rating above for keeping me informed.
    In all, I was satisfied with Mr. Redmond's professionalism, service, and results. He was personable and flexible, experienced and confident - a good attorney to have on my side. I would recommend him to anyone needing legal help.

  8. A professional he's direct,reliable and most of all trustworthy!

    Posted by George, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.
    • I hired Vance more than 3 years ago.
    • Vance handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found myself living 500 miles away, needing a family law attorney. I can't tell you the stress that causes. I started checking on line for attorneys and spoke with several, but I just didn't feel comfortable with them handling my case. I was very fortunate to finally talk with Mr. Redmond. I explained my custody / visitation needs and my concerns about living so far away and having to rely on someone, I could not meet face to face. I can tell you, I made the right choice, having Vance represent me. He kept me informed, via email, phone and fax. Vance responded promptly to my concerns reducing alot of the stress I was feeling. When I finally met Vance the day before my court appearance, he went over the entire case and what could be expected. On the day of court he was able to resolve my case in only 3 hours, I had been dealing with these same issues for the past 10 years! If you need a family law attorney, you can trust Vance to work hard for you, he definitely worked for me.

  9. Amazing and knowledgable

    Posted by Mina Rainey, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.
    • I hired Vance more than 3 years ago.
    • Vance handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Redmond is one of the best attorneys I have met. He knows the law and informs his clients of everything they need to know. He is patient and kind and explains every detail about your case before going into pretrial, trial etc. He knows the law very well and is very informative and keeps his clients informed of every matter regarding your case. He
    Is a kind and honest man! I hired him 3 wks before my custody merits case and we won!!!!!!!!!! If you need an attorney he is the man. Mr. Redmond will get the job done!!!! Mr. Redmond was one of the best things that happened in my life! He got my kids for me and I never
    Once had to ask him to do anything!!!!! He had everything under control!!!!!!!

  10. Hoping to never see him again BUT should I need counsel, it will definitely be him!

    Posted by Kayla, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vance Redmond.
    • I hired Vance more than 3 years ago.
    • Vance handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Redmond handled my child custody and divorce in Anne Arundel County. I owe him more than money could ever pay. My maintaining custody of my children and being granted an absolute divorce can be directly credited to Mr. Redmond's aggressive and knowledgeable approach to my case. The opposing party would never had settled if it weren't for the pressure put on them by Mr Redmond. I was also impressed with Mr. Redmond's extensive familiarity with my personal situation and my case. We communicated on a regular basis and he was always quick to respond when I needed guidance. When we talked, he never needed me to catch him up or remind him of details. He was always on top of it and knew exactly where we were and what I was talking about. He always discussed our options with how to proceed forward to ask for my input and how I wanted my case handled. I was always involved and included in all decisions and courtesy copied in all emails. In summation, I was blown away by Mr. Redmond's knowledge, professionalism, aggressive approach, dedication, and communication skills. I hope to never need his services again but should I find myself in that situation, I will absolutely call him. I've already personally recommended him to two good friends of mine!