Judith Adrienne Gillett’s Reviews

Judith Adrienne Gillett

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce Case

    Posted by JoAnne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Gillett.
    • I hired Judith 1-3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Judith Gillett to anyone going through a divorce or separation. She was very knowledgable about family law, provided expert guidance and advice, and was very responsive to me. During my recent separation and divorce, I most valued her straightforward, yet caring approach to my situation. Divorce is a highly emotional process and there were many times when I struggled with looking out for my own best interests. Judith listened, showed empathy, but consistently applied logic and reason. I never felt pressured, rather, she often simply helped me see the short- and long-term implications of the decisions I was making. Having a lawyer so knowledgable about family law, coupled with a caring attitude, helped me through one of the most difficult periods of my life.

  2. Amazing Lawyer

    Posted by ann, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Gillett.
    • I hired Judith 1-3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Gillett has hands down been the best lawyer I have ever encountered. Not only did she get to know me on a personal and professional level to help my case , but she went above and beyond all my expectations. She was there for me through out the entire process and made me feel completely at ease. I found it refreshing that everything was stored electronically and that made it so easy to access information. I could text her and she would always respond no matter what the time. It was wonderful having her there for me 24/7.I never had any trouble reaching her . I was deeply impressed with her accurate knowledge of the legal system and she never failed to amaze me. I would reccomend her to everyone.

  3. Be careful

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Judith Gillett.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would definitely not recommend Judy. She didn’t do any of the things that she agreed to do when I hired her. She missed important legal deadlines in my case that made my case worse. She practically never answered her phone, her voicemail was always full, and she barely ever called me back. When she did respond to me it was through long text messages that required me to write long text messages back to her, which I didn’t care for. I sent her about 100 supporting documents for my case but she told me on 2 different occasions that her computer crashed and she lost everything I sent her. She wasn’t knowledgeable about any laws regarding my case and she never researched laws that would help my case (to the best of my knowledge). I called her looking for an attorney and I was prepared to spend money on an attorney, but when we first met to discuss my case she said she just wanted to have lunch between friends. She tried to become my friend as an excuse to not do any work on my case, I think. If you are looking for a new friend who happens to be an incompetent lawyer, then I would call her. But if you want an attorney that will help you legally, I don’t recommend her.

  4. Strategic Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Gillett.
    • I hired Judith 1-3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ms. Gillett helped me get over a divorce 3 months ago and I was completely satisfied. She is an "outside the box" thinker, very caring and knowledgeable. She displayed professionalism and followed through with all requests. I felt she was by myself the entire process and It was such a breath of fresh air meeting her in the midst of my dispair. I would recommend her!!

  5. Excellent Attorney - Highly Recommended

    Posted by Jean, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Gillett.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Gillett is an excellent attorney. She went above and beyond for me and my family. She is very professional, knowledgeable, and has many years experience. She will explain the situtation in terms we can understand, discuss strategy, and strongly fight for her clients.

  6. Knowledgeable, professional and caring lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Gillett.

    Was able to understand and took time with my questions.

  7. Dedicated to Her Clients....

    Posted by Mary, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Gillett.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Gillette is an amazing and compassionate attorney, dedicated to her clients. She recently assisted my son-in-law with custody of his 6 year old son and ‘We Won’. My grandson is currently residing with his father and both are very excited with the outcome of custody. Ms. Gillette knew from the beginning of the case that my grandson would be in a much better environment living with his father. End result, father and son are sharing everyday, every moment and look forward to his childhood together.

    Ms. Gillette worked very closely with my son-in-law during the one year process and her response to phone calls, emails, etc., was always in a timely fashion. Additionally, she accepted payments from my son-in-law for her fees, which is just not done by other attorneys these days…. It’s her dedication and commitment to her clients that makes her ‘who she is today’.

    Again, thanks to Ms. Gillette, my grandson is living in a home full of Love, Respect and Commitment to their new family. Without her, we are not sure what the outcome of this little boy’s life would be. There are not enough words to say or share that can express our sincere thanks and appreciation for her efforts and dedication in this case.

  8. Very Disappointed.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Judith Gillett.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Gillett does not respond to emails, phone calls, or in other manners. She did not respond to my other lawyer or to the court as well. I cannot recommend her to anyone.

    1. Judith Adrienne Gillett

      Judith Gillett

      Lawyer Comment:

      I genuinely appreciate feedback, both positive and negative, from my clients. I take their thoughts, impressions, and opinions very seriously. I feel compelled, however, to address the factually incorrect comments left by this reviewer. In March and April of this year, I was very seriously (and unexpectedly) ill, requiring two lengthy hospital stays. Although I endeavored to timely reply to all client inquiries during that miserable time, I was completely incapacitated due to illness. That said, I never missed a court deadline or appearance, I never failed to respond to a court inquiry (I practice in a small county and the local judges were aware that I was ill and hospitalized), nor was any client ever in any jeopardy as a result of my illness. Furthermore, I responded to this client's new attorney immediately upon my receiving an email from him (I know who left this review, as I only lost two clients as a result of my illness). Although two clients were unhappy with my performance as a result of my illness, most were genuinely concerned about my health, and overwhelmingly supportive and understanding (including offers to babysit my children, provide meals for my family, etc.).

      I pride myself on promptly returning client phone calls, and being overall quickly accessible to my clients. All of my clients have my cellular telephone number, and know that they can reach me (even when I am in court on another matter) by texting me, in the event of an urgent matter. Additionally, I regularly respond immediately to after-hours texts and emails from clients. I have a small practice (by choice) and I am very selective of the clients I represent. I keep my practice small to allow me to give every client as much attention as possible. I do not advertise my services, (I do not even have a yellow-pages listing) relying entirely on client referrals and word of mouth. Nonetheless, my practice is thriving. I believe that I can safely represent that, overall, my clients are pleased with my dedication and determination to achieve the best possible outcome for them (please see my other reviews). I genuinely regret having left a bad impression on two previous clients, and hope that their experience with me does not leave them with a bad overall impression of the profession or the court system.

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  9. Wonderful lawyer

    Posted by Liz,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Gillett.

    Dear Mrs. Gillett,
    Please allow me to start by saying thank you for all that you did for our daughter during her custody case. We could never have made it through this without you. Your knowledge of the law and professionalism helped us to win our case. You knew exactly what the judge needed and you made it happen. I am so glad we met you that day in the court house. Because of you our granddaughter is living in a stable house with her mom. We will highly recommend you to anyone needing legal assistance. Again, thank you for all that you have done.

    Sincerely,

    Mr. and Mrs. Michael H.

  10. BEST lawyer ever!!!!

    Posted by Melissa, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Gillett.
    • Judith handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found out about Judy through the court house as they recommended her to me. I called and set up a meeting and she was amazing from day one and continues to be! If I have any questions she answers them as fast as she can and she will fight for you! I would and have recommended her to others as I have found her to be the BEST lawyer I have EVER dealt with!!!! If you want a great lawyer that knows what she is doing and one who is willing to go the extra road for you...Judy is your lawyer!