John Carroll Leon Whitbeck Jr.’s Reviews

John Carroll Leon Whitbeck Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very helpful

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used this law office for my divorce. I had hired an attorney prior to seeing John Whitbeck but kept having a gut feeling I was not getting the best advice. My gut proved to be correct after moving over to Mr. Whitbeck. Very professional and knowledgeable!

  2. Divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John assisted in a very difficult time. John made the process as easy as possible and provide support every step of the way. He is very trustworthy and responsive to all matters.

  3. Highly Recommend Mr. Whitbeck

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John is both an incredible lawyer and person. He's extremely knowledgable and fights for your family. John handled my child custody and divorce and I highly recommend him. He's extremely trustworthy and cares about what's in the best interest for you and your child. His entire office is very efficient. I would highly recommend him if you are dealing with a complicated child custody situation or a divorce.

  4. Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Amanda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend John Whitbeck to anyone needing legal counsel or representation. He was thorough, intentional, and professional in all of my dealings with him. He is well respected in the legal community of Loudoun County and is well liked by friends and colleagues alike. He has worked diligently to build a fabulous reputation and proven his knowledge of the law through his diligent practice in the area. No man would be as highly respected and sought after if he didn't have the experience and professionalism to back it up.

    An added bonus is the professionalism and friendliness of his entire staff. They are thoughtful and encouraging as well.

    He helped me navigate a complex marriage settlement agreement and saw me through many court dates. He handled my child custody, child support, and final divorce. He always heeded my preferences, offered sound advice, and never made me feel like I was asking too many questions. In the end, I am pleased with the outcome and wouldn't change a thing.

  5. Everyone should have a lawyer like John Whitbeck!!

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I want to recommend John Whitbeck.

    John handled my separation agreement, my divorce agreement and I have just rehired him to handle a child custody/child support situation. Why would I recommend him as highly as I do and take the time to fill out this website? Because I cannot think of a better lawyer to help me - period - he is wonderful and others should be able to leverage his help and knowledge the way I have. It has made a difference in my life and my children's life without question and I wanted to share that.

    John is very bright and knows the law:
    He guides me based on what the law will support and allow given my situation.

    John is ethical and cares for families:
    John has a wife and children and as I work through my child support issues, and as I worked through my divorce issues everything was focused on what was the right thing to do for my children and what would best support our family. He doesn't just practice this law - he lives it.

    John is fair and a great listener:
    John hears my concerns and patiently takes the time to explain issues to me when I'm worried or fearful. He walks me through step by step what to expect and what can or could occur. It helps ease my worries.

    John always tries to mediate the situation and resolve it without going to court:
    Again and again John would tell me that almost all of his cases are settled outside of court - and having been through it with him, I understand why. As he told me, court is expensive, court is emotionally draining, court is unpredictable. If we have to go to court we will, but lets try to resolve the situation between the two parties and save the emotional and financial costs involved. We were able to settle my divorce out of court - I trust he will be able to do the same with my current child support/custody issues.

    John makes himself available to his clients at all times:
    I have talked to John early in the morning, late at night and on the weekends. When I need John, even if he is busy, he will let me know that he got my message and will circle back to me in X time frame. I always know when I need him, he will be there. It's very comforting when your world is turned upside down to know that someone has your back. He does.

    I am very, very, thankful I have John as my lawyer - I cannot imagine anyone helping me and my children out more than he has.

  6. Former divorce and custody client

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Mr. Whitbeck after having worked with another attorney who is consistently rated as on of the best in the Washington D.C. area. The case had been in the court system for some time before Mr. Whitbeck was referred to me from another very satisfied client. Mr. Whitbeck was able to resolve very complicated legal matters, to include custody of my children, child support, alimony, and a property settlement, to my complete satisfaction. Mr. Whitbeck made an inherently awful process much easier for me. He was efficient, very knowledgable, and very accessible. Mr. Whitbeck has a very respectful and thoughtful demeanor, and I felt like he truly went "above and beyond" to assist me. I would strongly recommend that anyone who needs outstanding representation consult with mr. Whitbeck before hiring another attorney. It would have saved me a lot of time and money to work with him from the outset.

  7. Child Custody

    Posted by A Happy Child Custody Client, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired John Whitbeck to handle my child custody case. I only wish I had John 1.5 years prior to my custody battle because he would have handled my divorce much differently than the attorney I had for that. John and his staff were attentive and always responded. My custody battle had to be the worst ever (at least in my opinion). John put the needs of my family first and foremost and fought an unbelievable battle on our behalf and I won sole custody of my child.
    I have referred over 15+ clients to John and his firm and every single person has left pleased with the results. I have highly recommended him to so many. I continue to use John when needed.

  8. Highly Recommend John and his firm

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have to admit that I'm really surprised by the previous reviews of John Whitbeck and his firm. I found John and the supporting cast in his firm to be nothing but professional, reliable, flexible, and extremely good at communicating the relevant facts of my case as often as was necessary.

    I hired John to handle my divorce and he routinely made himself available nights, weekends, and basically whenever I needed to discuss the details of my case. John fought hard to ensure I got a fair settlement without alienating my former spouse or the opposing attorney. In my experience, I found John to be extremely knowledgeable on the law and at the same time, very talented at discussing strategy and navigating what was an extremely complex, emotional, and time-consuming divorce.

    I would highly recommend John to anyone contemplating going through what I went through. Throughout the entire process, he was a true partner and a trusted advisor and really did a terrific job.

  9. Not a fit for me

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I finally switched to another lawyer because I was just plain uncomfortable with how comfortable he is bending the truth to get what he wants in court. He is also very rude to the other side and their lawyer, so not your man if you want to keep a relationship with the other person. Good luck getting him on the phone.

  10. BAD TIMING

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Whitbeck.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    It could have been John was preoccupied with other cases. He failed to make an effort to understand an important aspect of my case. He failed to see that the agreement was followed to the letter by the other party before signing. He promise to stay with me to the end but I still need to get another lawyer to argue a point in court. He told the other lawyer something that I did not want him to know. At one point he wrote something that made me believed that he was siding with the other lawyer. There were things I should have been told to help me understand the legal process. Even thought I did not want to go to court, I think John should have explained why we should have gone. It took more than 2 years and a half. There is more to the story but the fact is that both lawyer's behavior were unacceptable. Very disappointed and left without closure.