John W. Ryan’s Reviews

John W. Ryan

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. John W. Ryan review

    Posted by Tom, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Intellectual Property matter.

    John has efficiently handled our patent work for the last 16 years - he has filed several litigated infringment actions for us where we prevailed; he has drafted numerous opinions and counseled us on a variety of intellectual property maters, including licensing deals; he has filed well thought out patent applications (that ultimately lead to valuable patents) in a number of technical fields. His advice has been extremely valuable to the growth and sucess of our company these past 16 years and it has been a pleasure to work with him. Most importantly, he has taken an intrest in our business and success, something not always found in outside counsel. I have no hesitation in recommending him as an outstanding attorney.

  2. Review of John Ryan

    Posted by David, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • John handled my General Practice matter.

    John and I worked together years ago at a previous company, where he was the company general counsel specifically aiding my group with patent applications, intellectual property, NDAs, contracts and general agreements. John extremely valuable when the company filed for a public offering. He was always responsive, reasonable and diligent in our dealings. John was also extremely valuable in aiding my group in different R&D projects that ultimately resulted in several key patents. More recently, I asked John to review an agreement we had with another company, he gave me clear, direct insight and guidance that translated into a meaningful endpoint. I have been impressed with his knowledge base, especially wrt to the sciences.

  3. Excellent patent attorney

    Posted by Mike, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Intellectual Property matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John is an excellent intellectual property attorney. We have worked with him for over 15 years and he has produced several excellent patents and helped us defend two successfully.

  4. John Ryan Review

    Posted by Douglas, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I used John for patent applications, intellectual property issues, inbound and outbound licensing, and related matters over a period of five years. John always got to the point and achieved what we needed in a practical and efficient way. He was also very effective in working with other lawyers when we sold the company.

  5. Definitely Effective

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Intellectual Property matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    John handled our IP for close to twenty years. He filed numerous successful patent applications for us; counseled, advised and guided us; investigated infringement/validity issues and wrote solid opinions on them; and represented us as both a plaintiff and a defendant on patent infringement claims and prevailed on both. John truly listened and heard what we said. He based his trustworthy advice and strategies on extensive experience and knowledge and they were always in our best interests. And, very importantly to us, John is an all around good guy and highly effective.

  6. John W. Ryan review : appreciative long term client

    Posted by Ron, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Patent Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I started my business in 1989, and have had associations with numerous lawyers since.
    In my experience, John Ryan is a great example of a lawyer who combines exceptional professional insight and expertise with compassion and humanity for the client, as both a person and business owner.
    I have come to think of John as a friend, as well as a trusted advisor, and often extol praise of John to my colleagues and alliances.
    At anytime that I require legal services related to intellectual properties, or simply am seeking sound advise, John is consistently among my most trusted and knowledgable resources, and is always quick to respond to those needs.
    In closing, I hope John Ryan sticks around in his profession for the life of my business. I wouldn't want to consider going elsewhere for what John provides.

  7. My work with John

    Posted by Richard, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Intellectual Property matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have worked with John for nearly 20 years. I trust his work and judgement and he adds a sense of business judgement to his work so that he is not doing overkill on a project that does not need it while he does an excellent job when it is required.

  8. Lawyer Review

    Posted by Alex, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Patent Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John has handled our patent issues both domestically and internationally for over 10 years.. He has dealt with infringement issues and new applications... In all instances he has been timely, informative, and accurtae in the protection and guidance through all legal matter sinvolving our multiple patents in place

  9. Excellent attorney and business partner

    Posted by Richard, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Ryan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Intellectual Property matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    John has been our "go to" counsel for IP matters. He is a highly skilled attorney and, equally important, a business partner who understands the corporate pressures and objectives.