Rosemary Dettling’s Reviews

Rosemary Dettling

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Lifesaver!

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary 1-6 months ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I relied completely on Ms. Dettling's knowledge and expertise to help me through the most frightening and disturbing events of my professional career. Her calm guidance and experience were reassuring to me and her professional manner and communication projected serious intent to others. Her involvement in and handling my case made a huge positive difference that I could not have brought about without her. For situations involving employment disputes with the Federal government, I highly recommend Ms. Dettling and her team!

  2. Federal Government cases

    Posted by Debi, a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary 1-6 months ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Dettling recently represented me in a wrongful termination case against the Federal Government. I would never have been able to navigate the process without her. She is knowledgeable, informed and very supportive. I cannot stress the last enough. Being terminated after 30 years of service was devastating. I am certain, without her support, I would have given up.
    Additionally, because she is straigtforward and honest, I trusted her assessment of the agency case and my prospective outcome.

    Ms. Dettling did a thorough job of preparing me and my witnesses for the hearing which would have been a nerve-wracking experience otherwise.

    At the hearing Ms. Dettling was in her element. She was confident and assured. She managed the testimony of witnesses with ease. During cross examination she was able to demonstrate the weaknesses in the agency's case. She led me carefully through each aspect of my testimony giving me the opportunity to counter each of the agency's charges.

    I have already recommended Ms. Dettling to a close friend who had a successful outcome in her case and would use her again.

  3. Great work

    Posted by Becky, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary more than 3 years ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Rosemary Dettling is an outstanding attorney, and I am fortunate that I found her. I was extremely disappointed after being misadvised by my previous counsel, and I had given up when by a stroke of luck, I found her website and wrote to her about my situation. She understood my situation and immediately began working on my case. Now, thanks to FELSC my issues are being addressed by the EEOC Judge. Regardless of the outcome, I will always be thankful because I have been given a chance that would have otherwise been lost if it was not for Mrs. Dettling's knowledge and compassion for others in the pursuit of justice in the federal employment legal system.

  4. i speak the truth

    Posted by Maj SDM, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary more than 3 years ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great attorney. really helped me. won my case against dept of justice. i am a disabled vet who did not have much money. ms. dettling charged me a reasonable hourly rate, she only billed me for necessary work. she did not bill for her paralegal, which surprised me, even though I talked to her too. she is not a hand holder and will not call you to talk about the weather or your family. however when it comes time to litigate the case in front of the judge, she ramps it up to 160 mph. in my case, she gave 110%. she gave it her all. i would not want to have to sue the government again, but if i had to, i would definitely call her! i highly recommend her to anyone!

  5. Criminal Investigator

    Posted by Lynn, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary more than 3 years ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Dettling is a Pit bull when comes to fighting for your rights as a federal employee, she accepted my MSPB case after my original attorney failed to submit the request for discovery on time, she argued my case with no discovery information available at MSPB hearing, the judge rendered a decision in favor of the Agency, she continue to fight for me and appealed the decision with MSPB, and she won the appeal, the MSPB remanded the judge to review the original decision.

  6. Best of the Best!

    Posted by a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary 1-3 years ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When searching for an attorney to handle my EEO case, I wanted to find one that would represent me as if they were representing themselves. I live in NC and I had no idea where to start looking for an attorney; so, I went online. I googled “EEO attorneys” and came across Ms. Rosemary Dettling. I saw that she handled EEO cases for federal employees – I decided to give her a call. I was afraid that the information online was fake so I kept my fingers crossed. Ms. Dettling returned my call and we talked about my case. I was still a little nervous because she was in another state and it was my first time hiring an attorney. During our initial conversation, I could see how serious she was about obtaining information on the case so that she could get started. Especially since I hired her just weeks before my hearing. She did not mess around. Most of my interaction with Ms. Dettling was telephonic. I did not meet Ms. Dettling until the day of the hearing. During the hearing, Ms. Dettling asked all the right questions; I could tell she had done her homework! I was very impressed with her skills. My case is still ongoing. Even though we don’t know what the outcome will be, I am very very satisfied with Ms. Dettling’s work. As a matter of fact, the opposing party’s attorney kept telling me what a great and smart attorney I had. He said if he ever needed an attorney to represent him, he would love to hire her. Ms. Dettling works very hard in preparing for her cases and is very knowledgeable of the federal laws. I would definitely recommend her to handle any case!

  7. You could not ask for a better attorney

    Posted by Rachelle, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • Rosemary handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Not many attorneys will go up against the DoD, especially when it comes to a discrimination suit against the government involving denying reasonable accommodation for someone with a disability. Rosemary stepped up to the plate.

    She came highly recommended by other people who have had success with her in the past involving litigation with the government. Even though Rosemary is in DC and I am in California she took the time to answer all my questions and to reassure me throughout the process. She met all the crazy deadlines the DoD outlined and kept me informed. She was there for me every step of the way.

    When we went to trial, all I can say is that Rosemary is a Rockstar. She was exceptionally prepared and much more familiar with my case than the opposing side. My case is not entirely final, but in the preliminary decision she got me everything I could have wanted and more.

    If you need to go up against the Federal Government you could not ask for a better attorney than Rosemary Dettling.

  8. Attorney and Dettling Client

    Posted by a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary more than 3 years ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ms. Dettling represented me in a discrimination matter against the U.S. Department of Justice. That's right, just imagine taking on that agency. Yet through use of technology, she was able to protect my interests, despite the fact that I was not stationed in D.C. I am a lawyer who worked with lawyers for many years before passing the Bar. As such, I can confidently attest that Ms. Dettling can skillfully assist a client in employment distress by immediately focusing on critical issues. She does so, to the exclusion of issues that are irrelevant or not yet ripe for resolution. Ms. Dettling will respond to client communications. She was not daunted by the prospect of taking on USDOJ or by voluminous discovery materials. Though my matter is still pending, Ms. Dettling has already assisted in achieving a significant improvement in my situation. When the agency took inappropriate actions that warranted her immediate intervention, Ms. Dettling had my back. It is arguable that attorneys make bad clients (on the logic that "no one can do it like I can"). But when an attorney realizes that he is out of his area of expertise or truly in over his head, he may realize that it is high time to bring on an advocate. I am very grateful that Ms. Dettling did not refuse to take my case just because I was a lawyer. I recall that during my initial contact with her, I was worn out from the fight and frightened of the likely consequences of having been a whistleblower and of filing suit against my agency. Even the agency's internal complaint procedure turned into a very lengthy process and was a nightmare to navigate. From our first conversation, Ms. Dettling listened compassionately and recommended action that I am convinced was my ultimate salvation. Finally, for employees who -- like me -- did not get in it "for the money," but instead want justice and the right to get back to work without discriminatory hazing, a consultation with Ms. Dettling to be as welcome as an oasis in the desert.

  9. EEO Case

    Posted by Ginny, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary 1-3 years ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Finding a lawyer in a small town that is willing to work with you against a large government agency is very difficult. Finding one on-line thousands of miles away is very scary. You send them thousands of dollars and hope it is a legimate web site. For those of you government employees in this situation, you need to know that this lawyer is one you can trust. In the beginning I was very worried that I had done the wrong thing in hiring an attorney on-line in another state. However, Ms. Dettling proved to be exactly what I needed and was very patient with me through my initial fears and lack of legal knowledge. Ms. Dettling took a lot of grief from the judge and the opposing attorney to the point where it bordered on verbal abuse. She stood her ground in my defense and knew the law and defended it against a bias judge. If you have an EEO case against the federal government, try her. You won't be disappointed.

  10. Best Lawyer in DC for protecting your rights as a government employee

    Posted by John, a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rosemary Dettling.
    • I hired Rosemary 1-3 years ago.
    • Rosemary handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    ³I have engaged Ms. Dettling on several job-related appeals to the MSPB and the EEOC. She is an outstanding lawyer and
    she will stick with you through "thick and thin" to win your case(s). I have never witnessed another lawyer with her inherent
    abilities to prepare credible, well-written, and logical briefs. She
    is easy to communicate with and she will take your calls. What
    distinguishes Ms. Dettling from other lawyers is that she combines
    compassion and intellect with excellent legal representation. You cannot do better than her if you are fighting unfair and unfounded actions initiated by the federal government. She truly takes your interests to heart. She is tenacious when it comes to fighting for your rights and your job.






    >