Nicholas W. Woodfield’s Reviews

Nicholas W. Woodfield

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. When you need the best, call Nick.

    Posted by Matthew Drake, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Woodfield, Mr. R. Scott Oswald and the Employment Law Group successfully represented me in a five year whistleblower/employment case against my employer, a U.S. Government Agency. Attorneys are like physicians in that when you need a specialist, you want the best. Nick and the ELG may be expensive, but I have found that you get what you pay for when it comes to representation.

    Our case took five years to litigate against the Agency and the Merit Systems Protection Board. Ultimately, my case went before the U.S. Federal Circuit Court of Appeals. Thanks to Nick and the ELG, we won a precedent setting decision and increased protections for federal workers. This was clearly attributable to Mr. Woodfield's knowledge, his outstanding writing skills, and his hard work.

    From the first time I met with the ELG, I was presented with a well thought out plan of handling the case. I agree with those who complimented Mr. Woodfield on his outstanding performance in a trial setting. I would not want to go into a hearing without Mr. Woodfield and his team. I also agree that he gave me the right answers, not just the answers that I wanted to hear on many occasions.

    I recommend Mr. Woodfield and the ELG to everyone I know would not hesitate to use them again myself.

  2. Whistleblower case

    Posted by mike, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you want someone who will fight for you and is a tiger in the court room contact Nick Woodfield. Nick took me under his wing, helped me get back to work and protected me through my retirement date. Nick is more then my attorney and protector, he loaded up his backpack with my concerns and carried the load so I could focus on my family and job. Nick is a great guy with a big heart!

  3. Overtime

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend Mr. Woodfield to anyone that needs help regarding unpaid overtime. He and his firm are top shelf and not once did I have to contact him to find out how my case was progressing because I was informed every step of the way. His firm turned my nightmare into a very positive experience.

  4. Want the best Employment Trial Lawyer Hire this guy

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As a former client of Mr. Nick Woodfield I would highly recommend him in litigation. To have him by my side was an honor. A master at deposition hearing, I would not go into a deposition without having him on my side. He prepares his client for deposition and for trial with the same intensity he displayed at trial.
    He does his homework even if it means coming into the office on Sunday afternoon, which he had done on many occasions. I was very impressed with his photo static memory in deposition.
    I felt the deep care and interest he took in my welfare as well as my family during litigation. He is a very brilliant lawyer who does not compromise ethics for great results.

  5. Professional & Competent EEO Attorney

    Posted by a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Woodfield successfully represented me in an EEOC case against my employer, a U.S. Government agency. While EEO cases are not a matter for the feint of heart or one that should be undertaken unless you have financial reserves and a good support network, it was worth doing, for the sake of the staff I served with and the organization. Mr. Oswald and Mr. Woodfield of The Employment Law Group represented my interests, professionally and competently, securing an arbitrated settlement agreement that resulted in a sizeable cash settlement (which I learned was taxable, after the fact), clean record, and reinstatement of an executive level training course I was competitively selected to attend, plus the retirement of the main antagonist and an apology from the organization. More importantly, it resulted in needed change for how the organization deals with hostile work environments and retaliation by its senior executives, long lasting changes that will benefit other U.S. Government employees. I wholeheartedly recommend Mr. Woodfield should anyone find themselves in need of a good EEO lawyer and a strong, well documented, compelling EEO case.

  6. Client Review

    Posted by a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Woodfield did an outstanding job in representing me in my action against my former employer and I was quite pleased with the outcome. Mr. Woodfield is the consumate professional and an expert negotiator/litigator. I would hire him again in a minute and have recommended his services to several associates.

  7. Federal Government Manager

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was represented by Mr. Woodfield on a highly complex case involving employment law and discrimination. The case required an attorney with a thorough knowledge of employment and labor law and exceptional trial skills. Mr. Woodfield exceeded my expectations in every facet of the litigation. He always returned my calls within a reasonable amount of time and he really listened to my questions. He gave me the right answers (not just the answers that I wanted to hear). His tenacity and tireless dedication to his work earned him my respect and the respect of his opponents. Mr. Woodfield gave his all in litigating my case. I have never regretted my decision to rely on him to represent me in what was one of the most important events in my lifetime. I'd gladly recommend him to anyone that I cared about.

  8. Recommendation of Nicholas W. Woodfield

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    A search for an experienced professional with litigation experience was conducted that included the most successful Washington based employment legal professionals who possessed the skills to best pursue my current issues regarding federal labor law of a sensitive nature. The selection process led to Attorney Woodfield.

    Attorney Woodfield conducted a complete history of the facts, laid out a detailed assessment of the cases strengths and weaknesses and provided a plan of action that was reasonable while maintaining the ability to remain flexible without sacrificing leverage.

    Attorney Woodfield was always able to be reached and returned all calls on the same day they were received. He always did exactly what was discussed exactly when it was to be done. He kept lines of communication open and was honest as to expectations with litigation.

    Attorney Woodfield was able to achieve my desired results in a timely and proficient manner. The matter was concluded in my favor and my expectations were exceeded.

    Attorney Nicholas W. Woodfield is a true professional who possesses the legal skills, knowledge and experience to handle the most complex employment issues.

  9. Wrongful Termination Suit Won by Nicholas W. Woodfield

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nicholas Woodfield of 'The Employment Law Group', Washington D.C., successfully represented me in lawsuit that presented several challenges. Due to issues beyond our control, my original suit was denied but Mr. Woodfield and The Employment Law Group came up with a secondary approach which we won. I really appreciate Mr. Woodfield's excellent handling of my case. He definitely went out on a limb to support me through it all.





  10. The Best...

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Woodfield.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Woodfield was the best. Kept me informed... Talked to me in language I could understand... He was the best. GREAT Overall experience..