Emilie M Fairbanks’s Reviews

Emilie M Fairbanks

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent attorney, highly recommend

    Posted by Hoda, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 1-3 years ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I hired Emilie last year to help me evict a problem tenant for non-paymet of rent. I was dealing with a sick parent with stage IV cancer at the time, and did NOT want to deal with the tenant issue. Emilie was very upfront with me from the beginning, handled everything, kept me informed along the way, and within the 30-day window of serving the eviction notice, my tenant left. I would absolutely work with her again (she's helping me with screening prospective tenants at this time and drawing up a lease for me), and I have referred her to friends and family. She is such a pleasure to work with. Rest assured that you're in good hands with Emilie!

  2. Gave me great advice on my pending eviction case against tenant.

    Posted by Kevin, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 1-6 months ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I have a case pending before Landlord Tenant Branch (LTB) court in Washington D.C. I wish to evict the tenant for several reasons, but I based my complaint on simple non-payment for rent, due to the potential speed of that approach. The tenant recently started working with an agency that may pay his back rent, and the agency contacted me for some information. I was unsure whether I had an obligation to respond to them, and/or whether in my potential response I could provide additional information on the tenant's character. I contact Emilie Fairbanks after finding her on this website.

    Ms. Fairbank gave me great advice that prevented me from making a mistake that would have gotten my case immediately dismissed. (The answer to the questions are 'Yes, I needed to respond in a timely manner" and "Don't say anything negative because it could only hurt me. Nothing I say/write would prevent the agency from assisting the tenant). She also gave me some great tactical advice on how to proceed at the initial hearings, including when to schedule my hearings in order to avoid a judge who is considered very tenant-friendly. Hopefully, my case will proceed smoothly, but once I've moved beyond the initial series of unavoidable continuances that every tenant requests/receives, I expect to contact Ms. Fairbanks again.

  3. Experienced and professional lawyer. Highly recommend.

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 6-12 months ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    My fiance and I found Emillie Fairbanks online when searching for a lawyer to assist us with drafting a lease for our rental property. Emilie was professional, knowledgeable, and geniunely interested in our situation. She spent close to two hours listening to our concerns, providing advice, and outlining our obligations according to DC law. She exceeded our expectations and made it an overall great experience. We will definitely be continuing our relationship with Ms. Fairbanks.

  4. Outstanding Professional

    Posted by Jay, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 6-12 months ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Never having used the services of a lawyer, I was uncertain what to expect during our first meeting. Almost immediately, Ms. Fairbanks made me comfortable by her confident and caring manner. She was well-informed and, at the same time, friendly and encouraging. She issued the appropriate documents for my landlord/tenant case in a timely and authoritative manner. I was very pleased to be able to hire Ms. Fairbanks to advise and to act on my behalf. Her collegiality (i.e., involving me in making decisions and offering opinions), enabled our team to win the case with ease! We achieved our goal of having the tenant vacate the property.

  5. Professional and Personable

    Posted by Joanne, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 6-12 months ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Being a first time landlord, I thought the landlord/ tenant court would be the quickest and most logical answer to resolving my problems. After two failed mediations and one more trip to court, everything seemed like it was a hopeless and confusing situation. I had contacted Emilie by phone after seeing her posted on this site. She was very relaxed and easy to talk to. We exchanged several e-mails. I explained the situation and how coming to DC every other week was hard on me. The morning of another scheduled status hearing, I contacted her. We agreed to meet after the hearing. Well, the hearing was another try at mediation set up by the tenant's attorneys. Wow, it was amazing, Emilie showed up and expressed her concern for me. She knew exactly what I was going through. I needed her expertise, starting no later than, then.
    From our communications and meeting her for the first time, I felt comfortable and so sure, that she was the right person to represent me. She listened to me and understood exactly what was going on. She successfully mediated an agreement in my case.
    Her tenacity, experience, knowledge and her strife for fairness are all qualities that make her an excellent attorney and an outstanding person. I would not hesitate to recommend Attorney Emilie Fairbanks.

  6. Apparently confident but

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 1-3 years ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Emilie Fairbanks appears to be confident but she instead turned out to be timid and was unable to settle our case against our landlord. The opposing counsel wasnt even an landlord tenant lawyer. I had to hire a new lawyer because as we were preparing to go to trial with our landlord and we had expert witnesses whom she never submitted into the case, so our case was almost thrown out. SHe also was very terse and wasnt a very good communicator. At times it seems as if I was bothering her. Luckily we hired someone else who settled the case for us.

  7. Effective & Easy to Work With

    Posted by Aaron, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 1-3 years ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ms. Fairbanks represented us after our LL failed to make repairs following damages from a flood in our building. We negotiated a early termination settlement and successfully ended our somewhat toxic business relationship with a less than responsive property management firm and LL.

  8. Landlord Questions and Lease Review

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 1-3 years ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Emilie to help me with compiling the paperwork/licenses/inspections/etc. necessary to rent out a single family unit in the District. She also helped review and amend a boilerplate lease agreement that my condo board required me to use. I found Emilie to be courteous, professional, timely and knowledgeable. She directly answered each of many questions with clear and direct answers. A great resource for DC landlords who are interested in getting it right the first time and easing some of the stress and confusion that comes with being a first time DC landlord.

  9. Knowledgeable and professional

    Posted by Sarah, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 1-3 years ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Fairbanks was the perfect counsel for my landlord/tenant case. Not only is she well versed in the current statutes and legal processes, but she also has a talent for getting to the root of things quickly and in the simplest way possible. That applies to both her style in court/mediations as well as in client meetings. She will keep you informed throughout the legal process, while always pointing out various options and possible ramifications of those options.

    Most clients do not relish going to court, but with this attorney, any person would be confident that they are well represented by someone that is fighting for them and will do as much as she can to get an acceptable outcome.

  10. Representing tenants

    Posted by Wendy, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Emilie Fairbanks.
    • I hired Emilie 1-3 years ago.
    • Emilie handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Fairbanks represented us in a tenant/landlord case. She typically represents landlords but realized that our landlord was not following the law. Ms. Fairbanks is intelligent, grounded (when our emotions got high), and compassionate. She is a zealot for fairness. Without a doubt I would suggest anyone on either side hire her as she goes by the law and works to make sure that this is the case.