Johnny M Riddick’s Reviews

Johnny M Riddick

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Exceptional Representation and Attention to Detail

    Posted by Anthony B., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny 6-12 months ago.
    • Johnny handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Riddick by a friend of my sister. She indicated that Mr. Riddick had represented her close friend and gotten an exceptional result. I consulted with Mr. Riddick. My case involved a divorce. There were very substantial property issues involved, a home with significant equity (nearly paid off), and pension interests exceeding a million dollars. So it was very important that the attorney have considerable experience. My spouse wanted alimony, attorneys fees, half the equity in the home, and a share of my two pensions.

    Mr. Riddick carefully discussed the different ways that I could proceed, and gave me his recommendation on how best to proceed. I really did not know what to do, I had never been divorced before, and we had a long marriage. But I decided to trust him. it seemed like he knew what he was doing.

    Mr. Riddick filed a complaint. Less than a year later, I got a really great result. I kept both my pensions, I do not have to pay alimony. I do not have to pay attorneys' fees, and I got to keep the home after paying my spouse a share of the equity. One of the things that impressed me is Mr. Riddick's ability to get me just what I wanted, without unnecessarily hurting my former spouse, something that was important to me. He was respectful of my spouse's lawyer, and very respectful towards my former spouse.

    Simply put, he did an excellent job. I got the result I wanted. The man is highly skilled.

  2. Exceptional Legal Work - Exceptionally Kind Man

    Posted by Andrenee S., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny 6-12 months ago.
    • Johnny handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Riddick by a neighbor who lived 3 doors down. She told me that Mr. Riddick was a wonderful lawyer. My case involved a difficult divorce, with custody of my children, a house, and a pension at stake. I had a 20 year marriage. My now ex-husband was a bit overbearing, he was a law enforcement officer.

    I went to see Mr. Riddick, explained my circumstances, and he agreed to take my case for a modest retainer fee. The other lawyers I had interviewed wanted an arm and a leg. He discussed with me his views on how my case should be handled. It was very clear to me at the beginning that he was very experienced. It was also clear that he was a very knowledgeable and patient person.

    We began the litigation process. My husband fought me on everything. He actually wanted primary custody of the kids, even though I had been a stay at home mom for much of the marriage and had raised the kids. We had a house that he owned prior to the marriage and he had a pension, and he did not want to share any of it with me, even after 20 years of marriage. I wanted to get retrained because I knew I would have to go back to work after the divorce. I attended school to get a marketable skill. I have almost finished that retraining.

    After the litigation, here is what I got. I got primary custody of the kids. I got to remain in the former marital home for 5 more years, which will allow both of my children to finish college.
    I do not have to pay the mortgage on the home during that time, or pay for maintenance and upkeep of the home. My ex-husband has to do that. When the 5 years is up, my husband has to pay me a share of the equity in the home, which is substantial, even though my ex-husband owned the home before we got married. I won a substantial share of his retirement. And I got child support.

    So I get primary custody of the kids, a chance to finish my retraining, no rent or mortgage to pay for the next 5 years, a six-figure buy-out of the equity in the home when the 5 years is up, and a portion of his retirement.

    I am more than satisfied. And to top it off, Mr. Riddick forgave a substantial portion of my legal bill at the end of the case, and discussed with me things like how to rebuild myself financially after the divorce.

    I feel like everything is going to be okay. And he treated me with respect and kindness. Great legal work!

    This man is very highly skilled, and very compassionate.

  3. He does what he wants to do and not what you asked him to do. His focus is money.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny 6-12 months ago.
    • Johnny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Johnny is primarily focused on keeping the case open so that he can make more money and not address the critical issues with the case. He has frequently said, " I will Pray For You". When what you are paying for is Legal Representation based upon the facts.
    He will drag the case out to make the most possible money.

  4. Excellent Appellate Work

    Posted by Antwanye, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Riddick by a neighbor, a retired Judicial Official. My case involved a complex child support matter. At the time I was represented by another capable lawyer, but had lost the case at trial. I wanted to appeal the decision. I went to see Mr. Riddick, and on my very first meeting decided to retain him. I found him passionate, creative, and a straight shooter. He also listened very carefully to me.

    Mr. Riddick discussed his thoughts on how to frame the appeal, and got my input. He started working on the matter. He filed a brief and represented me at oral argument. It seemed to me that the Judges tried to move him away from his position, but he respectfully remained firm on his points.

    One year later, the D.C. Court of Appeals reversed the trial court's decision! While their remains much to be done in the case, he has given me a fighter's chance, with a decision that will surely benefit other fathers. Great work!

  5. Brilliant Lawyer - Beautiful Personality

    Posted by Bryan, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny 1-6 months ago.
    • Johnny handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came to see Mr. Riddick about a six figure property transaction just a few months ago. I had used another attorney in his firm years ago to handle another legal matter, and I was very satisfied. My new case involved a real estate investor trying to take advantage of me by forcing me to sell my interest in a property. The investor wanted to pay me less than fair value for my interest, and then wanted to make me pay for closing costs and a bunch of other expenses. When I refused the investors' offer, they sued me! I met with Mr. Riddick immediately, who simply said, "I'll take care of it, don't worry".

    Mr. Riddick answered their complaint, then sued them! Long story short. Several months later, they settled with me, before the case went to court, and paid me $50,000.00 more than they had originally offered, and I did not have to pay one dime in costs associated with that transaction.

    Great result! That man has skills!

  6. Great trial work, fabulous appellate work!

    Posted by Aida K, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny more than 3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Johnny Riddick by another law firm in 2010. At the time I was being represented by another attorney. My case involved a very complex divorce case. There were 3 young children involved, and a significant amount of property was at stake. My ex-husband hired a small team of expensive lawyers, and he fought me on every issue. The biggest issues were custody of our children, and I wanted to keep the marital home, even though I knew that my husband had owned prior to our marriage. I wanted alimony to help me get on my feet because I had been a stay at home mother, and I wanted child support. My husband offered to "rent" me a house for 2 years, and pay a small amount of child support. I refused his offer and we had to go to trial.

    We had a 14 day trial which spanned over nearly 8 months. My husband put on 5 witnesses, including an expert. My husband's lawyers introduced thousands of pages of exhibits. Mr. Riddick put on one witness, me, and he introduced about 20 exhibits into evidence.

    The Trial Judge's decision amazed me. I won sole physical custody of the children. I won sole possession of the marital home. I won $6,000.00 a month in rehabilitative alimony. I won $3,000+ a month in child support. I won a number of other things also. in a nutshell, I won everything I asked for, and more. And the Judge ordered my ex-husband to pay $80,000 in legal fees.

    My ex-husband appealed. In fact, filed 5 appeals out of the one case. Mr. Riddick filed briefs and represented me at oral argument. I won my appeal, with a decision which was a published opinion
    and a predecent for other woman.

    I do not even have words to describe Mr. Riddick's work in my case, and the way he treated me during the most period in my life. Wonderful work.

  7. Fair and knowledgeable!

    Posted by Levi V, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Mr. Riddick to represent me in a domestic relations matter involving an agreement incorporated into my divorce judgment. I entered into the agreement without counsel. He came highly recommended. I wanted to have the agreement modified. After he started representing me, my ex-wife filed an appeal in the case. I wanted Mr. Riddick to represent me, but just could not afford the expensive costs for having a lawyer on an appeal. But I wanted him. You know what he did? He refunded most of the retainer deposit I gave to him, and did not charge me for a number of things that he could have charged for. Good man. Good Lawyer. Even though I could not afford him on the appeal, I would highly recommend him.

  8. Tough and to the Point!

    Posted by Samuel P., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Riddick by someone on my job who he had served before. He came highly recommended. I was told that he would work with me even if I had financial problems. My case involved a DIVORCE. I learned that my wife had been unfaithful to me, and was seeing men even with our young sons around. She left and would not let me see my children for weeks. We had a marital home, and there were pension issues. Mr. Riddick started representing me in February, 2012. In December, 2012, my case was fully resolved. Here is what Mr. Riddick got for me and my sons. I got the marital home completely (its totally mine now), I got joint legal and physical custody of my sons, with equal time sharing (1 week on and 1 week off), I got 1/2 of my wife's retirement, the Judge stopped me from paying child support to my ex-wife and made her pay me child support, and I kept all of my pension. I would highly recommend Mr. Riddick. He is tough, but he treated me with kindness and respect, even when I was being difficult with him. He was very patient and supportive of me. I will never forget how he and his secretary of many years treated me during a tough time. I am a satisfied client. Now I have to pay him ( for a job well done)!

  9. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Mary F, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny more than 3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Initially, I was referred to Mr. Riddick when I needed to file for a divorce. It was a very stressful time for me, full of uncertainty about the direction that my life had taken. He reassured me that my primary concern of financial ruin was not an option. It was a bitter divorce but Mr. Riddick was the consummate professional in advocating for me. Because of his tenacity, the settlement was very favorable for me. I know without any doubt, had I been represented by someone else, I would not have come through that ordeal with the financial solvency that I did.
    Recently, I needed the help of Mr. Riddick regarding a property matter that was of a major concern to me. Just as he had done in the past, he resolved the issue with the same level of professionalism that he demonstrated in my divorce proceedings. Mr. Riddick is knowledgeable and hard-hitting but he is also very compassionate and clearly understands the human element that is involved in every case that he handles. I recommend him highly!

  10. End your state of despair. Empathetic, experienced..what more could you ask for

    Posted by S.Watson, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Johnny Riddick.
    • I hired Johnny 1-3 years ago.
    • Johnny handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Riddick by someone whom he had previously served. He came highly recommended. He defended me in a divorce and custody action. There were significant property issues at stake, including my pension benefits, distribution of the marital home and other personal property. At the conclusion of the matter, I retained the home, have primary custody of the children and kept my pension. Mr. Riddick did a great job for me. He put on a listening ear, showed compassion and got tough when needed. He not only advised me, but he educated me throughout the process. Something I truly needed. His work was done timely and professionally, and the outcome obtained was fair and quite satisfactory to me. I understand now why he came highly recommended. His work is superb.