Jon W Norris’s Reviews

Jon W Norris

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DON’T CHANCE YOUR OR A FAMILY MEMBER'S FUTURE, GET THE BEST REPRESENTATION AVAILABLE

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon 1-6 months ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I whole heartily endorse this lawyer. My son was new to the area and found himself faced with some very serious career ending charges and we did not know where to turn. Since we are out of the area, we turned to a couple of friends and colleagues for lawyer recommendations but we were not comfortable with any of their recommendations after interviewing several lawyers. The majority of the lawyers instantly drew conclusions and some said the cases were defendable. We decided to go out on our own and search for lawyers on the internet. We interviewed several and our conclusions were about the same, until we talked the attorney Norris. We were impressed by his questions of us from the onset and his knowledge of the law. He agreed to take my son’s cases and vigorously apply the law but made no promises as far as the outcomes. We made several appearances in court and observed that Mr. Norris and his associates was always prepared and well respected by the court and other attorneys. The outcome of the cases was very favorable and we highly recommend attorney Norris for any case requiring legal representation. Our family is forever grateful, thanks so very much.

  2. Attorney Norris is Amazing!!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon 1-3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My innocent Juvenile son faced horrific charges that if convicted could land him in prison until the age of 21. He was from out of state visiting Washington DC on a tour. My son is an honor roll student, all around good kid but the Prosecutor was pressing hard to put him in jail. We talked to many Attorneys. Some were much too pricy, others we didn’t connect with. When we talked to Attorney Norris we know after a few minutes of conversation that he was the one for us. Attorney Norris knows the law, is reasonable priced and he gave us confidence that he would mount a strong defense for my son. Thank God the horrible charges were dropped and my son was released. I would HIGHLY recommend Attorney Norris for any criminal charges you may be facing. Very nice guy and a GREAT Attorney!!

  3. Forever Grateful to Jon W. Norris!

    Posted by Mike, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon 1-3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Attorney Jon W Norris recently represented me in a Traffic Criminal case in the District of Columbia. I was wrongfully charged with a hit and run which supposedly involved a DC District off duty police officer. Due to Mr. Norris's knowledge of the law, and thoroughness, my case was fairly adjudicated and the judge found me not guilty. Mr. Norris and his team members; Michelle and John got busy with the case right away and impressed me with their aggressiveness in my defense. They were always there for me and every time I contacted them they were very responsive. This was the most difficult thing I have ever had to deal with in my life, and having Mr. Norris and his team on my side was very comforting and obviously very rewarding. Especially being that the false accusations were involving an off duty police officer of the district where being charged. Words cannot express the gratitude and admiration I have for Jon and his team. My wife and I truly appreciate them and are forever grateful for restoring our faith in the judicial system. It is my hope that this never happens to anyone, but if it does, I highly endorse and recommend Attorney Jon W. Norris and his team!!

  4. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon 1-3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    MY FAMILY HAD A SITUTION WHEREIN OUR SON WAS IN SERIOUS LEGAL TROUBLE, IN MAY OF 2012; THEREFORE, WE WERE IN NEED OF AN OUTSTANDING DEFENSE ATTORNEY. WE NEEDED SOMEONE WHO WE COULD TRUST, AND WHO WOULD DEFEND OUR SON AS IF HE WERE DEFENDING HIS OWN SON. WE WERE REFERRED TO ATTORNEY JON W. NORRIS. HE SCHEDULED APPOINTMENTS WITH OUR FAMILY TO DISCUSS OUR CASE, AND TO ALSO DESCRIBE HIS LEGAL BACKGROUND EXPERIENCE, AS WELL AS HIS PROFFESSIONAL WORK ETHICS. I TOLD ATTORNEY NORRIS THAT MY SON'S FUTURE, REPUTATION, JOB WERE IN JEOPARDY. BUT FOR ATTORNEY NORRIS, THEY STILL WOULD BE...ATTORNEY NORRIS WAS ABLE TO SEE THROUGH THE RIDICULOUS ALLEGED CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE CHARGES MADE AGAINST MY SON. HE WAS ABLE TO PROVE THAT IT WAS RIDICULOUS FOR MY SON OR ANYONE ELSE TO BE WALKING DOWN ANY STREET, A CROWDED STREET OR NOT TO INNOCENTLY BRUSH, INNOCENTLY TOUCH, ANYONE TO END UP IN JAIL & TO BE CHARGED WITH A SERIOUS SEXUAL OFFENSE...ATTORNEY NORRIS WAS ABLE TO PROVE THAT THE CHARGES WERE UNNECESARILY OVERCHARGED & RIDICULOUS... BY THE WAY, MY SON HAS NEVER BEEN ARRESTED WITH NO HISTORY OF THIS SO-CALLED CRIME. ATTORNEY NORRIS DEFENDED MY SON AS IF HE WAS HIS OWN SON & WAS ABLE TO PRESENT A CASE FOR MY SON THAT ENDED WITH AN ACQUITTAL..THANK GOD...AS MY SON'S YOUNGER BROTHER NOTED FROM "MERRIAM-WEBSTER'S DISTIONARY THAT DEFINES THE WORD CHARACTER AS "A PERSON MARKED BY NOTABLE OR CONSPICOUS TRAITS; MORAL EXCELLENCE". THERE ARE PARTICULAR THINGS THAT ARE MEMORABLE ABOUT SOMEONE WHO IS CONSIDERED TO HAVE GOOD CHARACTER BECAUSE THEY LEAVE A LASTING IMPRESSION; THEY'RE BUILDING A LEGACY. MY SON & ATTORNEY NORRIS ARE SUCH PERSONS, BOTH WORTHY OF BEING DESCRIBED AS HAVING GOOD CHARACTER..OUR FAMILY WILL ALWAYS APPRECIATE THE PROFESSIONALISM WITH WHICH OUR CASE WAS HANDLED BY ATTORNEY NORRIS & HIS STAFF...IF ANYONE IS NEED OF AN ATTTORNEY WITH GREAT COMMITMENT TO THEIR CASE, JON W. NORRIS IS THE ATTORNEY TO SEEK OUT... HE & HIS STAFF WILL DO THEIR ABSOLUTE UTMOST TO DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS & TO PROTECT YOUR CLIENT'S REPUTATION/CHARACTER..I HAVE YET TO MEET AN ATTORNEY WITH GREATER CARE WHO WILL PROVIDE FOR & SUSTAIN A CLIENT'S/FAMILY'S INTEGRITY...FOREVER OUR FAMLY WILL BE MOST, MOST, MOST, INDEBTED & GREATFUL...FROM OUR FAMILY TO ATTORNEY JON W. NORRIS & STAFF...THANK YOU. THANK YOU. THANK YOU....MUCH LOVE ALWAYS...

  5. Dominating Legal Mind with Precision Representation- Best of the Best!!!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon more than 3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Self Defense !!! You have a right to defend yourself. Accused of AWITK- Found NOT GUILTY 2012. Freedom is easily lost to the to the justice system process. It takes a professionally gifted lawyer “SMART” to cover all the bases and see beyond the smoke screen. He is a "PIT BULL" in the court room, and we highly recommend him. If at this very moment you, a family member or friend are seeking legal advice you've found the right one. He is not alone, but a has very talented TEAM by his side. They have great response time and provide accurate information. My wife would send a text, email or leave a voicemail message at 9pm and receive a response immediately or 7am the next morning. On the back of his business card it says -I AM ASSERTING MY RIGHT to remain silent- I DO NOT CONSENT to answer an questions – I DO NOT CONSENT to any search or seizers of my person or property- I DO NOT WAIVE ANY OF MY RIGHTS. You have a right to excellent counsel and Jon Norris is the best. He will be solid ambassador for you.

  6. Gun Possesion Charges in Washington DC

    Posted by Harold, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon more than 3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I do not believe that there is another lawyer out there that could have done a better job in my case then Mr. Norris did. In December of 2009 I entered the District of Columbia and completely forgot about the guns and ammunition that I had in my car from a previous weekend of hunting in my home state of Virginia. I came into the nation’s capitol to meet with an old friend of mine, and the next thing I knew I was spending time in the custody of the Washington DC’s finer jail system.

    I spent from Saturday afternoon until Monday at 5:00pm in custody. At 9:30am on Monday morning I met with Mr. Norris for the first time through a glass window who assured me that I was coming home that day and everything was going to be okay and I needed to do the best I could to relax. That morning it appeared that I was being charged with not only five misdemeanors but also with a felony possession charge. With Mr. Norris' years of experience in DC and the connections that he has made, he was able to call the prosecutor's office and have them dismiss the felony before I was ever officially charged with it in court.

    In many situations people are accused of doing something they may or may not have done and try to fight the government’s charge saying they did not do any of the events that the government alleges. My situation was completely different where I was saying that yes I had my guns, however I completely forgot that I had them and never meant to bring them to DC and never would have if I had remembered they were in my car. Mr. Norris stood by me and instead of telling me to take a plea he argued a piece of the law that I'm not sure has ever been done before against this charge, and that is with every crime there must be intent, and did I actually have intent in this crime? My word and character being as important to me as they are, it made me extremely relieved that if nothing else I would go on record saying that I never meant to commit a crime.

    While my case is different than many others it took an incredibly skilled lawyer who not only knew the law, but also knew the people in the DC system and how to go about properly building a strategy for us to show the government that what I was trying to say was indeed the case.

    I would recommend to anyone that in a scary situation such as mine to put their faith in Mr. Norris and realize he is going to do the absolute best job that he can for you, and that I doubt it is possible to find a better lawyer out there.

    He does not over promise with high hopes to make a client feel better either, the entire time he kept me completely abreast of all of the dangers we would face in my situation and that going to trial is always risky.

    If you are researching Mr. Norris because you are in a criminal situation, please rest assured that this is the best lawyer you can have!

  7. Mr. Norris the Pit Bull

    Posted by M.F., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon more than 3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Jon Norris is a pit bull in the courtroom. I was falsely accused of a serious crime and Mr. Norris defended me like a true Patriot in the system of law. Not Guilty on all counts.

  8. Nothing but the truth

    Posted by Barry, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon more than 3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was in a situation that seemed to get worse day by day,and before I met Mr.Norris I had begun to prepare myself for the worse.I had to fire a couple of lawyers,because they did'nt show the interest or attention that my case required.I did'nt have to worry about anything when Mr.Norris took my case.He is the ultimate professinal,and he actually cares about his clients.I noticed that he was the most aggressive attorney I had ever seen,and I was glad that he was on my side.If you are ever in a situation that requires a lawyer,Mr.Norris should be the first name that pops in your mind.

  9. Drug Case

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon more than 3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Jon W Norris is an outstanding criminal defense attorney. His presence in the courtroom and knowledge of the law is outstanding. He is most adept at presenting the defendant’s case in the most skillful and sympathetic manner. I highly recommend him as a criminal defense attorney.

  10. Great Lawyer !

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jon Norris.
    • I hired Jon more than 3 years ago.
    • Jon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Norris worked with us on understanding our case, researched our options and prepared us for court. In court, he managed everything and we had an extremely positive outcome