Calvin Alvester Edwards Jr.’s Reviews

Calvin Alvester Edwards Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thank you Calvin!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Calvin Edwards.
    • I hired Calvin 6-12 months ago.
    • Calvin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Imagine your in a position where your life is flashing in front of your eyes.......That is the feeling I had when my husband and i found out that if he were to be convicted of the charges that he had against him he would be facing 15 to 25 yrs in prison which to most is a lifetime. In a position like that you need to have a lawyer behind you who you know has your best at heart. Initial contact with Mr.edwards was welcoming and comforting I left his office knowing that if I had to put my husbands life in someones hands it would be his without a doubt! To make this long story short My husband was facing federal prison time if convicted of his charges. Calvin put in a motion to suppress and WON! The charges had to be dismissed and now my husband is a free man. I cant put into words how thankful I am and how much appreciate everything he has done for my family.
    IF YOU NEED A CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY WHO IS GOING TO FIGHT FOR YOU AS HARD AS YOU WOULD FIGHT FOR YOURSELF I RECOMMEND MR.EDWARDS without hesitation!

  2. Excellent Defense Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Calvin Edwards.
    • I hired Calvin 6-12 months ago.
    • Calvin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My initial contact with Mr. Calvin A. Edwards, Jr. was one on skepticism. But once Mr. Edwards, Jr. combed through my allegations and proposed the best solution/s on my behalf, I’m delighted and truly thankful he argued my case. Through his clear, precise and effective legal expertise, I'm now left with a sentencing decision which I can live with.
    Looking back in retrospect, I realize that the disposition of my case could have been more desirable if I had solely depended on Mr. Edwards, litigation knowledge. I was looking at a lifelong prison sentence with no chance of parole, but again, thanks to Mr. Calvin A. Edwards, Jr. my sleepless nights are less common now. I would highly recommend Mr. Edwards to potential clients. He was and is a Great Lawyer! D.M.B.

  3. Knowledgeable, trustworthy and to the point

    Posted by a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Calvin Edwards.
    • I hired Calvin 1-3 years ago.
    • Calvin handled my White Collar Crime matter.

    Calvin Edwards Jr.is a lawyer that want you to listen and trust his skills as your attorney.He took a very high profile federal case that i was involved in and my out come wasn't looking the brightest.Once he came to visit me i was been held on an no bond situation. With in a month or so after receiving a percented of the $15000 that he was charging i was home with my family.And over the couse of this case he has work to get me from facing a sentence that can carry well over 6yrs. To a low sentence even a possibility of probation.So i would like to say if you have a friend or family member that need and a attorney or lawyer.How ever u would want to label him he will work with them and for them all they have to do is listen. And hold on to his coat tail and i am sure they will be happy as well. He kept me informed from our 1st visit tell the end weather in person by email or text.

  4. GOT ME NO PRISON TIME ON A FEDERAL DRUG CASE

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Calvin Edwards.
    • I hired Calvin 1-3 years ago.
    • Calvin handled my Federal Crime matter.

    I worked with Calvin Edwards for three years. My case begun in 2009 and I was sentenced in 2012. I was indicted on federal drug conspiracy. Calvin worked hard, he was consistent and I trusted every move he made. I paid him $20,000 and his service was well worth every dollar. He did not allow me to plea out to the mandatory minimum (10 years). Once Mr. Edwards presented going to trial to the prosecutor, I was offered a lesser charge that only holds a max of three years prison time. I was sentenced to three years probation. I will definitely recommend Mr. Edwards because his diligent work has me free with my children and I did not cooperate with the Federal Government to receive the sentence that I was given.

  5. HELPED US WHEN WE DID NOT HAVE ANY MONEY

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Calvin Edwards.
    • I hired Calvin more than 3 years ago.
    • Calvin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Cavin is a verygood attorney he put his cleints first. He took sons case even though we did not have the money at the time. He kept us informed and up to date about the case. He is kind and caring
    and will his best to represent you. He allowed us to pay him in installments never pressuring us.
    I know that he would not take money without earning it. Need a lawyer I recommend Calvin Edwards.

  6. Took money but didn't represent client

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Calvin Edwards.
    • I hired Calvin more than 3 years ago.
    • Calvin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My family paid him $5000.00 to represent our son and he never even filed any paperwork with the courts. He was referred by a family member so I trusted him and he took advantage of us. This happened in 2008 and everysince then he has been promising to pay the money back. I agreed because of his relationship with my family member. He has never given a dime back and our son still has the arrest hanging over his head all this time even though he has never been re-arrested since. Please beware of him because he is large in stature and can be very convincing and intimidating. Everything that was accomplished via the case I did.

  7. CALVIN A. EDWARDS JR. ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Calvin Edwards.
    • I hired Calvin more than 3 years ago.
    • Calvin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would not reccommend this attorney as he has taken $400.00 dollars from our family knowing that he was suspended. Had I not googled the correct name, Calvin instead of Kevin we would continued to be in the dark! We will be taking him to court as he has not returned our phone calls, text messages or emails!! Calvin stated that if we were'nt satisfied, he would return the money. After informing him of not needing his services he did not return our calls.We are still trying to get in touch with him today 3 February 2011.