Lauren Michelle Marks’s Reviews

Lauren Michelle Marks

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. My experience with Lauren Marks and Emkey Law Firm.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Lauren Marks.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Family matter.

    I hired Lauren Marks (Emkey Law Firm) in April 2013 for a custody case. She was my attorney for just over four months, from April 2013 until the conclusion of my case in late August 2013. In the short time attorney Marks was my attorney I went from being a father who enjoyed close to a 50/50 custody arrangement with my children, to an every-other-weekend father, despite having a very strong case. This outcome is not completely attorney Marks fault. However, her lackluster effort in my case certainly didn't help. For example, a brief due to the court on August 15th, 2013 was sent to me, as a first draft, at 9pm on August 13th. I had to spend the entire next day fixing the two dozen errors in the brief. Errors that included several examples of the mother and father being confused in the text, leading the reader to believe that my attorney was vouching for the mother, instead of the father.

    To make matters worse, she sued me less than two months after losing my custody case because I could not pay her the balance of my case (+$9,000), despite me making monthly payments and already paying $5,000 for her services.

    I do not like writing negative reviews but if I can prevent just one other person from getting into a situation like I am facing, then this review was worth it. An attorney shouldn't make their client feel that their money is more important than their case. That is how I felt after hiring Attorney Marks and Emkey Law Firm.

    1. Lauren Michelle Marks

      Lauren Marks

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Family Client,

      We at Emkey Law Firm pride ourselves on our integrity and professionalism. Anyone who has been through a custody case understands how emotionally draining and upsetting it can be. Clients at Emkey Law Firm are always made fully aware of the realities of their case. Some cases have a much more positive outcome than others. Unfortunately, Emkey Law Firm understands that that sometimes, when a client does not achieve their desired outcome on a case, despite being apprised of the realities of the situation, they lash out at others to make themselves feel better. It is easier to place the blame on the attorney rather than look at the factors the court considered.

      That being said, Emkey Law Firm and Attorney Marks have hundreds of fully satisfied customers.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  2. Attorney Lauren Michelle Marks

    Posted by Alice, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Marks.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    I have retained Attorney Marks for contract work, and have found her to be professional, accurate, timely, and excellent in the work that she delivered. Attorney Marks is a highly dependable and competent lawyer. She is pleasant to work with, dependable in the work product she delivers, and trustworthy. I would highly recommend Attorney Marks to anyone in need of an efficient, brilliant, and responsive lawyer.

  3. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Marks.

    Lauren Marks was extremely dedicated and professional. She always had our best interest in mind and was readily available. Her commitment and hard work did not go unnoticed. I would highly recommend Lauren Marks to anyone who is in need of a lawyer.

  4. Great lawyer!!

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Marks.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Lauren Marks is dedicated to helping her clients. She is a trustworthy attorney who puts her client first. I highly recommend Lauren!

  5. Lauren Marks worked wonders on my behalf.....

    Posted by Andre, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Lauren Marks.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lauren was a great part of my favorable outcome in a criminal case that I was fighting for the past 3 years. She was very attentive to detail, and always giving great advice when I needed it. If I ever need a great defense team again, I will be going to see Lauren and Dan without hesitation. Lauren Marks worked wonders on my behalf with Dan Emkey at Emkey Law Firm.

  6. Charges dismissed

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Marks.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I tried to handle my case by myself, but realized that I needed an attorney. After hiring Attorney Marks, my charges were dismissed. She believed me that I didn't commit any crime and fought hard for my case. She was very straight forward with me and made me feel more comfortable while it was all going on.

  7. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lauren Marks.
    • I hired Lauren 1-3 years ago.
    • Lauren handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lauren was wonderful! She really made me feel at ease. My ex-husband decided that he didn't want to pay child support anymore, so he filed for full custody of our daughter even though I have been raising her for her whole life. It was a terrible situation. Lauren always answered my calls and explained everything to me very thoroughly.