David S. Sobotka’s Reviews

David S. Sobotka

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Discretion lacking

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I’m a local, fairly well-know, and, hopefully, well-respected member of the business community. As you might imagine, given my standing in the community, it was desired that my divorce be handled with the utmost confidentiality and discretion. I conducted my research, spoke to several people whom I trusted and settled on Mr Sobotka. What a mistake. Soon after handing over a fairly substantial retainer, word got back to me that Mr. Sobotka was boasting to his fellow attorneys at a local watering hole of the “big client” he landed and the sizeable retainer he was able to wrangle from me. My personal situation was private no more.

  2. Divorce Case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Dave handled my divorce case beautifully. His professionalism and timely manner concerning important information was excellent. It was truly a relief not having to worry about the legal matters so I could concentrate on my family and personal life. It was definitely a stress free experience with Dave handling my legal issues. Thank you Dave, your the best. I would recommend you to all my friends and family.

  3. review

    Posted by Eva,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.

    First of all, let me say that I had Mr. Sobotka handle my son's estate. In a very difficult time, he took care of everything most efficiently and thoroughly.

    Secondly, I worked as Mr. Sobotka's paralegal for over 20 years. I can honestly and truthfully say that he gave every client his utmost skill and expertise. His first concern was to get his client the best possible result. His second concern was to do it in the most efficient manner. Any one who has had any dealings in the legal community knows that this is not always possible depending on your client, the opposing party,and, in particular, the opposing party's attorney. I have seen opposing party's and their attorneys fight over frying pans in divorce proceedings, and barrettes and haircuts in custody proceedings. Some people will not compromise and there is nothing for your attorney do in that case. I have never known Mr. Sobotka to ever prolong a case to obtain additional fees. He is way too busy to prolong a case in order to obtain fees. I always felt that he wanted to resolve the case in the best interest of the client in a most timely manner. I say this unequivocally.

    Occasionally, Mr. Sobotka would not get back to a client as soon as a client may think he should have. It was my experience that in the majority of cases, it was because he was in trial or was extraordinarily busy with depositions, etc. But he did respond as soon as he could.

    After reading some of these responses, I was absolutely astounded. I retired from Mr. Sobotka's service in June of 2013. And I can honestly and truthfully say that he was a conscientious attorney. He was extraordinarily knowledgeable and was always concerned with his clients' best interests . I never knew him to be inappropriate at any time with clients.

    Believe me - I know he wasn't perfect (coming from an employee's point of view), but I would never, ever hesitate to recommend him to anyone for divorce/custody/support or estate matters.

  4. Trustworthy and competent.

    Posted by James, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Estate Planning matter.

    I first needed an attorney for a DUI many years ago and was referred to Mr Sobotka by friends. He handled the case superbly at that time so I called upon his services later when going through a divorce. Once again he handled matters in a highly professional manner that resulted in a just and equitable settlement. I have used his services several times since then because he is trustworthy and very competent. I recently referred my son to him for a matter requiring special treatment and Mt Sobotka referred him to another lawyer with the appropriate expertise. My son's case also settled positively. I thank Mr Sobotka and highly recommend him to others needing expert legal services.

  5. Highly Reputable Attorney

    Posted by Angela, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    David Sobotka represented me in my DUI case. He made a very difficult time in my life manageable. I felt prepared and informed at every step in the ARD process. Mr. Sobotka answered all my questions and assisted with any concerns I had. He returned phone calls in a timely manner and was always professional. I would recommend him to any family and friends with legal concerns in Family Law; it is clear he has decades of knowledge and experience.

  6. Child Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    Dave was awesome, in helping me understand Child Custody, and Support
    I had been taking care of my child and was not married to her mother when her mother attempted a smear campaign and tried to extort me for more money than was allowed by the court.

    I would highly recommend him for any Child Custody case. He kept me informed, of evrything and in a timely fashion

  7. Knowledgeable, honest attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Sobotka.

    David Sobotka represented me in my divorce. He was very understanding of the stress that I was under during that difficult time but was always honest and kept me informed as to what was or could transpire throughout the divorce proceedings. He managed to finalize my divorce by corresponding with opposing counsel, never needing to spend any time in the court room. David did encourage me to pursue child support payments through the Domestic Relations system, but I did not take his advice. Eventually I did get my child support court ordered. Coincidentally, the support obligation that my "ex" was then court ordered to pay, was double the amount he had been paying me. It was too late to recoup the "lost" support money. I should have listened to Attorney Sobotka's advice initially as he always looks out for the best interest of his clients and their children.

  8. Great custody attorney!

    Posted by William, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    I'm a guy that had the worst possible scenario - I worked full time and my ex was a stay at home mom. After separation I got to see my kids only for six hours two days a week and no overnights, because that is what my ex decided was appropriate. My attorney at the time did nothing to help my case and in fact kept telling me that because of my situation the court likely won't give me any more time, and that I should accept the fact that I can't see my kids. Well after firing him and going through one more attorney that told me more or less the same thing, I wasn't about to give up. Mr Sobotka's name came up several times from different people and I decided to give him a try. And yes we were in court a lot, but I now have my kids 50% of the time and I couldn't say enough good things about Mr Sobotka. He was always professional, knowledgeable, always handled my concerns in a timely fashion, had a good reputation in court, and his prices were probably a quarter of my previous attorneys' prices. Not to mention that his results speak for themselves. I would recommend him to anyone needing a divorce/custody attorney.

  9. Do not use!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    The only reason he received an average review under the category of kept me informed is because his statements were on time every time and include a ridiculously high interest amount if you are late. The other reviews here are more or less on point. I wish I had read them sooner perhaps I would've been better informed and could have won my case.

  10. Not So Much

    Posted by Kim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend David Sobotka.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    It took me awhile to sit down to write this review. I had never gone through a divorce before so i didn't really know what to expect from an attorney. But after some time after the divorce was final, and after speaking with many other divorced women sharing our attorney experiences, I decided to write some thoughts with the hope that I can help another person who is in a stressful situation and doesn't know where to turn. In reading the other reviews for this attorney, I must say that I agree with most of them. Combine that with my own experiences and I've come to the conclusion that there are better attorneys out there.
    So here are my impressions of this guy:
    1) He thinks he's somewhat of a lady's man, bordering on inappropriate
    2) He likes to primp and preen, especially in the courtroom. Another woman described it as "thumping his chest"...sort of like a gorilla does to get attention. Perhaps he is overcompensating for "shortcomings" in other areas.
    3) In the courtroom, he'll say pretty much anything he has to say to win, even if it "stretches" the truth. Fine if that helps your side, but not so much if he's called on it, which he was on numerous occasions. It didn't help my case if my own attorney loses credibility in the courtroom.
    4) Never takes the shortcut if there's a long way around, meaning he'd rather make it complicated, thereby increasing his billable hours, rather than simply discuss a settlement with my ex and his attorney.
    5) He represents his own interests first, and then his client's (See #4)

    I recommend you talk to several attorneys, talk to other women who have used a divorce attorney, and do your best to find one who is willing to work FOR you, and not the other way around. Remember that they work for you so you should instruct them as to how you want to proceed and don't let your attorney drive the bus for you. Too bad I didn't take my own advice and, although we got through the divorce after nearly two years, I realize it could have been accomplished much, much sooner. The end result was that it cost me substantially more than it should have because of the antics pulled by this guy. Hope this helps. Good luck.