James V. Monaghan’s Reviews

James V. Monaghan

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Dawn chapter 7 client

    Posted by Dawn, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Jim was awesome! Very patient and kept me informed of everything that was going and what was going to happen. I would recommend him to anyone who needs lawyer services.

  2. GREAT ATTORNEY!

    Posted by Robert & Rebecca, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Mr. Monaghan handled our bankruptcy with the utmost professionalism and we would recommend him highly. He was always available and happy to help at anytime. Thank you!

  3. Mt Airy Learning Tree

    Posted by Kimberly, a Banking client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Banking matter.

    From the beginning Jim created a sense of calm over a situation that was intimidating for me; bankruptcy was scary. His vast experience and knowledge came through as he mapped out a plan and told me step by step what was expected of me during the entire process. He was prompt with phone calls and email and occasionally texts. He reduced my anxiety and constantly told me everything was going to be okay; something I needed. He smiled through our hearing and with confidence and a smile said, "yup, it was that easy". I highly recommend his services.

  4. Functional Excellence !!!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Monaghan handled our case without flaw from beginning to end, resulting in a favorable judgement. He and his office were a model of efficiency. Most impressive was the extremely quick manner in which I received a response to each and every inquiry along the way, providing me a comforting notion that my case was always on the radar.
    In my line of work I prefer a process driven approach to the task at hand. Mr. Monaghan's process was so well defined that I always felt we were under control and on the right course. When sound processes are teamed with a knowledgeable person executing them, more often than not you will realize success. In general terms, this 'functional excellence' guards against inefficiency, limits the chance of error and just makes it easier to coordinate the lawyer - client activity.

    Plain and simple......I would highly recommend Mr Monaghan.

  5. More than great: intelligent, conscientious, and understanding

    Posted by Jennifer, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have used Jim's legal services for over fifteen years. When I worked in corporate real estate, he handled landlord/tenant issues. Then moving on to residential real estate sales I have recommended him to clients who were very happy with his work for their transaction. I have referred friends to him because of his quick response and discretion. Additionally, one referral, a friend who is a NJ lawyer, continues to refer business Jim's way.

    But I must give him the highest praise for easing my hormonal insanity while I was pregnant and requesting wills and advance directives for my husband and myself!! I am happy to recommend Jim to clients, friends, and family.

  6. Trusted Advisor

    Posted by Nathan, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used (and continue to use) Jim's services for a custody issue. Jim uses a common sense approach to determine the best course of action in each situation. He is always attentive to my case and responsive to my questions, going above and beyond whenever necessary. I have referred Jim to many clients and friends over the years and I have received nothing but positive feedback. I feel fortunate to have Jim as a trusted advisor and friend.

  7. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Carin, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jim is currently working on a family law case for me, as well as taking care of my will. I trust Jim Monaghan, and I have full confidence that anyone I refer to him will be extremely happy working with him. I have referred him to my friends and family for personal injury and workers comp cases as well.

  8. Outstanding

    Posted by mary, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend this lawyer to anyone. Jim Monaghan is a remarkable combination of professional excellence and personal charm. He is patient with questions, responsive to phone calls, knowledgeable with the material and thorough in his explainations to the client. I particularly appreciate his straight forward attitude and upbeat personality. He is extremely trustworthy and competent without being overbearing or distant with his client. My case was settled quickly and much to my delight, very successfully.

  9. Great Attorney - Teaches His Clients

    Posted by a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jim has handled several cases for me and has not only been an Great Attorney but has been a great Teacher as well. Jim is always up to date and doesn't hesitate to answer my questions no matter how long it may take or how many times I may ask the same queston six different ways. He has not only won EVERY case he has fought on my behalf but he has taught me a great deal along the way.

    No Client could ask for a better Lawyer than Jim Monaghan!!

  10. My Worker's Compensation Case

    Posted by a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Monaghan.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jim was totally involved in my case and kept the case going even when I wanted to settle for less because he believed that the settlement would be worth more than I expected. It was! I can't imagine that you could find better representation for your disability case.