James S. Tupitza’s Reviews

James S. Tupitza

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Jim was born to be a lawyer

    Posted by Kate, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Tupitza.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    When I first contacted Jim, I was absolutely stressed out over what to do with a (litigious, opportunistic) tenant that was threatening to sue me for her own financial benefit. As the lawsuit materialized, Jim's experience, insight, and wisdom kept me calm throughout the process (not an easy task...). I do not often take the time to review people or products unless they are absolutely exceptional, but I feel that the guidance I received from Jim was so spot-on that I would be doing him a disservice by not letting others know how good his practice is. His work resulted in the case being settled with no payment on my behalf. Specifically, the negotiation that Jim held with the plaintiff's attorney was exceptionally well thought-out and showed not only years of experience but an incredibly cerebral approach that included an thorough understanding of not only the law but human behavior in general. My particular experience with Jim was in the area of landlord/tenant law, but this is the first place I would start if I ever needed a lawyer again.

    1. James S. Tupitza

      James S. Tupitza

      Lawyer Comment:

      I appreciate the comment. This was a mold claim. They are always troublesome because very large financial demands are made, expert witnesses are needed, and there is usually no insurance to cover defense costs or eventual damages.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  2. Embarrasingly ill prepared

    Posted by Irene, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Tupitza.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Based on the overwhelmingly good reviews on this web site, our family went forward with hiring Mr. Tupitza to represent our son in a small claims court case with his landlord in West Chester. I cannot express enough how ill prepared this attorney was when representing us in court. There were collectively 4 families who hired this attorney to represent their interests in court and it was such an embarrassing mess, that we immediately realized we would have been much better off representing ourselves. After meeting with the attorney once, we were never again in touch with him until the day we went to court. I would never work with this group again and I certainly would never recommend them to anyone needing attention to detail!

    1. James S. Tupitza

      James S. Tupitza

      Lawyer Comment:

      It distresses me that after 3 years someone would still be so angry that they would write this comment without first saying it to my face. On the other hand, I appreciate the criticism because it helps me improve the quality of services our firm provides. If everyone said only good things, I would be lulled into a false high opinion of myself.
      One of four college roommates hired my firm to deal with a routine Landlord Tenant problem. Not much money was involved and the legal budget was low. I met with the client and went over the case. I did not take the time to have the client come up a second or third time from Virginia to prepare because it would have only generated fees and benefited no one. When younger, I tried this same fact pattern a hundred times.
      I was adequately prepared for trial. The small claims court judge simply decided to ignore the technicalities of the law and find for a local landlord against college students who were accused of damaging an apartment.
      Obviously I did a bad job of communicating with the client's mother after trial, and she is still obviously not happy with the result. For that I am sorry. We have discussed this situation at a staff meeting and have taken steps to address the issue.
      Whether the trial is a LLT matter in small claims court, or a multi-million dollar trial in federal court, we prepare to go to trial and win. Unfortunately we do not bat 1000.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  3. Excellent Advice!

    Posted by crystal,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Tupitza.

    I needed advice regarding a judgement transfer, and James responded very quickly and with EXCELLENT advice. I followed every step he mentioned, and it has worked out perfectly for us! Thank you very much James!!

  4. Proven Performer

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Tupitza.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My partner and I have worked with Jim for years. We are in a field that is highly litigious; high risk and high reward. One of our best tools for success is a great lawyer. And boy we did find one. When trouble arises we call Jim immediately. From general legal advice to counsel in trial, his expertise is imperative and very evident. He is astounding. He is great trial lawyer, brilliant, amazing thinker…just basically our hero and part of our formula for success. We won’t do business without him.

  5. Knowledgeable and Easy to talk to

    Posted by Jeanne, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Tupitza.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Attorney Tupitza advised me on a fallen tree issue following the storm of June 2010. He gave good advice and was very nice to communicate with. I would recommend him .

  6. Thank You for your assistance

    Posted by Joe,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Tupitza.

    Mr. Tupitza was very informative and helpful to my Aunt. He has given her some hope for the first time in a while. Thank you or your help with this matter and I would definitely recommend him to anyone in need of legal assistance.

  7. Great guy and a good man, very helpful, with no obligation at all.

    Posted by dsil83, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Tupitza.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. James S. Tupitza answer a legal question about a landlord/tenant case. He was fast, informative, and overall very kind. He had no obligation to help nor did I pay him. But he still answer my legal questions and I very very very pleased with his service. I would definetly recommend this lawyer. If He helps people on here without paying him, then I am convinced he would be a honest and helpful attourney if were paying. Thanks again James, cant thank you enough.

  8. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Bruce, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Tupitza.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Great job of preparation and execution all the way from trail before jury (with victory) , to Superior Court (another victory) to the Pa Supreme Court (another victory)