Joshua Upin’s Reviews

Joshua Upin

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Joshua Upin

    Posted by gary, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua 6-12 months ago.
    • Joshua handled my Real Estate matter.

    We are working with Mr Upin on an appeal of our real estate taxes. He is very knowledgable and can explain the information in a clear and concise manner. In our meeting he was very professional and personable at the same time. I would definitely hire Mr. Upin again.

  2. Breaks all the attorney stereotypes - highly recommended!

    Posted by James, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua 6-12 months ago.
    • Joshua handled my Real Estate matter.

    Mr. Upin started my case with a thorough background investigation, both of the opposing party, and the facts of the case, to make sure we knew where we stood. He discussed possible strategies with me, and actually recommended against a full-blown lawsuit due to expense and time frame. He came up with alternate strategies for applying pressure without filing an actual lawsuit, and in the end, the other party (who did not have a leg to stand on, yet was full of bluster) caved in completely to our demands.

    During this process, Mr. Upin was very communicative and collaborative. Also, he erred so far on the side of disclosing possible conflicts of interest (his father happened to know one of the parties that was tangentially-related to the proceedings -- it wasn't even actually the opposing party, but Mr. Upin wanted to know if I was uncomfortable with his father knowing this person), that it was both comforting and amusing at the same time.

    Obviously, one would prefer to not have to deal with matters like this at all. But since sometimes you do, you couldn't really ask for a better outcome or process than I had with Mr. Upin. He is smart, knowledgeable, and honest both in trying to keep billing down, as well as all other ethical matters.

  3. Landlord/Tenant Suit

    Posted by Ruth, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Upin took the time to learn the facts behind the suit, was creative in seeking information to counter the claims, and was well prepared for the court appearance where he faced an unusually hostile attorney. His work resulted in a decision in my favor. Additionally, he was supportive personally.

  4. Reliable & Responsive

    Posted by Daniel, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Josh Upin has been a highly active and responsive lawyer for us. He was hired to take customers of ours to small claims court for heavily overdue accounts and successfully pursued all of the accounts. Throughout the whole process he kept us informed of each step and simplified the sometimes complicated legal terms and process for us to understand. When emailing and calling Josh he was very quick to respond. I would highly recommend him and will continue to use his services.

  5. Splendid

    Posted by Dan, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Josh examined a lease for a commercial property for us and helped us extensively revise it. He was extremely helpful, and did everything within a few days on almost no notice. He was very thorough in his explanations and helped us understand exactly why particular changes were being made. We'll be using him in the future for this type of work, as well as having him represent us at a zoning hearing.

  6. Josh Upin

    Posted by Paula, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Joshua Upin to help me read and interpret a lease for a business move. It's not a big case, but time was critical. Josh was quick and thorough. He explained everything to me in a clear and concise manner so that I was able to understand the small details often overlooked. He made me comfortable, and was very honest.

  7. Josh provided excellent service, but even better, extraordinary peace of mind.

    Posted by Jessica, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband and I selected Joshua Upin as our real estate attorney for the attorney review process on the purchase of our new home. From our initial phone call through settlement, Josh was involved, responsive and shared his excellent knowledge freely. We had extraordinary peace of mind knowing he was in our corner, ensuring our best interests.

    I went into this process intimidated as this was my first home purchase, and did not know what to expect. Josh has a wonderful way of explaining things in layman's terms. He immediately made me feel at ease with the process and explained what I should expect and what his role would be. He eased my worries completely.

    Josh negotiated the terms of our contract (estate sale) with all involved parties professionally and efficiently. He provided me with updates, when necessary, otherwise he spared me any unnecessary back and forth, which I greatly appreciated. After a very successful attorney review period, Josh remained involved reviewing additional documents as they came through, such as the survey, and ensuring we had every thing we needed for a flawless closing.

    Throughout the entire process I felt comfortable knowing that Josh was only a phone call away, and that he was continuously monitoring everything. He patiently listened to my questions/concerns and explained things in that wonderful way of his. In fact, Josh completely flipped my misconception of attorneys on its heels. Not only is he a highly skilled and knowledgeable attorney, but he is also patient, attentive and an excellent communicator. I highly recommend Joshua Upin.

  8. Serious and thorough

    Posted by Charles, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I've used Joshua a few times now. He is always well informed and extremely thorough, serious and very approachable.
    He is fair with his billing and a pleasure to work with.

  9. Help with Transfer of Deed on House

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Excellent job! Josh was efficient and effective. A pleasure to work with.

  10. thorough, honest and reliable

    Posted by tobie brown, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Upin.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted Joshua to look over our sales contract and title insurance documents. He got to work immediately! He is very straightforward and was able to explain things with ease- in a way that i was able to clearly understand. Moving forward with purchase of our home I feel confident and informed. And well assured that should anything come up in the future, I have a good honest lawyer on my side.
    i would recommend him heartily to anyone looking for a real and knowledgeable lawyer to represent them!