Thomas J. Petrelli Jr.’s Reviews

Thomas J. Petrelli Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Power Differential Issues

    Posted by Leigh,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Thomas Petrelli.

    The Good: Seems to have done a fine job with the paper work.

    The Bad: The website quoted a simple divorce for less than $1,000
    In the office, however, the quote was $3,750. In retrospect, that should have been my first clue to look elsewhere.

    The Ugly: My former husband and I are best friends just done with the marriage part of life. We split everything equally and this divorce was the easily the smoothest, calmest case the firm has ever handled. The total bill was over $7,500. I feel the power differential between client and provider was abused and will not recommend him to anyone. Had I known the final price I would not have chosen this firm.

  2. In the world of family law Tom will see you through.

    Posted by Richard,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Petrelli.

    I had been represented by several other lawyers in a family law matter and Tom was ultimately the one that was successful at getting things done. Tom was the one who I felt had my best interest at heart and who I could trust. I had used Tom initially and was talked into changing to a local county lawyer which turned out to be a huge mistake; I went back to Tom to seek a satisfactory conclusion to my divorce. There is no doubt here as to his competence.

  3. Best lawyer

    Posted by Anna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Petrelli.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Tom handled my case with the help of his associate Kristen from start to finish. I met with Tom and he thoughtful, interested and very matter of fact about what was going to happen in my case. And you know what? He was right. He has become my go to guy on all my issues now. You can trust in Tom and his firm.

  4. divorce

    Posted by Deb, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Petrelli.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Tom divorced me last spring and it went smoothly. He gave me great guidance throughout the process and managed my expectations.

  5. Great service, great legal team

    Posted by Diane, a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Petrelli.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Mediation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great advocate for my position. I would recommend to a friend. Rates were about what I expected. Wonderful legal team. Thank you Tom!

  6. Review of Lawyer Petrelli

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Petrelli.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    He handled my divorce. I think he did a great job. His office always answered my questions within a reasonable time. The fees were what I expected from my divorce. I would recommend if I knew someone else divorcing.

    "Hate the game, not the player."

  7. Thank you.

    Posted by Katya, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Petrelli.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tom was recommended to me by a friend who also used his services for his divorce.

    I need someone who could help me with my complicated divorce. My husband promised me he would suck me dry and it was very hard time for me. He gave my case and me a lot of attention whenever I need it. I am very thankful for all of his help and the successful outcome of my divorce.

    I'm so glad I chose him to represent me. He was extremely knowledgable and responsive even when I text him in my own mini crisis on the weekends. Very rare qualities in any service industry these days.

    Thank you.

  8. Would Recommend to Friends

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Thomas Petrelli.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    "Thomas Petrelli is a very good Family Court Lawyer. He provides you with all the possible decisions so you can make well-informed choices regarding your situation."

  9. Highly recommend using another divorce attorney.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Petrelli.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My recent experience with Tom Petrelli was extremely dissatisfying because my divorce case was placed on the back burner and was not a priority for him. Tom was not helpful or timely in providing divorce counsel. I highly recommend using a different attorney. His services were over-priced and non-value added.

    1. Thomas J. Petrelli Jr.

      Thomas Petrelli

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client did not pay their invoices after numerous requests while demanding legal services to be performed on their behalf. Additionally, the client berated the office staff on more than one occasion for not working on her case for free. On account of the aforementioned, we have had to fire the client and the client has taken to the web to disparage me personally.

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  10. Uncommonly Good for the Legal Profession

    Posted by Richard, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Petrelli.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My experience with Thomas Petrelli was uniquely positive; having had previous experience with Attorneys involving Divorce matters, his approach was informative, patient, and most of all knowledgeable. I found working with Tom made dealing with the issues much more tolerable in an environment which is never pleasant. I would highly recommend Tom to anyone who would ask.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

215-523-6900