Stuart A. Carpey’s Reviews

Stuart A. Carpey

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Free Policy Review with Mr. Carpey

    Posted by Gloria, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Mr. Carpey to be patient and helpful in that I will be able to save some money with my current car insurance company. We discussed my insurance needs so that I am able to go back to my insurance company and make some changes on my policy for better rates and to better protect myself. He was very insightful and I thank him very much for this free service he provides!

  2. Great Experience

    Posted by Ms. Denise Butcher, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To whom it may concern,
    This was in relation to an accident in which I fell at a store. Tiffany of his office was so very helpful in getting my money! I thank her and Stuart for all they have done for me. I would recommend this office to anybody.

  3. Great Experience with Mr. Carpey

    Posted by Veda A. Johnson, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This was a very good experience. I feel as if every possible measure was taken to make this an efficient process. I am very pleased with the relationship we have had.

  4. Appreciating A Skilled Attorney

    Posted by Donna M., a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stuart Carpey was hired by myself upon the recommendation of a friend who had been a client himself. I had suffered a personal injury and did not expect any return, as I was ignorant of the law at the time. To my delight the case was won in my favor and the settlement was much more than I anticipated. I have and will continue to recommend him as an attorney that I trust to get the job done.

  5. Fantastic personal injury lawyer

    Posted by Donna, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Stuart Carpey has been practicing as a personal injury attorney for over 25 years. His experience and expertise are superior. In addition to zealously representing all of his clients, he serves the legal community in many other capacities including pro bono work, mediator and court appointed pro tem judge. He has written numerous books on the subject which are available free of charge from his website. Stuart is a frequent blogger and interviews colleagues and other legal professionals on important current issues.

    I absolutely recommend Mr. Carpey to anyone who needs personal injury representation.

  6. Compassionate, Knowledgeable Attorney

    Posted by a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart 1-6 months ago.
    • Stuart handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have known Stuart for several years and as a paralegal myself, have come across many attorneys that I have gotten to know over the years.

    When my father unexpectedly suffered a cerebral hemorrhage and passed away after being an in-patient in a rehab facility, my mother and I were advised to look into things further.

    There was no questioning which attorney I would contact to discuss this matter with further and to determine whether we had a viable case. Stuart immediately took the time out of his busy day to speak with me and discuss all of my available options.

    Although I know several attorneys, I trust Stuart implicitly and know he stands by all of his work. He advises his clients realistically and professionally and never once gave me a false sense of hope in terms of pursuing a claim.

    It is without hesitation that I would refer Stuart to anyone who needed an attorney; no matter what the situation.

  7. Excellent Attorney. I Highly Recommend

    Posted by Nicole, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted Stuart Carpey after I suffered significant burns to my face the day before my wedding at a Med Spa. I wasn't sure if I had a case, and I wasn't sure I wanted to "sue" my spa - but after listening to my story (I had to hire a professional make up artist last minute that had the ability to conceal the burns for my wedding day and had to miss a lot of the activities my husband and I had planned on our honeymoon since I couldn't be in the sun-not to mention I had scars on my face that I had to see a Dermatologist for and undergo laser treatments and an entire treatment plan to correct my skin!) and sharing photos of my face - Stuart spent a lot of time with me explaining my options. I didn't want to appear spiteful and had a relationship with my spa, but Stuart handled everything from explaining how the process would work to advising me how to correspond with my spa as to not seem like I was bitter. I was so pleased how he handled the situation professionally and kept me informed. Each and every time I contacted him with a question he was VERY responsive and helped me with decisions regarding all of the procedures I needed in the aftermath to heal the scarring and what I should pay out of pocket, etc. He was on top of gathering my medical info from my Doctors and working with the Spa's insurance company throughout my recovery journey. Then, when it came time to settle, we discussed the pros and cons of a trial versus taking a settlement. While I felt strongly about a fair settlement, the insurance company offered me a low-ball settlement. I was shocked and offended. But I really didn't want to go to court to settle this and go through a trial. I just wanted my expenses covered and what I lost on my honeymoon. Stuart explained that is very typical of insurance companies and explained he would fight in court for what my case was worth or he would fight for a reasonable settlement. He again explained all of the pros and cons of each and I decided to let him negotiate a settlement. He did just that - and negotiated $11, 000 more than the original settlement offer! It was exactly the outcome I had hoped for! I couldn't be happier. The settlement covered all of my out of pocket expenses and more to ease the blow of not having the ideal honeymoon! From start to finish, I felt taken care of, informed and I didn't have to do anything at all. Stuart and/or his staff (who were all pleasant and helpful) handled everything better than I could have hoped for. I recommend Stuart Carpey 100%. Even if you're unsure if you need a lawyer-just Stuart Carpey a call. He is so very helpful and informative. You won't be sorry!

  8. Lazy

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • Stuart handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Never contacted me until he had a settlement offer from insurance co. Never advised as to how to quantify injuries or damages. Never negotiated with insurance company. Was content accepting low settlement offer.

    I was in auto accident that was clearly not my fault, back & neck injuries, and he settles for 10k. Every other lawyer said case was work at least 5x that amount. Very disappointing. My lost wages alone were more than that.

    1. Stuart A. Carpey

      Stuart A. Carpey

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry you had a bad experience with my firm. This matter does not sound familiar to me, but I do strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case.

      However, I must point out that only if the actual facts of the case are known can an objective assessment be made by anyone else, including the other lawyers who supposedly evaluated this person's case and said the case was worth "5x the amount of the settlement." Simply put, no attorney can properly evaluate a personal injury case without having a full picture of both liability and damages. In other words the file. In any case, a thorough analysis of the medical records must be done, with specific attention being paid to prior injuries and treatment, injuries or accidents that the client sustained close in time and prior to the case at issue, objective testing or lack thereof, and an evaluation of credibility of the client and other witnesses. So too in a car accident case, the actual physical damage of the vehicles is important. All of these issues and more will have to be weighed by the jury. As such, they are weighed by the insurance company with whom I am negotiating in any given case.

      It is inherently unfair for a review site like this one to post a negative review of a lawyer without proof that this was a) an actual client, and b) without the lawyer being able to spell out the actual facts of the case. Unfortunately, if this is an actual client leaving the review here, unless that client agrees to waive the confidentiality privilege, I cannot state the actual facts of the case, and the weaknesses of the case, which would then let all readers evaluate for themselves the true facts and problems of the case. So too, all of my clients receive my books and other materials, all available on my website as well, which spell out in specific detail the settlement negotiation process of the personal injury case and how personal injury cases are evaluated. These books include "The Pennsylvania Accident Victim's Guide To Settling Your Car Accident Case With The Insurance Company" and "The 10 Biggest Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Pennsylvania Accident Case." There are tons of videos on my website that also discuss these issues, and throughout the life of my clients' cases my clients are shown and encouraged to review these materials. Also, all of my clients sign a 2 page letter BEFORE ANY CASE IS SETTLED granting me permission to settle the case, or telling me to reject the settlement offer, telling me to try to seek a higher settlement offer or telling me to take the case to trial. I provide guidance to my clients and tell my clients whether I feel the settlement offer is likely to be increased, and/or what the chances are of getting more at trial. The ultimate decision of whether to accept or reject an offer is always the client's.

      I know that I cannot always please everyone, but I try to make sure my clients are at the very least well informed of the settlement and litigation process by providing the most useful information to injured individuals. If the information I provided to this reviewer was not useful, I would be more than curious to find out what else could be done! I invite the reviewer to contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns.

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  9. Consult With Stuart Carpey

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I spoke with Mr. Carpey about an auto accident I had this year and he was very informative. He taught me the difference between full and limited tort auto insurance policies and told me to always choose the full-tort option. He also taught me what and what not to do in an accident situation. Mr. Carpey is a very knowledgeable attorney and he made me feel like I was more than just a client.

  10. I LOVED his book! 10 Biggest Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Pennsylvania Accident Case

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Carpey.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I've read Mr. Carpey's "The 10 Biggest Mistakes That Can Wreck Your Pennsylvania Accident Case" and found it to be a great resource in guiding me through the personal injury process.

    Stuart, as well as everyone in his office, is very helpful and compassionate. Stuart himself is very knowledgeable and understanding. He works hard to fight for you and keep you informed.