Jeffrey Harlan Penneys’s Reviews

Jeffrey Harlan Penneys

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Dog Attack

    Posted by Ana/ Ron,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.

    Mr. Penneys is the best ever!!! Our puppy, Tuna, was brutally attacked by boxer at a dog daycare we used to put her in and almost died from it. The dog daycare, as well as the owners of the vicious canine refused to pay for the veterinary expenses, however the DEVOTED Mr. Penneys relentlessly engaged in our cause and helped us successfully obtain our monetary loss back.

    Thanks Mr. Penneys for all your effort!!!
    Ana/ Ron

  2. I Can't Recommend Him Highly Enough!!

    Posted by Laura, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My experience with Attorney Penneys was nothing short of fantastic.

    Before working with him, I had hired a local lawyer to represent me in this case thinking that I had chosen wisely. This other attorney paid no attention to my case, I could never get him on the phone, I had to make appointments even to talk to his assistant who was nothing but rude. The list goes on and on. Working with Penneys was the opposite.

    He was ALWAYS accessible to me and even if I had to leave a message or send an email, he ALWAYS replied to me and in the most timely manner. I usually heard from him within a few hours. My case was important to him, even though I was not local to Philadelphia. I never had to deal with an assistant, never had to make an appointment to talk with him. I needed to deal with most of this issue while traveling and he made that not only possible, but easy.

    He was clearly on my side and didn't just take the easy way out. He is not afraid to fight for you even when it means more work for him. My case ended up lasting much longer than I expected (more than a year longer), and he never lost interest.

    He kept the case on target, adhering to deadlines, dealing well with opposing counsel and all parties involved.

    It's hard to believe that I am saying this about a legal issue, but it actually was a very positive experience. I cannot recommend him highly enough.

  3. Jeffrey Harlan Penneys is your best choice if you've been attacked by a dog.

    Posted by Tom, a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Animal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jeffrey Penneys did an exceptional job representing my father in his recovery of damages for an attack by a dangerous dog. Highly knowledgeable and very personable. Look no further!

  4. Fantastic Experience with a Professional Truly Looking out for the Clients Best Interest

    Posted by Kristen, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I first began calling attorneys seeking advise on a case I wished to move forward on, I was turned away several times and had almost given into the idea that it was hopeless and not worth following through with. In a final attempt, I e-mailed Jeff Penneys some details of my situation; but expected the same response. To my surprise, Jeff responded almost immediately, with excitement and an instant action plan. He set me up with his investigator, who came to me personally (as I was injured and he thought it more comfortable to meet at my home.) The investigator was diligent, and upon him leaving explained to me the details of how we would move forward if I wanted to. I was not pushed, or coerced to enter into our agreement for Jeffrey Penneys to represent me in any way, and thought that the documents I was presented with were fair and reasonable. So there it began. Our client/attorney relationship started immediately after. Jeffrey took care of everything with regard to helping me seek out the best medical care we could find that would work with me, as I had no medical insurance at the time. The medical care I received was top notch, and Jeff kept in touch with me 100% during the process to see how things were progressing. Jeff was easily accessible, via phone, email or text to answer any questions I had, and responded to me swiftly. At a point where I did have some concerns, he invited me to his office for a face to face meeting so that we could discuss them together, and I left feeling up to date, and knowledgeable about my situation as much as possible for a person not of the legal profession. My case was against a local transportation authority. After some time researching and learning of cases similar to mine, I came to the understanding that it is not often, if at all, that a case such as mine would ever come to my favor. At one point, the transportation authority had submitted a motion to dismiss, and Jeff was honest with me that they had a good argument, and at this point, there were some concerns. However he remained dedicated to my case, and with all his research and hard, well though out work, gathered all of the required documentation and supporting evidence to have their motion of dismissal denied. We were very excited at this point, and continued to move forward. Not long after, the case was settled out of court. Not only was I happy with the settlement, but Jeff shared in my enthusiasm as if he were a close friend of mine! My case was a difficult one to win, and not only did Jeff Penneys win, but he did it honestly, with dignity and intelligence, and I couldn't have been happier with any other service. This experience has taught me to both never give up when told something isn't worth fighting for, and that if the right person is found to help you out, you can, and will succeed. Jeffrey Penneys is that right person. As I do not wish to ever have to deal with a personal injury claim again, I do know that I wouldn't consider hiring anyone else. He was a gem. Trustworthy, kind and completely successful.

  5. A good attorney

    Posted by Deanna, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Working with Jeffrey was a great experience. He handled my case very diligently. Great communication between him and I made the process go very quickly. Jeffrey is so easy to talk to and made sure that I was comfortable with any situation. I would recommend Jeffrey to anyone who has a personal injury claim. Thanks !!

  6. Outstanding attorney

    Posted by Thaddeus,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.

    Jeffrey's work is without question superior, and his attention to detail is spectacular. I would absolutely recommend him.

  7. Cannot say enough about Mr. Penneys

    Posted by Cherie, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My family found Mr. Penneys on the internet. We were desperately looking for an attorney who was willing to represent our 7 year old who ran out into the street between two parked cars and was struck by a truck. This was not an easy case, but somehow Mr. Penneys was able to State Farm to tender their policy. It was a long, difficult case, and we prevailed. I cannot thank you enough, Jeff.

  8. Stop and Read This

    Posted by Carnell, a Motorcycle Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Motorcycle Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted Jeff Penneys after a motorcycle accident in which I was seriously injured. He obtained the police report right away, and it was clearly not in my favor, which I was not surprised about. Because Mr. Penneys is a caring, compassionate lawyer who genuinely cared about me, he agreed to take the case on with the understanding that we would probably lose, but at least I would have my day in court. I wasn't looking for a jackpot, but I did think the other driver was at fault. Mr. Penneys did every single thing he could to try and win, but we ultimately lost. I am writing this testimonial because I want people to know that there are lawyers out there like Mr. Penneys that give me a good feeling about the legal profession.

  9. Excellent Philadelphia Trial Lawyer

    Posted by Erik, a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Animal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My family hired Jeff 2 years ago for a dog bite that happened to our 3 year old. Mr. Penneys could not have been a better choice. Not only did he know the law backwards and forwards, but he handled our case with the utmost respect and professionalism. He treated us like we were friends (and I do now consider him one), and was ALWAYS available for any questions or concerns we had throughout the case. We were impressed with his legal skills, especially at the depositions of the dog owners. He was friendly yet aggressive, and had obviously impressed the defense, as they settled right before trial. I HIGHLY recommend Mr. Penneys for ANY of your legal needs.

  10. Excellent attorney!!!

    Posted by Julie, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Penneys.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Penneys last year for a car accident case that was turned-down by 2 other attorneys. Mr. Penneys agreed to pursue the case, even though it was a very difficult one. He filed suit right away, and tracked - down a witness that never identified himself to the police. Mr. Penneys actually went to the neighborhood where the accident occured, and knocked on doors asking if anyone saw the accident. Miraculously, he located someone, and that person was the kew to the case. The insurance company's lawyer took this witness' deposition, and the case settled the next day. I cannot thank Mr. Penneys enough!