Theresa Ann Hartzell’s Reviews

Theresa Ann Hartzell

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very disappointed

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Theresa Hartzell.
    • I hired Theresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Theresa handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ms. Hartzell left everything for the last minute. At the 11th hour she asked for information that was provided to her sometimes 2 or 3 times before. She randomly returned calls and when she did, you spent more time refreshing her memory of past conversations. Her delays ultimately affected how we could proceed in litigation. Ms. Hartzell was very ill prepared for a custody trial and appeared she was over her head. It was evident that little preparation was done on her part. We would highly recommend not utilizing her for any legal proceedings. We were all very disappointed and have now retained another attorney.

  2. Great Family Law Attorney in DELCO!

    Posted by Mike, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Theresa Hartzell.
    • I hired Theresa 1-6 months ago.
    • Theresa handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Theresa has been my Attorney for 3 years. She has done an amazing job for me. She is very detail oriented and truly cares about her clients. Being a single dad hasn't always been easy, but I'm glad Theresa is in my corner.

  3. Definitely recommend

    Posted by Michele, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Theresa Hartzell.
    • I hired Theresa more than 3 years ago.
    • Theresa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My experience with Hartzell Law and Theresa and Mara, has been a wonderful one. Divorce is never an easy thing to go through, and there are always many questions to ask and problems to discuss. ANYTIME I called the office (which was a lot at times), I was always treated with respect, understanding and kindness. My questions/issues were handled promptly, and my case was handled with experience and professionalism. They were 100% involved and concerned until everything was settled, and they still are.

  4. Solid

    Posted by Jean, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Theresa Hartzell.
    • I hired Theresa more than 3 years ago.
    • Theresa handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It's never easy when you find yourself in a difficult situation that requires legal representation. It can really shake you & leave you reeling and disoriented-not knowing where to turn let alone how to navigate choppy legal waters. If you do your homework, like I did, you couldn't make a better choice to represent you than Theresa Hartzell. She is focused and compassionate. Her professionalism and expertise really put me at ease and gave me peace of mind. Having Theresa Hartzell represent me really helped put me on solid ground again to resolve this issue & put it behind me. I couldn't have done it without her AND I would use her again in a heartbeat. She's that good.

  5. The truth always prevails

    Posted by Proud Grandparents, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Theresa Hartzell.
    • I hired Theresa more than 3 years ago.
    • Theresa handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After the death of our Son and exhausted attempts to see our Grandchildren we contacted Theresa Hartzell. Right from the start Theresa was straight forward, professional and compassionate. It has not been an easy road, but even before the Judges ruling we knew were treated fairly and we were finally heard. Theresa believed in us, she believed in the truth, stood very strong in court and we all know that we did our very best. No one should ever have to go through anything like this in their lives, but if you do; tell the truth, it's easy and hire an attorney who believes in you and believes in the truth.
    I also have to commend Mara, Theresa's secretary/assistant; she is the best. Any time we've ever had to call the office she was always so pleasant, personal and professional. We are grateful to both.

  6. Straight Forward

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Theresa Hartzell.
    • I hired Theresa more than 3 years ago.
    • Theresa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Theresa Hartzell helped us with two matters, one of which was fairly complex. Her straight-forward explanations helped us understand the legal process from start to finish. We felt that we were always able to make informed decisions and that we got the results that were appropriate. Ms. Hartzell and her staff kept us well informed about future steps, so there were no unwelcome surprises. Visits to lawyer’s offices can be stressful, but the friendliness of Ms. Hartzell and her staff always put us at ease

  7. Communication concerns costs $$$$

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Theresa Hartzell.
    • I hired Theresa more than 3 years ago.
    • Theresa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hartzell does not deliver on all that she claims in her profile. She continued to accumulate costs fighting inaccurately and inappropriately. She does not remember conversations and consequently you end up spending more time and money re-explaining things to her, her firm made a huge error in communication with my ex's attorney which resulted in an emergency petition being filed and then attempted to charge me for the error. Since switching attorney's, I have saved more money and am being represented appropriately, fairly and quickly. I would not recommend her services to anyone...unless you are in a position to waste money and time.

  8. Highly Recommend!!!

    Posted by Chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Theresa Hartzell.
    • I hired Theresa more than 3 years ago.
    • Theresa handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The Law Office of Theresa Ann Hartzell was instrumental in my custody case. Attorney Hartzell and her secretary Mara were always there to answer any questions that I had and to guide me along the way. As a father seeking primary custody I knew I needed a strong attorney behind me and with Attorney Hartzell I got all that and more. Every road block the courts and opposing counsel threw at me, Attorney Hartzell was right there with a solution. My children and I are eternally grateful to Attorney Hartzell. Due to her diligence I was awarded primary physical custody of my three children. Thanks again for all your hard work!!