Back to Scott’s Profile

Scott has received 8 client reviews

A caring, smart bankruptcy attorney!

Posted by: Mindy, a Bankruptcy client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Scott Waterman

I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.

Scott handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Scott Waterman practically held my hand through my bankruptcy! It amazed me how he could take my massive pile of paperwork (bills, pay stubs, bank statements) and wave a magic wand and turn them into a complete, concise series of reports. He listened with a sympathetic ear as I explained all the twists and turns of life that brought me to that place. I'm sure he hears it every day, multiple times. But not once did I feel as if I was on a conveyor belt, or just another body in the chair. Scott went with me to court, and was very helpful in advising me what to say and not say. When all was said and done and my bankruptcy was discharged, one particular creditor continued to harass me. I contacted Scott and sent him the paperwork each time. Finally he asked if I would be willing to take this to court, since the creditor did not show up during the original bankruptcy hearing, and yet after being notified to cease and desist, they continued to send me threatening letters. I did not know this option was available to me until Scott pointed out to me that I was under the protection of the Federal Bankruptcy laws. He went to court with me and we won a judgment against this creditor. I'm so relieved that this part of my life is resolved, and now I can move on and take care of my family again.

Highly recommend Scott Waterman!

Posted by: Linda, a Chapter 7 client 9 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Scott Waterman

I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.

Scott handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

Scott was great from the start, very knowledgeable, thorough with the bankruptcy process. I was referred to Scott by a friend that had to experience bankruptcy like myself and am grateful for her referral. I went into the process nervous and uneasy about the outcome, and it was very smooth, not stressful, and a complete success. I would recommend Scott to anyone who has to go through a personal bankruptcy!

Review of Scott Waterman - Chap 7

Posted by: a Chapter 7 client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Scott Waterman

I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.

Scott handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

This was a difficult time for our family but Scott has a great deal of experience with bankruptcy and made the painful process a lot easier for us. He is very responsive to emails in fact most times he gets back to you within the hour. He has a very calm persona and he does make you feel that everything will be ok. I would highly recommend him.

The People's Voice

Posted by: a Chapter 13 client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Scott Waterman

I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.

Scott handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

I purchased my home (duplex) through an attorney back in the housing peak of 07. The attorney sold me the idea that he was "protecting me". A year later I found out that I over paid for my house by at least $50,000 and I never had a proper U&O done on my property. Needless to say, I bought a money pit and I was upside down. About a year ago, I asked that attorney about my options of bankruptcy and he said " bankruptcy is never a good idea for anyone". In 2008, I hired another attorney to help me evict a tenant who was not paying their rent and on heroin. Although that attorney did his job, he spent more time selling me on the idea that I should hire him as my rental manager to prevent my situation from happening again. Although he helped me evict my tenant for $1500, all he did is file a $90 piece of paper at the courthouse and show up to the hearing. I never re-couped my losses of over $4500 and when I told him I did not want him as my manager, he through an unprofessional hissy fit. In the past couple years, I dumped over $70,000 into my house to get it up to par and over $30,000 was borrowed. In 2012 I was laid off from work and quickly fell behind on bills and my credit went to the toilet. I put off taking care of it for about a year and consulted my first attorney who told me bankruptcy was a "bad idea". Inevitably, the time to do something about it was coming due and I hesitantly started looking for someone who could help me. My wife found Scott Waterman on the internet and we consulted with him. Although I knew nothing about him, except for his good reviews, I was happy with the way he conducted business. When we met with him, he was very professional and not judgemental to our situation at all. He didn't try to smooth talk us or even make promises. He explained our situation honestly, gave us options, and guided us. He was about business which was refreshing due to our previous experiences. He even told us he couldn't promise the outcome but felt very strongly he could get the job done as his past experiences have showed him. He is very knowledgeable of the system and how to protect you. This month the chapter 13 plan that Scott put together was approved by the court and we are on our way out of this crushing debt. In the end, Scott helped us knock $40,000 off of our mortgage plus interest. He also helped us knock out $30,000 worth of credit debt for a total of $70,000 plus long term interest. I feel like the weight of the world has been taken off my shoulders and I can breathe again. We are forever grateful. I would definitely hire Scott again and recommend him to anyone who can relate to my situation. Scott helped us fight back in a time where the people are constantly losing and the banks are constantly winning. He is the people's attorney.

Excellent Lawyer

Posted by: Joseph, a Chapter 11 client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Scott Waterman

I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.

Scott handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.

Scott is a professional in every way. He explained the bankruptcy process and its cost clearly and helped me take the right course of action. He returned all calls and emails promptly and handled all issues and concerns quickly. HIs knowledge of the bankruptcy system was beyond what I expected and I would highly recommend him.

Excellent Lawyer

Posted by: a Chapter 13 client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Scott Waterman

I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.

Scott handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

Scott was the most professional and helpful lawyer I have ever worked with. He made the process less stressful for us and handled every situation in a very timely and helpful way. He returned calls and emails as soon as possible. HIs knowledge of the system was beyond what I expected. He never made us feel ignorant about any questions or problems we had. Now that we have completed the process he is still there for us to answer any questions we have. I highly recommend him to anyone to use if they have to file any type of bankruptcy. He is also a very nice person and a lawyer that can be trusted.

Scott Water - A TRUE PROFESSIONAL

Posted by: a Chapter 13 client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Scott Waterman

I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.

Scott handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

I entered the Chapter-13 process with nothing short of uncertainty and embarrassment. I had been very successful for 40 years in business and then got caught up in the perfect storm - economy drop and real-estate collapse. After exhausting every credit option to keep my employees working, I hit the wall. We met with Scott and left with air back into our balloon. His knowledge, attitude and personal sensitivity was beyond what I had expected. During the tedious process, he was always available for discussions and provided solid advice. From the initial data gathering, review and plan development through the recent confirmation he was on top of everything. A REAL PRO

My review

Posted by: a Chapter 13 client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Fair
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Average
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Scott Waterman

I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.

Scott handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

My review after using this lawyer is: he got the job done but along the way his etiquette severely lacked. My first impression of him was high, however, after subsequent meetings and attempted contacts to him, my impression quickly faded. It was almost as if after securing him as my lawyer, all of his courtesies went out of the window. The few times I stopped by the office, he didn't even bother to close the door when discussing my personal affairs, even more so if one of his co-workers interrupted us. If I emailed him a question, his email response back was not even in professional tact and was very lazy, such as using lower case letters at the beginning of each sentence etc. When he addressed my personal debts, there was a certain arrogance in his tone when discussing specific companies I owed money to.