Timothy Matthew Barrouk’s Reviews

Timothy Matthew Barrouk

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Tim Barrouk

    Posted by Holly T, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy 6-12 months ago.
    • Timothy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    We have had a good experience with Tim Barrouk and Cathi Leigh McAdams.
    They have been very helpful and seem very concerned to help us through this terrible time. Tim answered all of my sons questions so he could make the best decision about his case.My son felt he got truthful answers to his, and my concerns. Cathi Leigh even came in the office on a Sunday to have some paperwork signed to make sure to meet deadlines. I really feel like they are taking care of us.

  2. Wasn't sure what to do

    Posted by Paul, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Timothy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My case was a difficult one. Second DUI charge in little over a year (yes I had a bad year). Tim handled my case with attention to detail and was extremely responsive. Tim answered my questions honestly and his team was very prompt with returning phone calls and emails. While my case is ongoing, I will say that I feel confident that I am in the best hands from the results I have seen thus far.

  3. Tim is a very good lawyer

    Posted by Mark L,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Timothy Barrouk.

    Tim did the best job I could hope for and got my DUI reduced to a lesser charged. In my job if the DUI stuck I would have been in trouble.

  4. Tim was amazing

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Timothy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My overall experience has been exactly as every review I have read about The McShane Firm. Very experienced knowledgeable staff, eager to take on what I thought was impossible. From initial consultation to the preliminary hearing, it has been an exceptional experience.

    Seeing Tim in action was jaw dropping and very incredible to see and knowing he was beside me, representing me, put me ease. Tim was amazing from start to finish and only looking out for my best interests which to me is everything.

  5. Huge waste of money

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Timothy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Tim to represent me in a minor criminal matter. I asked Tim during our consultation why I should hire him over other attorneys, including cheaper and more junior ones in his own office. He talked about his record, extensive experience and his aggressive approach in fighting on behalf of his clients. We discussed his fee schedule and while it was expensive compared to other attorneys in the area, it seemed acceptable based on the expectation of success Tim had set. After I agreed to hire Tim, I asked again about the strategy we'd employ and he reiterated that he'd fight aggressively on my behalf and was optimistic about our chances. He detailed some of the approaches he'd try and was very convincing.

    I arrived at the hearing to find that Tim had decided the best approach was to waive my hearing and apply for an alternative program available to all first time offenders (something I could have easily done without his help). My impression was that Tim had spent very little time preparing for my hearing and that his remarks about fighting aggressively on behalf of his clients was overstated at best. A few days later he provided the fee schedule to continue representing me and I was shocked to find not only was it significantly more than we'd discussed previously, it was also several times that of other attorneys, despite the fact that the remaining work was minimal and largely administrative. I contacted Tim to discuss this and he offered no apologies or even a sensible explanation. I notified him that I would no longer need his services. I estimate that Tim spent less than 5 hours on my case (less than 10 including the paralegal work involved) while charging several thousand dollars.

    To Tim's credit, he is responsive and generally returned my calls within 48 hours. He was also willing to spend time talking with me about my case and was not negligent - his firm forwarded administrative notices and he arrived at my hearing on time. In general, my impression is that Tim collected large fees and put very little effort into my case. I would not hire him again.

    I hired another attorney in the area at a fraction of the cost. My new attorney has so far been effective in representing me. He set reasonable expectations and has met them. I was disappointed when he identified out several opportunities Tim missed to handle the matter more judiciously and with less impact on me which are no longer available.

  6. Tim is the best DUI lawyer in the area

    Posted by Susan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy more than 3 years ago.
    • Timothy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Tim is an excellent lawyer and he was able to get my DUI charges reduced to a traffic ticket. I'm a school teacher so a DUI could have really effected my tenure. I'm glad I spent the money on hiring Tim.

    Way to go Tim. You are the BEST!

  7. Attorney Tim Barrouk got my "Theft by Mistake" charge dismissed!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy more than 3 years ago.
    • Timothy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    In June of 2010, I had found a gift card for Target, with no one's name on it, so I kept it and used it. Then in December of 2010, a cop questioned me about the gift card and then decided to press charges against me for "Theft of property-lost by mistake"- Needless to say, I thought that was the most ridiculous charge I had EVER heard of - and I knew if I didnt hire an attorney, that the court system would try to screw me over like they do to everyone without an attorney. I did some reasearch and decided to go with TheMcshaneFirm because I had heard great results from their firm. I hired Tim Barrouk, and I thought that maybe he would get me just a fine out of the whole thing, and he ended up getting all my charges dismissed at the preliminary hearing. I didnt even have to go back to the courtroom, I just sat in the waiting room, and he came out and told me "we.re good to go".
    He got all my charges dismissed, and he did a great job! I would definateley recommend him to anyone needing a criminal defense lawyer. He was awesome!!

  8. Might by good for DUI/Criminal but not for Divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy more than 3 years ago.
    • Timothy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been waiting for over a year now for my divorce. I am never informed of what is going on and never get a monthly or even quarterly bill from them to let me know how much of my money they are taking. It has been a year and I am no further along with this process than if I would have handled it myselt and I could've collected interest on my money instead of them.

  9. Theft Charges Reduced to Community Service

    Posted by Aaron, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy more than 3 years ago.
    • Timothy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My son and two other friends were arrested at the local shopping mall after they were caught trying to steal the latest Air Jordans. Considering that my son does not have a clean record we decided to hire a lawyer instead of opting for a public defender. My wife called a number of firms around the Harrisburg area and wasn't able to talk to a lawyer about our case. Attorney Barrouk called us back minutes after we called his office and setup an appointment for that same day.
    Even though it seems that this was a petty crime, Tim always treated us and our case with the utmost respect. He was able to reach an agreement with the prosecutor in which my son had to complete community service rather than some of the more serious options the prosecution was pushing for.
    Thanks Tim.

  10. Second DUI charges dismissed

    Posted by H, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Timothy Barrouk.
    • I hired Timothy more than 3 years ago.
    • Timothy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thanks to Tim Barrouk I was saved from jail and losing my license. I plead guilty to a DUI three years ago. This time I did my homework and found the best lawyer around: Tim Barrouk. He was able to get the breath tests thrown out because the machine was faulty. Without the tests, the police didn't really have anything against me and the judge threw out the case.