Andrew Jay Shubin

Andrew Jay Shubin

About Me 

My name is Andy Shubin and I have been practicing law in the State College area since 1991. I graduated college with a B.S. in History and Philosophy of Science from the University of Pittsburgh and attended Tel Aviv University. After graduation, I worked on Capitol Hill as a legislative aide for a West Los Angeles congressman. I clerked for the California State Court of Appeals and the Federal Public Defender’s office in San Francisco before graduation cum laude from Temple University School of Law in 1991.

I started my legal career as a public interest lawyer representing prisoners in civil rights actions. I then worked for a Philadelphia-based criminal defense and police misconduct, civil rights law firm. I began my law firm in State College in 1998, focusing on criminal defense, plaintiff‘s civil rights, constitutional and employment law. I represent clients before state and federal, trial and appellate courts throughout the state, regionally and nationally.

I have lectured extensively on criminal law and process, constitutional law, and civil rights. I regularly speak to student groups, including fraternities and sororities, and provide information and advice on police interactions and limiting criminal and civil exposure.

I remain active in the public interest law community and recently represented a prisoner in a First Amendment case before the United States Supreme Court. The Pennsylvania Bar Association awarded me their Pro Bono Attorney of the Year award.

I have been a member of the Central Pennsylvania chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union’s Board of Directors for over a decade, and provide pro bono in civil rights and criminal cases of interest and importance.  I am a member of the American Association for Justice (formerly known as the Association of Trial Lawyers of America ATLA), and am active within the Civil Rights, Employment, and Criminal Defense subcommittees. I am a member of the Pennsylvania Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (PACDL) and have served as a member of the Board of Directors for the Pennsylvania Prison Society, Mid Penn Legal Services, and the Women’s Resource Center.

I live in State College with my wife, three children and dog. I enjoy running, mountain biking and hiking in the beautiful mountains of Central Pennsylvania, and am a recreational marathon runner.

While I hope this Web site is a good introduction, I recognize nothing replaces a real conversation. I invite you to contact me to discuss your situation. The sooner you call, the sooner we can get you the help you need.