Robert Scott Donaldson’s Reviews

Robert Scott Donaldson

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fraudulent, Untrustworthy, and Irresponsible Law Firm. Do not hire

    Posted by ke yang, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired attorney Donaldson to represent me in the criminal court in Centre County. During our initial consultation, it appeared that he was very knowledgeable about my case, and was able to plan out defense strategies for my criminal charges. He told me what needed to be done to fight my case, as well as negotiate a more favorable plea agreement than my previous public defender. During my first free meeting with him, he asked to pay a fee of $2,500. I asked his secretary "kate" when I should pay and she responded that as soon as I pay my fees, they will promise to start working on the case. However, once my fees were collected, I had called in multiple times into the law office to inquire about my case with no legitimate responses. Kate was always telling me preposterous things such as "Attorney Donaldson has been working on your case, but he is too busy to return your calls" "We are not sure what Attorney Donaldson has been doing" "Attorney Donaldson discussed your case with someone, but we do not know what he did". I even wrote multiple emails directly to attorney Donaldson, but with no responses at all. When it was just a few days before the pretrial conference, I ran into one of is colleagues, Wayne Bradburn, informing me that he will be working on my case, and will be looking at the relevant facts of my case. And when I asked Kate what was happening, she told me that attorney Donaldson will not be attending my pretrial conference any more, and that attorney Bradburn will be replacing him. However, another person, called Marc Decker, showed up for my pretrial conference. Then I started asking Kate, & Bradburn: "How exactly is the case being handled". They both answered that "attorney Donaldson was only responsible for getting clients in, and someone else works on the case." I was so devastated at that point, knowing what they told me. We had to work out a plea agreement for the jury selection, but they were still pushing things back because they did not send anything to the DA's office for review just 2 days before jury selection, and we ended up with the same plea agreement as my public defender's. I also learned that the law firm had done absolutely nothing regarding my case until just a few days before the pretrial conference, either in terms of court preparation, or plea negotiations with the DA's office. Attorney Bradburn was telling me that there was a dichotomy between the fact that I hired them for zealous representation, and that I do not seem to have any trust in them. But if you are a sane person, you know whose fault it is, and who is to blame. Obviously they were, as attorney Donaldson charged an outstanding fee, and put no effort into my case, and they were procrastinating all the time.

  2. Review

    Posted by daniel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired attorney Donaldson to handle my criminal case at about 6-12 months ago. He was very nice to talk to only on the phone. But after I paid him a chunk of money, he never cared about my case. There were no emails, no telephone conversations, or virtually any forms of communication between me and him regarding by legal situation as soon as he received my fee. During this whole process, I was outsmarted by his staff members who continually told me that he had been working on my case in some means, but it was also obvious that they were telling me conflicting versions of what Attorney Donaldson had done. When the whole case was over, I asked their staff members to provide me a receipt showing the amount of work devoted to the case. It was made apparent from the receipt that attorney Donaldson had done absolutely nothing. There are much better attorneys out there, and attorney Donaldson is just disingenuous towards his clients, and offers no responsibility at all.

  3. asked for a big fee for representation, but never even cared about my case

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired attorney Donaldson to deal with my case. He asked me to pay a representation fee, and after that, he had never showed up to court to represent me. It's rather that the other attorneys in his company kept on taking turns to show up in court to represent me. After having paid him a big chunk of money (around several thousand dollars), I feel extremely disappointed that he never even answered my phone calls, responded to my emails, or even cared to discuss my case with me, except after the initial consultation. When I tried to contact his office, his staff kept on telling me that he is either busy or out of the office.

  4. Effective and Affordable

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.

    Mr. Donaldson has handled many cases for me over the last four years. He has given my family and I guidance during times that called for legal action. I have hired Robert Donaldson for many different reasons, some of which include, traffic court, an assault case, a drug case, and illegal possession of a firearm. In every circumstance Mr. Donaldson kept me informed and knowledgeable about the possible outcomes. Overall, I would say Mr. Donaldson's rates are affordable and he is a very effective lawyer.

  5. Responsive and effective service with excellent and timely advice.

    Posted by Sharree, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I contacted Mr Donaldson's office in regard to a criminal matter involving a family member. Mr Donaldson immediately responded to my query. He assumed the case, reviewed all the details and his expertise in the area of concern made a huge impact on the resulting outcome. Everything with regard to preliminary hearings, court dates and final trial issues were handled smoothly and professionally. I would HIGHLY recommend Mr Donaldson for any and all legal issues that you may need as he is well known and highly regarded in the local community.

  6. Attention to detail, concern for the client

    Posted by Jon, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my General Practice matter.

    Several things impress me in Attorney Donaldson's handling of my cases. His attention to detail and courtroom prep are stunning. He explains what details must be dealt with in order to make (or argue against) a case - and I appreciated that he took the time to present me with a short-course in law, understanding that my emotions won't win cases - facts will. He appears to have an ability to put himself in the jury box/judge's chair and find a point of law, or occasionally illustrate with visual aids, and plant an unforgettable seed that works for the client. It's said "only an attorney wins" in litigation, but I disagree. He forms a winning team that involves his staff and, especially, me.

  7. good driving record

    Posted by Susan, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Speeding & Traffic Ticket matter.

    While handling an emergency with my work, I was pulled over for a traffic violation. I depend heavily upon a good driving record for my work. Robert intervened and my case resulted in no points on my license. While I was initially very upset, he was able to calm me and showed me the upmost respect. The case was handled efficiently and information that I did not understand was defined very well. I am well pleased with the results and wholeheartedly recommend this attorney.

  8. Responsive, Knowledgeable and Trustworthy lawyer and firm

    Posted by Kimberly, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Attorney Donaldson is very reliable and always there to answer and explain any issues you are experiencing night or day. Explains every detail and steps that you will bring going thru in your case.

  9. Results of traffic citation = A+

    Posted by Donna, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Donaldson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Speeding & Traffic Ticket matter.

    Highly recommend this attorney for any and all traffic citation issues. He assisted my son with a last-minute hearing & we were so pleased with the results