Michael Steven Sherman’s Reviews

Michael Steven Sherman

Average Rating

Based on 32 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Saved my CDL

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.

    Hired Mike for a 1st dui offense. I would have lost my CDL if I had been convicted and ultimately lost my job. As the breadwinner for my family this was very scary. I previously hired another lawyer who had advised me to take ARD and told me I would not be able to beat the dui charge. I decided to have Mike represent me as my case progressed through the system, and it was the best decision I could have made. Mike was able to not only able to overturn the Dui charge, but also made it so I walked away with a clean criminal record. I walk away from my hearing with a fine and probation.

  2. Michael fought and won!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When my husband was charged with a 3rd tier DUI last year, needless to say, we were in complete turmoil. My husband's work requires him to maintain a CDL and the notion of losing it and potentially his job was overwhelming. Everything he had worked so long and hard for was at risk. I made appointments with several lawyers and started researching as much as I could on each of them. Michael's credentials were so impressive he stood apart from all the rest, and frankly, I was ready to hire him before the interview. Our meeting with Michael came last and there was no comparison. The other lawyers advised us that ARD and sacrificing the CDL was the best option while Michael immediately started reviewing the police report looking for ways to defend my husband. We were so impressed with his strategy and the way he proceeded to pick apart the details of the arrest...he wanted to fight and we felt confident we had found the right attorney!
    I am thrilled to say Michael resolved the case with no DUI charge at all! Michael's expertise in DUI defense coupled with his professionalism is why my husband is free of this nightmare.

  3. well done sir!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Sherman came highly recommended to me by a couple of people. He discussed my case with me thoroughly, he gave me the best advice he could, and was very personal as well as professional. When it came to deliver in court room he brought out all the points we discussed and more. His motions, fact finding, and case sightings were outstanding. I felt prepared for what I was facing and like I had a friend representing me. Thanks Mike!

  4. best dui attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike is extremely knowledgeable. I was facing some serious charges related to my dui and he was able to get most of them dropped or reduced. I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome of my trail.

  5. My third DUI charge within ten years.

    Posted by Patrick, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was facing my third DUI charge within ten years. My third charge was at the lowest end of the scale from a breath analyzer. I watched the machine fail in front of me twice. I had a case here I wanted to fight. My previous lawyer was one who always wanted to plea. I hired Mike and he was a god send for me. He proved to me to be cutting edge knowledge for DUI cases. Mike steered me in the right direction.. Mike hired Jimmie L. Valentine for an expert. Mr. Valentine's findings on reviewing my case were very impressive. In the end the prosecution did reduce my charges to just traffic tickets. Without Mike's expertise I do not think my case would have turned out for my favor so well. Mike is a super nice guy. You give him a chance his knowledge will prove well for you!

  6. The best decision I made

    Posted by Andrew, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was facing my third DUI and a year in state prison. My future was looking very bleak. However, unlike the contemptible attorneys I've hired in the past who simply take your money and plea you out, Attorney Mike Sherman, and attorney Nick, challenged the prosecutions evidence against me. With the added help of an expert witness, Mike had my penalties reduced to time served (I did 21 days of inpatient rehab at Greenbriar) and 6 months probation. I couldn't have asked for a better outcome. Funny story, Mike even had the police officer who arrested me saying he would hire Mike if he was ever in trouble. Without a doubt it was difficult going through this near 2 year long process, but Mike kept me informed every step of the way, which helped put me at ease. I would not hesitate to recommend Mike to anyone going through a similar experience. Hands down, hiring Mike was the best decision I could have made.

  7. A Very Knowledgeable and Resourceful Firm

    Posted by Joseph, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After I got my DUI I interviewed quite a few lawyers and Mr. Sherman stood out just from talking to him. During the court proceedings he was extremely knowledgeable and quick on his feet. During the deliberations he and Nick were well researched and constantly prepared. In the end the judge dismissed the case due solely to their arguments, in what was an unlikely case.

  8. Reliable and Effective

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    Attorney Sherman and his office promptly returned my messages, answered my questions, and responded to all my concerns. Sherman law helped me to achieve a better result than I expected.

  9. Excellent criminal attorney!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    Mr. Sherman is a highly talented and down to earth attorney. He was pivotal to my husband's DUI case. We were scared and didn't know the legal process. Mr. Sherman explained the details we needed to know and guided us through each step of the case in a non-judgmental manner. I hope we never have another issue. But, if we do, he is the only one I would hire. I have also recommended him to others who were very satisfied with his services, too.

  10. Amazing Assistance with Third DUI Offense

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Sherman.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    Absolutely phenomenal lawyer. He was hired to assist with a third DUI offense and helped SEVERELY lower the punishment associated with the case. I was looking at potential jail time and the risk of losing my job. He helped to ensure that wouldn't happen by striking a bargain that reduced the sentence from a potential year in jail to six months of house arrest.

    He was extremely knowledgeable on the subject matter, and kept me updated the entire way through. I cannot recommend Mike Sherman enough!

Call now for a free consultation.

412-471-5000