Lawrence A. Newman’s Reviews

Lawrence A. Newman

Average Rating

Based on 115 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Steph, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-6 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Newman had already handled an awful speeding ticket for me a year ago, and having found myself in the embarrassing and highly stressful situation of another moving violation, I was so relieved to have him again to turn to. In both situations, Mr. Newman was very friendly, knowledgeable, comforting, and refreshingly direct about his capabilities and the facts at hand. He himself picks up his phone, no secretary or any third party (other than his voicemail) needed to reach him. He responds very quickly to both calls and e-mail, and after just one meeting, took everything off my hands and within a week spoke to the judge and sorted out my situation very neatly.

    Even if he hadn't been able to soften the blow of my verdicts as well and quickly as he had, I would still give him this rating, because he is ethical and compassionate on top of being quite capable. Upon meeting with me, he evaluated my character well enough to be willing to convey to the judge that I am not a reckless person, despite my traffic history. It meant a lot to me that he went to the extent he did, when he could easily have been like other impersonal lawyers I have dealt with, who only want to know the bare bones and are too willing to usher you out the door without getting your full story. He never acts as though he is rushed to go anywhere when meeting, and was conversational enough to put me quite at ease. As I have since last year, I highly recommend Mr. Newman to anyone in need of an exceptional traffic attorney.

  2. The best.

    Posted by Erik, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 6-12 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When it comes to something as important as your privilege to drive in NYS, trust someone who knows, studies, dedicates, and has passion about the job they do in their respected field. L Newman proved to me at every step of my case that he knew exactly what moves to make and why. Although he can not promise you an outcome, I can promise you that there is no better choice for a license related matter than Larry.

  3. Very kind, compassionate lawyer, did an amazing job on traffic citation!

    Posted by Anika, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-6 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Larry worked on my out of state speeding citation. I would never have thought to have contacted a lawyer so was extremely pleased and surprised to see just how much he was able to help me out! It is easy to underestimate the consequences of traffic infractions so I highly recommend contacting him before taking any steps with your citation etc. He contacted me even while on holiday and took the time and effort to make sure my fine was reduced by a significantly huge amount. I am forever grateful.

  4. Strongly recommend to anyone facing a DWI

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.

    I had an incident last year resulting in DWI and attempted assault charges. I contacted Larry Newman the day after the incident and he got back to me the same day. Though my case was complicated by some previous alcohol abuse issues, Larry told me exactly what I needed to do (counseling, etc.) and I followed his advice throughout. Though it was a long process, his immense knowledge of DWI cases was instrumental in a favorable conditional discharge sentencing when I could have easily been facing probation. I would strongly recommend him to anyone facing a DWI charge.

  5. Exceptional support and guidance provided. Knows the legal process. Best outcome received.

    Posted by Bob, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-6 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Larry Newman did an excellent job helping my son out of a potentially life changing DWI and traffic accident charge. He kept my son informed throughout the process. He knows the laws and how to work the legal process. The best possible outcome was achieved. No permanent record and charges were reduced. His fee is reasonable as the level of care and support provided was exceptional. No calls, messages or emails went without a response for any period of time. He got to know my son and did his best to present him in a positive light to the DA, Judge and others reviewing his case. Lowest possible fines were assessed and suspension was also minimal.

    I would highly recommend Lawrence Newman for any legal matters within the Ithaca area. He is ethical, honest to a fault and compassionate. You will not be unhappy with him as your legal council.

  6. Literally, a life saver

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 6-12 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My 'incident' did not have much legal implication (in NY the charge is the equivalent of a speeding ticket), but it had profound implications when considering I am on federal student loans and a graduate student. Worst case scenario was that I would have to start paying back loans immediately and could potentially have to leave school which I had already invested over $100k into. I began searching the net for issues with this charge and FAFSA and Larry's website came up and had the exact information I was looking for. This happened on a Saturday, I called Larry that Sunday and HE picked up. Not a machine, not even a weekend secretary, he did. I'll spare the details, but we had a written agreement in place by Monday and by Wednesday he had a deal with the local DA that reduced the charge to a Disorderly Conduct which effectively secured my loans and education. He even got the speeding ticket that started this whole thing reduced to a non-moving violation! The longest waiting period was just for the paperwork to come through. He actually could have had the whole thing cleared from my record, but it would have taken 6 months and I didn't want and wonder about who could find out in that time period. He's a good man, a good lawyer and actually wants to help you. His fair prices are evidence of that. If you're reading this and you're in a bind, he's going to get you the best possible outcome. Call him now.

  7. highly recommend

    Posted by Maura, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-6 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Newman returned my calls within the hour even on weekends. He was matter of fact. He told me immediately what his goals were and delivered on them. Because of him my daughter will not have a criminal record. (She borrowed a family members car and found out the cars Registration was suspended when she was pulled over for a broken headlight) Mr. Newman handled everything outside the court.

  8. What a difference a good lawyer makes!

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 6-12 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Larry is not just a good attorney; he’s an outstanding one. Let me share some proof points that allow me to make this claim with complete confidence.
    1. Dealing with the DMV, regardless of State, is a lot like herding cats while walking in quicksand. The harder you try, the more you fail. But Larry ‘gets’ the DMV. He can speak their code, decipher their opaque procedures and stumbling blocks, cut through red tape and bureaucratic crap, and tenaciously bring a case to resolution.
    2. In a world of confusion, doublespeak and being put on hold for hours at a time, Larry is a breathe of fresh air. He returns calls promptly, sheds light on the issues and is dedicated to being helpful and informative.
    3. Stuff happens and happens fast when Larry gets his teeth into a problem. After over a year of making zero progress and dishing our thousands of $s to a hotshot New York lawyer, Larry resolved my problems in a matter of months.
    4. And all this at a reasonable cost. When I consider what I have paid others for zero or marginal results, Larry provides excellent value for money.
    All in all count yourself lucky if Larry agrees to represent you. You will have one of the very best in your corner!

  9. Dwi to ai

    Posted by Shan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 6-12 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Given my situation I got the best deal I can get from Dr. Newman, best guy to go to in Ithaca. Can reach him anytime and he will be straight with you from the beginning.

  10. Prompt, Clear, and Courteous

    Posted by a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lawrence Newman.
    • I hired Lawrence 1-6 months ago.
    • Lawrence handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Newman was excellent to work with. He was able to lift my aggravated unlicensed operation (3rd) and remove any points from my license promptly with the information that I provided him with. He was very good at translating legal documents to more digestible terms, and kept me in the loop regarding the state of my case/his negotiation at all stages. As far as negative situations go, this was a remarkably pleasant one to have gone through with the help of Mr. Newman's council.