Susan Marie Betzjitomir’s Reviews

Susan Marie Betzjitomir

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Not detail oriented, not responsive...

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Betzjitomir.

    I was a client of Ms. Betzjitomir. She failed to be responsive, keep me up to date on my case, return original documentation that I submitted to her &/or her staff, did not answer my inquires or show proof of services rendered regarding my bill. Work on my case was not completed thoroughly and in the timeframe agreed upon.

  2. Unethical, Unresponsive, Sarcastic, Not Detail Oriented

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Betzjitomir.

    The purpose of me writing this review is to save other people the unfortunate behavior that I received from this lawyer & her staff.
    I terminated services & submitted a grievance to the Grievance Committee regarding Susan Betzjitomer’s unethical behavior regarding my case, due to their lack of response. She did not uphold the Code of Professional Responsibility as an attorney. She & her staff (Karen & Pam) would not always explain nor show proof of services rendered, when I had an inquiry. Ms. Betzjitomer is unprofessional, unpleasant, not detail oriented, does not follow up, tardy in completing work, rude, sarcastic, treats you disrespectfully & had no concern for my case.
    Thirty days went by before I finally received a response regarding a document that was supposed to have been completed weeks ago. This is just one example of why my case was delayed.
    They were negligent in not including important information in some of my legal documents, especially, when we had literally just discussed them.
    They did not take the least expensive path, though indicated in their retainer. The paralegal should have done all the documentation, not the lawyer, who charges a higher rate. When I inquired, I received no response.
    When I first became her client, everything was fine. Toward the middle & end, she & her staff became unresponsive. They did not return my phone calls. When they did respond, they would not fully answer my questions, therefore, having to ask over & over which they charged me for. I felt they had no concern for my case, therefore, not putting any effort into it.
    I have more examples of Ms. Betzjitomer & her staff’s incompetence & hope this is enough to inform people not to use her services.

  3. Great Representation

    Posted by Christopher F., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Betzjitomir.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Susan is a incrediable lawyer. She is stern and does not take any bs from anyone if you are facing criminal charges Susan is informed and efficent. I will not use any other attorney. Susan thank you for all you do and the second chance to be a father to my kids on the outside.

  4. Do Not Go to Court Without Susan BetzJitomir--Aggressive, Thorough, Competent, and Honest Representation

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Susan Betzjitomir.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are looking for a touchy-feely attorney who is going to tell you what you want to hear, this attorney is not for you. If you are looking for an honest, professional, and aggressive attorney who will tell you what you need to know, however uncomfortable, and fight with passion, confidence, and skill, then this is who you want. Susan is incredibly compassionate--don't let her no-nonsense demeanor fool you. You hire her to do a job and she does it 110%. She cares about her clients' time, money, and outcome of the case, and will not waste your time on frivolities. She is not shy about charging for services--why should she be, when this is her business?--but has numerous times counseled me to pursue something myself, telling me exactly how to do it, and saying she'd be happy to do it for me and charge me but if I can do certain things on my own and save the money it's better for my pocketbook. She is articulate and thorough in explaining the law and how the legal system works. Many times Susan explained why something I thought was important really was not, and what I needed to "let go" of and where I needed to focus my energies, not just for my case, but for living my life normally and with as little stress as possible while my case was/is pending. She and her staff have supported and coached me every step of the way through my divorce and now current court action, patiently answering my numerous questions, advising me on what I need to do and telling me how to so it, and keeping me constantly informed. Her staff is patient answering questions (and I have had dozens), and are also competent, respectful, and hard working. Susan encourages working with her staff on basic questions and paperwork, both to 1)save money, as their hourly rate is much less than Susan's hourly rate, and Susan truly wants to maximize services for what you spend, and 2) to free Susan up on concentrate and work with you on the major important legal matters. The efficiency of her office is amazing, yet her staff is warm and friendly. I have also met and spoken with her parter, Terry Baxter, on a few occasions, and he is friendly but direct as well, and also demonstrated he is knowledgeable and aggressive as well. I would not consider going into court without her.

  5. Very good lawyer and a real go-getter!

    Posted by Carol, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Betzjitomir.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Susan and her staff are VERY knowledgeable and did everything they could to take me through my divorce as easily as possible. She was very competent and was a real go-getter in the courtroom. She and her staff were very good at keeping me informed of any changes in the situation, and if I had any questions or concerns, they were always able to answer my questions, or explain to me the process at hand. Susan was highly recommended to me by someone else who had her for their divorce, and I am very glad that I chose her. Susan always explained things to me, and if something wasn't in my best interest, she would tell me so, and would give me other options that might be better for me. She explained to me that in my case, I could pursue things further, but in the long run, I would not be any further ahead, and would probably end up having to pay out more money than I would have gained, and I appreciated her frankness and honesty in a situation where an attorney with less morals and scruples could have just taken my money and kept the divorce going. I highly recommend her to anyone who needs to hire an attorney----especially for a divorce situation.

  6. Incompetent and poor communication skill

    Posted by a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Betzjitomir.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having her as a lawyer has been a nightmare. I was very innocent before taking her as my attorney. After dealing with Ms. Betzjitomir for 6 to 12 months, I start to realize what a terrible attorney she was. Of the many instances of incompetence, the most stand out was she spent a total of 3-5 mins (that is minutes) in a private room in the court to "prepare me" before I take the stand in front of the jury. The 3-5 mins was all she ever talked to me regarding the preparation for my case. She did not beforehand prepared me to take the stand. Her example just tell you that just because you have an Ivy Leage education will make you a good lawyer or even just an average one.

  7. misinformed by Susan

    Posted by misinformed, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Betzjitomir.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would not recommend Susan to anyone. Susan's law firm was very unprofessional and unresponsive to my needs. She was always unavailable and very rarely returned phones calls. We were not informed of all aspects of the case to make a intelligent informed decision. She did not even sit with her client in court on occasions. We were told one thing and when the plea deal was done my family member was behind bars for 1 to 3 years, instead of what she said would happen. This is the same result as if there was no plea bargain. If we had to do all over again we would take our chances and go to trial ALONE.

  8. She's a good attorney!

    Posted by Owen B. Elko, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Susan Betzjitomir.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Susan is a good attorney! although I believe in my case she allowed political oversite, to cloud her judgement, at a time when promotions where at the end of the tunnel for many in the Steuben county legal system!
    And though she did allow, the obvious too be ignored, as a diffinitive means to defend my case, she doe'se know her legal ins and outs!!
    You need a good attorney here she is! Just be sure that Its not promotions time in Steuben county !

  9. A very Good Lawyer

    Posted by Milta, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Betzjitomir.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    yes I would recommend this lawyer is the best I have ever work with, She don't pull and bone about anything. And she does not take any bull. And that is what I like about her.

  10. Her ego comes above ethics and her client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Betzjitomir.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My experience was one I wish I could forget. I had contracted her to handle my divorce and found that she was uninformed, unprepared, uninterested in representing my interests over my wife's. I had repeated on numerous occasions I would report her to the bar association if I felt she was not giving my case her full attention even after I paid $4,000 up front. She couldn't even deliver the court documents to the opposing attorney by the court required date. She and her staff which she has little communication and control over were more concerned about murder cases and criminal actions. She and her staff openly discussed other clients in the presence of myself and others.
    To quote Ms. BetzJitomer "...this isn't Perry Mason...documents have to be submitted in a timely fashion with no surprises..."

    1. Susan Marie Betzjitomir

      Susan Betzjitomir

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is Susan. I believe that I know who this commenatator is. Her accusations are untrue. There were a total of 5 attorney's so far in her case, none were any good according to her, and she tells similar untrue tales about each, and has tried unsuceesfully to sue another for malpractice and to legally dispute my fee, a dispute she lost as I did the job for her that i was hired to do, and her threats to slander me do not intimidate me. I charged a reasonable rate for my services. .Perhaps had she followed any one of her attorney's advice things would have gone better for her.

      Posted almost 6 years ago. Flag