Michael David Schmitt’s Reviews

Michael David Schmitt

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I highly recommend Michael

    Posted by Amber, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    Michael is the very best. He works hard, makes sure you understand everything along the way, he is professional, he listens to every concern, very timely on responding to your questions, and fights for what is truly a win in your case. He is everything you can ask for in an attorney. I can't say Thank You enough for all you did for us. We had truly lost hope of ever winning any of the cases until you came and gave us a clean sweep. You restored in us that there can be fairness with the correct person on your side. I will forever recommend you to anyone needing an attorney that will work hard to for there clients. Thank you again for all your hard work and for making such an amazing attorney affordable to anyone. You earned 5 stars from us. We are team Michael Schmitt. Also a Thank You to Steve for making sure information was sent and received as well. This firm will get the job done.

  2. family court is a dog and pony show for lawyers to get rich.

    Posted by Robert, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    What happened to me in court with Mike Schmitt by my side would have happened if I went at it alone, the end result was I was tied to child support enforcement and was ordered to pay back child support. First off, the girl had been alienating me from the baby since his birth, he was 5 by the time we were in court, I had paid this woman money each week without knowledge that he was my son. The opposing lawyer and her client blatantly lied and said I never paid any child support, I had receipts sitting on the table for everyone to review. Mike hardly said a word, The magistrate said it was illegal for her to look at my receipts, (would someone please tell me where this written) and so the lie that I never paid stayed. Mike and opposing lawyer were too friendly in hallway as they discussed how much more money I was going to send this woman for a child she had been alienating me from, this woman has been pregnant 4 times by 4 different men. Mike misplaced my money order for a $1000 and found it in the bottom of is yellow envelope, opposing lawyer said, "Making that much money that you don't know where you put your money" I am being hung out to dry and they are being friendly about how much money they are making. I paid $2000 to be tied to child support enforcement and to pay back child support. I could have received that on my own. I went the custody case alone, I was granted 6 hours on Saturday, seems like the money the woman gets is more important than the quality of time the child gets with the father. This woman pulled the 6 hours of visiting time that was written in the court order out from under me and violates the court order, and till this day is still violating this court order. I am frustrated to no end of how well this scam works. In my humble opinion, I think the lawyers are all friends with one another and also friends with the judges, but they put on a dog and pony show in court, the end result is they make $200 plus an hour. When someone such as myself proves I was paying money and three grown adults (Magistrate, opposing lawyer, Mike Schmitt) play this game that those receipts don't count, and then there is a blatant lie that no money was ever paid, plus the woman does not want me near the child because she set me up so she could be a mother all to herself, something is seriously wrong with the system. There is no way I could possibly win or get justice. This was a lose lose proposition for me and continues to be a lose lose proposition. But the girl and the two lawyers made out very well. My 11 year old son struggles in life because he is fatherless, but the opposing lawyer sees this as a victory because she makes $200 an hour to keep good Dads out of the children's lives. Mike you owe me a phone call and explain to me what went wrong? where is this law written that this Magistrate would lose her job if she saw I was a stand up Dad, I even offered the girl a ring on the night she said she was pregnant. I feel I am owed something.

  3. Not Very Nice.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    • I do not recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Contacted the office for an inquiry related to my case. He was extremely rude!! Wanted to know if I'd need legal counsel or what my options were. After a very brief conversation if I were looking to hire an attorney for my case (which I'm still unclear if I need) It would not be this guy!

  4. Amazing Attorney

    Posted by Maria, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike Schmitt is great! Very knowledgeable and reliable. Responds quickly to emails and text and the payment plan is very nice! Would highly recommend Mike Schmitt in any child custody case! Great attorney

  5. 5 stars!!

    Posted by Brian,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schmitt.

    Mike Schmitt is very knowledgeable, has reasonable fees and payment plans, and was able to resolve my issues quickly and achieved the results I was looking for. Highly recommended!

  6. Highly recommend!

    Posted by kelly, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    I highly recommend attorney Michael Schmitt. Michael made my family court experience so stress free and he informed me with everything that was going on. He is very knowledgeable and knows right from wrong. He fights for you and stands up for you at all times. He always responds to my emails and is punctual for every court appearance. I will continue to use Michael for all my legal needs!

  7. Completely Satisfied

    Posted by dan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

    I recently needed a lawyer for a criminal court case and i had the pleasure of working with Michael Schmitt. He was very knowledgeable with information pertaining to my case. He was courteous, prompt and treated me with respectful. He truly cared about my cases outcome and I would highly recommend Michael Schmitt to anyone looking for a lawyer. I was very pleased with the outcome of my case and very grateful for his assistance. With out having Michael Schmitt i could have ruined my future, however with his help he put me on the right track and for that i am very thankful. The entire time Michael Schmitt kept me informed with what was going on and never made a decision with out my consent.

  8. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Heidi, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.

    Mr. Schmitt is very reliable and knowledgeable in Family Court in which we obtained him for!!! Mr. Schmitt was up front and honest with us, and was also charged us reasonable price. What he set out to do for us resulted in all that we were looking for and then some!! We had many questions during this process and he always found time to answer our calls and e-mails, if any questions or concerns come up now he still answers them !! Mr. Schmitt is excellent at what he does and takes it all to a personal level I highly recommend him!

  9. Michael David Schmitt

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.

    Michael represented me in a family court action. His services and responses to my questions timely and professional. I appreciated Michael's empathy towards my financial circumstances and willingness to work with me on a viable payment plan.

  10. 5 Stars All Day Long

    Posted by Lindsay, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schmitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    My divorce was finalized in December 2012. It, as you can imagine was a very rough time for me and my children. Mike was truly amazing throughout the whole process. Not only did he take care of us professionally, but during the course of the divorce, I lost my 16 year old son to a very rare form of Meningitis and Mike came to my house and called me numerous times to check on me and my daughter. Mike went far beyond the call of duty for us and it will never be forgotten. Mike fought hard for me and my children and we got great results. I thank God everyday for placing Mike in our lives. Not only is Mike a great Attorney, he is one of the finest people I know with the highest of moral values.

585-232-1770