Matthew L. Kolken’s Reviews

Matthew L. Kolken

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Married 28 years. Mr. Kolken saved our family unity.

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Kolken Is honest, up front, and does what he says he will do. My wife of 28 years was facing deportation for having multiple convictions of moral turpitude. She took responsibility for her actions and has since turned her life around. Mr. Kolken and his team researched the facts and guided us through the proceedings. I honestly believe It was his knowledge that won the case for us. Our family will be forever in his debt.

  2. Good people, good strategy, got me out of trouble where others failed.

    Posted by Alex, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Kolken and his staff helped me get back in the US after a two year battle where hi profile attorneys in Toronto have failed. I am a Canadian with overstay and deportation in my record. I wish I would have known about Kolken & Kolken long time ago, it would have saved me money and precious time away form my family. Matthew Kolken took my case where others told me that I have no chances. They seem to specialize in complicated cases of deportation, parole, denial of entry and this kind of matters. While the fight is not over yet, I am in the US now and finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I was impressed with the level of integrity and responsibility I encountered there. I was imagining that only a miracle can take me out of the trouble I was in, and was afraid that saying the truth about my overstay will get me in more trouble. Honesty and repentance actually got me out of trouble but I would have never made this choice if it wasn't for Mr Matthew Kolken's professional advise. A true American Patriot who not only helped me with my case but also set a good moral example for me to follow.
    Thank you Sir!

  3. Very knowledgeable and helpful immigration attorney

    Posted by Kevin, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Matthew was extremely helpful through my immigration process. Regardless of what occurred he always had multiple plans for the next step even though our case was very complicated. Yet it all worked out. Very knowledgeable, experienced, and patient throughout the experience. I would recommend him to my friends and family.

  4. Matthew Kolken Review

    Posted by Yael, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Kolken represented me and my family in immigration proceeding. He did an excellent job in preparing my family and I for the proceeding, informed us of what to be expected, helped tie in our case, and was very confident, articulated, and assertive during the hearing.
    I would therefore highly recommend him, as he won our case and followed through the entire process with us.

  5. Very satisifed

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Matthew and his father have, over the course of around 3.5 years, helped us turn an almost hopeless removal proceeding into a what now appears to be an open path to a green card for my partner. The case is still in progress, but we are optimistic. We are also grateful for their support and expertise. Although we have sometimes been a bit confused about what exactly was happening, the staff at the firm has done a good job of helping us out. We definitely made the right decision in going to Kolken and Kolken.

  6. The Best Immigration Attorney

    Posted by Ber, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    I was applying for a TN1 visa as a Canadian and Matthew was the perfect attorney who made the process look very easy. The appointment was at 8am and Matthew was there right on the clock.

    I recommend anyone who has an immigration matter in the United States to call Matthew L. Kolken.

  7. Kolken & Kolken the Dream Team

    Posted by Miguel Silva, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Mr. Kolken got my attention in the first 10 minutes of conversation, he is very knowledgeable of his practice and go straight to the point without sugar coating your chances of winning the case. When I was almost forced to leave the USA, he gave me the confidence and we started to build the strategy right away since the very first meeting. He foretold me what would happen in the first hearing with the judge and, tailored to my size, it happened so accurately as I was told that it gave me the strength I needed to keep going. I didn't have to do a single talking or paper work for Mr. Kolken had my authorization and trust of acting on my behalf. He made sure that no errors were delaying the process and that every step we took was crystal clear. He not only stopped the deportation but also get me the permission to apply for adjustment of status. Today I am a proud permanent resident, legally admitted into this wonderful country thanks to this humble yet professional human being who happen to be an amazing lawyer.

  8. The best from the best!!!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    I would absolutely recommend Matthew Kolken to those who seek immigration help. I can only rate him as an excellent lawyer. You will be pleased with his professionalism and knowledge of the law. I was happy that he took my case as a battered spouse of LPR. He handled it so well and we got my I-360 approved. Going to apply for my green card now.
    Thank you Matthew!!!

  9. 2013 immigration case won!!

    Posted by Kyle, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Matt was an excellent choice for my immigration case. He made me me fell very comfortable because of his superior knowledge and diligent work ethics. We also won our case!

  10. Phenomenal Attorney Matthew L Kolken

    Posted by Ciriam, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Matthew Kolken indeed has demonstrated to be a professional attorney. He has made miracles happen in our current case due to his great professionalism and immediate reactions. He has been honest in all he says and kept us informed at all times. We would not change our attorney, he is a great example of what an attorney should be like. Our case is very complicated and we knew that before meeting with him in our initial meeting but he has been the only attorney that is capable of taking a challenge and doing what is in his powers to keep my family united her in the US. Thank you Matthew for representing the father of my two kids. I know how difficult our case is but we know how capable you are. I know my family and relatives will always be thankful for all you have done.

716-854-1541