Matthew L. Kolken’s Reviews

Matthew L. Kolken

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very knowledgeable and helpful immigration attorney

    Posted by Kevin, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Matthew was extremely helpful through my immigration process. Regardless of what occurred he always had multiple plans for the next step even though our case was very complicated. Yet it all worked out. Very knowledgeable, experienced, and patient throughout the experience. I would recommend him to my friends and family.

  2. Matthew Kolken Review

    Posted by Yael, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Kolken represented me and my family in immigration proceeding. He did an excellent job in preparing my family and I for the proceeding, informed us of what to be expected, helped tie in our case, and was very confident, articulated, and assertive during the hearing.
    I would therefore highly recommend him, as he won our case and followed through the entire process with us.

  3. Very satisifed

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Matthew and his father have, over the course of around 3.5 years, helped us turn an almost hopeless removal proceeding into a what now appears to be an open path to a green card for my partner. The case is still in progress, but we are optimistic. We are also grateful for their support and expertise. Although we have sometimes been a bit confused about what exactly was happening, the staff at the firm has done a good job of helping us out. We definitely made the right decision in going to Kolken and Kolken.

  4. The Best Immigration Attorney

    Posted by Ber, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    I was applying for a TN1 visa as a Canadian and Matthew was the perfect attorney who made the process look very easy. The appointment was at 8am and Matthew was there right on the clock.

    I recommend anyone who has an immigration matter in the United States to call Matthew L. Kolken.

  5. Kolken & Kolken the Dream Team

    Posted by Miguel Silva, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Mr. Kolken got my attention in the first 10 minutes of conversation, he is very knowledgeable of his practice and go straight to the point without sugar coating your chances of winning the case. When I was almost forced to leave the USA, he gave me the confidence and we started to build the strategy right away since the very first meeting. He foretold me what would happen in the first hearing with the judge and, tailored to my size, it happened so accurately as I was told that it gave me the strength I needed to keep going. I didn't have to do a single talking or paper work for Mr. Kolken had my authorization and trust of acting on my behalf. He made sure that no errors were delaying the process and that every step we took was crystal clear. He not only stopped the deportation but also get me the permission to apply for adjustment of status. Today I am a proud permanent resident, legally admitted into this wonderful country thanks to this humble yet professional human being who happen to be an amazing lawyer.

  6. The best from the best!!!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    I would absolutely recommend Matthew Kolken to those who seek immigration help. I can only rate him as an excellent lawyer. You will be pleased with his professionalism and knowledge of the law. I was happy that he took my case as a battered spouse of LPR. He handled it so well and we got my I-360 approved. Going to apply for my green card now.
    Thank you Matthew!!!

  7. 2013 immigration case won!!

    Posted by Kyle, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Matt was an excellent choice for my immigration case. He made me me fell very comfortable because of his superior knowledge and diligent work ethics. We also won our case!

  8. Phenomenal Attorney Matthew L Kolken

    Posted by Ciriam, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Matthew Kolken indeed has demonstrated to be a professional attorney. He has made miracles happen in our current case due to his great professionalism and immediate reactions. He has been honest in all he says and kept us informed at all times. We would not change our attorney, he is a great example of what an attorney should be like. Our case is very complicated and we knew that before meeting with him in our initial meeting but he has been the only attorney that is capable of taking a challenge and doing what is in his powers to keep my family united her in the US. Thank you Matthew for representing the father of my two kids. I know how difficult our case is but we know how capable you are. I know my family and relatives will always be thankful for all you have done.

  9. The quickest, easiest and most professional permanent residence appeal I have ever been through.

    Posted by Sender, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Last year in June my family and I where told by our previous attorney that we have an interview scheduled in the US Montreal/Canada embassy. We were told that this interview was simply a formality and that once we go through the interview we would be approved for permanent resident status in the US. This was obviously very important to us considering we where already living in the US. The interview went fine and the officer informed us that the interview is over at which point he told my wife and kids they can leave and that I need to stay and wait for the paperwork. I stood there for about a minute and when the officer came back he said that he was trying to change our status and the system wouldn’t let him because of an infraction I had while crossing the boarded more then 4 years before the interview (I had a incident where I left Canada with more then the allowed $10,000 in cash and did not declare it. Obviously it was a foolish oversight on my behalf but by no mean was it intentional.) This was what stopped the interviewing agent from changing my statues from L1A to permanent resident. I left the embassy with nothing other then an apology for dragging my whole family and me all the way to Montreal. When I left I called my attorney and she did her best to try to figure out how to deal with this. After about 2 months of attempting to find a way to handle my case she told me that it would be best if I contact her friend and attorney Matthew Lindsay Kolken (who specializes in difficult cases). As you can tell I am a super obsessive-compulsive type A so talking to attorneys can become very difficult.
    During our first conversation Matthew explained the process to me and reassured me that he will do his best. Unlike most lawyers he did not make outlandish promises he simply stated the facts and gave me his suggestion as to what he thinks I should do. I obviously took his advice and with the help of his assistant (who did most of the work on my behalf) proceeded to fill out a new application. The application was submitted on May 16th 2013 as an internal application from the state I am living in. After that my family and I went to a biometrics appointment in July and waited for an interview date to arrive by mail. The interview letter never came… instead on August 29th I got a very pleasant phone call from Matthew and his assistant letting me know that USCIS granted us permanent residence status and gave me and my whole family green cards WITHOUT AN INTERVIEW (needles to say this never ever happens). To simply say that we are happy would be the understatement of the year!!! Matthew is an educated, knowledgeable diligent and honest attorney and I would recommend him to everyone. One more thing I forgot to mention is that I paid him in full when I retained him (he did not ask for it, I offered – I wanted him to rush the case) usually that doesn’t end well and the party performing the service always asks for more money, but not in this case. In fact they did the job and did not ask for one extra dollar!

  10. For a great end to a big problem, call Matthew Kolken!

    Posted by Sandra, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kolken.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    It took a while for things to come together but Matthew achieved the desired outcome. I have now crossed the border successfully for the first time since 2009.

716-854-1541