Robert A. Cohen’s Reviews

Robert A. Cohen

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. He has heart but his strategy, knowledge and seriousness makes him great at playing hard ball when he has to

    Posted by joanne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Cohen.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Bob Cohen was my divorce attorney after a 28 year marriage. When I went to him I was petrified about something so foreign to me and mostly choosing the right attorney. The death of a marriage whether it was good or bad is so painful and the development overwhelming. Do your homework in choosing your lawyer but with the utmost sincerity I feel by choosing Bob you will be in such good hands. Once we got started I felt protected and at ease having him in my corner. He knows his field and he knows people, he will not sugar coat things but will really look at all angles and will consult with you about all the specifics to get the best end results. He has heart but his strategy, knowledge and seriousness makes him great at playing hard ball when he has to. Just on a side note a lot of emotions make people seek revenge or maybe the opposite feel like they want to give it all up and as a result it ends up costing you more pain and money. If you do choose Bob he will be fair with you and not drag things on but you really have to hear his advice on what he feels he can accomplish and what the ramifications will be. If you become a team you will find that his forthrightness will make the unfortunate experience manageable. Even at the end my x conceded and respected his defense. He is simply one of the best. Good Luck

  2. Attorney Review

    Posted by Louis, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Cohen.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have worked with Mr. Cohen as a financial expert and have found him to be extremely knowledgeable as it relates to financial matters. In those instances where we have gone to trial, he is well prepared and an extreme advocate for his client. As an expert with the experience of over 100 trials, I would much rather be on his side than against him!

  3. Professional, direct, and a good guide for your legal issues

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Cohen.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Bob picked up my case after my previous attorney dropped way too many balls. Bob picked up the pieces, developed a strategy, and helped me understand where my ex-husband was coming from on key issues so we knew how to counteract. He was realistic with me, but relentless on key issues and his staff was responsive, professional, and helpful.

  4. Strong Recommendation

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Cohen.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.

    Bob is excellent. He is intelligent, savvy, professional, attentive and most importantly, he tells it like it is. I am so glad I hired him every single day. Every time I have to walk into court or handle an issue, I have complete confidence in his advice. Bob knows what he's doing at all times - and dealing with the unexpected seems to be a specialty of his. I cannot recommend him highly enough. He is brilliant.

  5. Grateful Client

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Cohen.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.

    I have known Bob for 5 years. He has helped me with divorce, custody and child support expertly and is versed in other areas as well. He is a zealous advocate who will work hard for you and your children. He does not give up even against the toughest odds. If there is anything he doesn't know he will learn whatever it is for your case. He will answer your e-mails and your phone calls and tell you what your options are. He will be honest and up-front with you even though it might be painful. He is a scholar, an outstanding attorney and a very caring human being . Those traits are not always easy to find in one attorney. Don't pass him up or you might find him across the table as your adversary and that will not be a comfortable seat for you.

  6. Poor representation

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Cohen.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Was not prepare .did not return,calls neglected to inform alternatives prolong the case unnecessarly .stay away

    1. Robert A. Cohen

      Robert A. Cohen

      Lawyer Comment:

      I pride myself on returning calls and e mails, preparing for everything and trying to resolve matters as quickly as possible. I have received Martindale-Hubbell's highest AV rating and selected by the New York times Super Lawyer publication from 2008-2013.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

    2. Patricia Issberner

      Patricia Issberner

      Lawyer Comment:

      I agree Bob is an outstanding attorney and I can't imagine these negative comments. Sometimes people simply have sour grapes and don't like their outcomes and take it out on their attorneys . Both the Bench and the Bar know Bob is one if not the BEST matrimonial attorney in Suffolk County.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Continued Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Cohen.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Bob Cohen is smart, savvy and goes the extra mile for his clients. When you call him he will call you back. He is professional, well spoken and very intelligent. He takes the time to check the most current cases to ensure you receive the best advice no matter what area of law. He has patience and for an attorney that's rare. He explains what the process is no matter what process you are involved in. He can handle anything. Trust Bob.

  8. Bob Cohen

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Cohen.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bob Cohen is a leader in his area of law. He's bright, result driven, fair yet a shark and great to work with! I would and have recommended him to others in need of a top notch and compassionate attorney.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

631-587-5100