Robert James Delcol’s Reviews

Robert James Delcol

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Bob DelCol, the most competant trial lawyer I have ever seen

    Posted by Gary, a Constitutional client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Constitutional matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. DelCol for a "criminal" charge in Nassau Family Court. A charge my ex wife brought against me. Although the charge was bogus, I filed two motions pro se to get the OP and charges dismissed and even went the appellate court in Brooklyn. I was denied by all. I hired Mr. DelCol two weeks before the trial. He understood the case immediately and took it on for a reasonable fee. I went to trial yesterday. Mr. DeCol did a great job! The Judge had her mind made up that she would find ne guilty and I was planning on appealing. Bob made such a good case and more importantly, something rare in Long Island lawyers, did not allow the Judge to bully him, and believe me, she tried very hard. Bobs confidence made me feel comfortable. His off the cuff knowledge of the law is unparalleled. I was offered a "plea bargain". Most lawyers would tell me to take it but not Bob, he said lets go to trial and if we loose, we will win in the appeal court. If you are considering hiring Bob and you want to speak to me directly to get more info, I am so thankful for what he did, I will post my cell number.

  2. If you want to win, you NEED Del Col !

    Posted by Scott, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Robert was reccommended to me when I was at the end of my rope with the custody battle for my son. I had been through 3 attorneys prior to Robert who did not have the knowledge required to handle my very complicated case. Del Col immediately knew what actions to take to make progress, even coming in late in the game and gave me hope which I hadn't had for over a year. One of the sharpest legal minds here on Long Island, his knowledge and experience is evident from the first moment you meet him. He is a "ready for battle" absolute shark in court! For the first time my ex wife's attorney knew he was out lawyered! He is a genuine guy with a heart of gold and truly cares about his clients lives and children. I now have sole legal custody of my son all thanks to Robert!

  3. Robert Del Col goes to war for you

    Posted by kristin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Robert was reccommended to me when I was desperate for justice for my son and his safety. After 2 other family/divorce attorneys that were both highly rated in NY by all different publications I got the results that my son deserved from Robert. If you want your hand held (meaning you need a therapist) he isn't your guy if you want someone you can depend on someone who knows your case and has a personal passion for every client and their children, he treats you like family. If you want an attorney who is not afraid to fight for you and your childs best interest and who will go to war with you for your childs safety and for your families best interest he is the person you want to stand next to in a court room. He is highly respected by judges and court officers. Other attorneys nay not like him because he probably beat them. Thanks to Robert I have sole legal and residential custody of my son. After moving from California to NY "without legal permission" it is sometihing I was told I would never have. I thank Robert for all his hard work and feel confident knowing he is my corner always!

  4. Delcol is a workhorse

    Posted by john, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr . Del col took over my divorce case when my previous attorney was simply getting pushed around by my wifes attorney even though she had been in law practice for over 25 years and came highly recommended.Mr. Del col took my case days before we were due to be in court and it was if i had him in my corner all along.
    Mr Del col is extremely knowledgable about the several areas of the law but most importantly knows how to apply it. His knowledge and experience really shined through in our court appearances where he was fantastic. He didnt miss any tricks thrown at him and his memmory of my case was phenominal. Onceyou get to know him and his unusaul work ethic it is hard not to appreciate him and all he does.If your looking for someone to go into battle with there is no other lawyer id pick.

  5. If you have a criminal case pending, then you definitely want Bob on your side!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Del Col represented me in a very complicated narcotics case. From the moment he stepped into the Courtroom, he was in control. Seeing him in Court is amazing. He literally takes over. He is very smart and his trial skills are something to behold. It’s obvious that everyone, including the Judges, like and, most of all, respect him. He works around the clock and never stops. It’s not unusual for him to call or text late into the night if he is working on a motion and has a question. The man is a brilliant, dedicated and highly skilled attorney. In my case, other lawyers I spoke to told me to plea from a felony down to a misdemeanor but with Bob, I beat the case flat out. If I was convicted of anything, it would have ruined my life. If you’re in trouble, this is the lawyer you need. He is an unstoppable force. There is one thing you should know about Bob: he won’t tolerate a whiner or, as he puts it, “no crybabies allowed”. If you start whining, he’ll throw you out of his office. Bob is tough as nails and as smart as they come.

  6. Highly Skilled Legal Representation

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Del Col handled my case in a very professional manner. Whether it was dealing with issues that required writing or court appearances, Robert was more than capable of getting the job done. The work that he has done required focus and commitment. In working with Robert over the course of my case, I found him to be a dedicated attorney who is passionate about his work. He is an avid legal researcher and an excellent writer. I can also tell you that he is not easily intimidated and takes on each challenge using his extensive experience and knowledge. His understanding and respect for the law and legal process was reassuring and gave me the feeling that matters would be dealt with accordingly and appropriately.

  7. Good Attorney Representation...............

    Posted by Anthony, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was represented by this Attorney in 2002 when I was Arrested for a serious Weapon charge. I was facing a 3-6 minimum. The cops stop, search & arrest was totally wrong. This was as simple as an Attorney doing his job rite. he knows the law as well as any Attorney I've ever used. Most clients complain that he doesn't return phone calls. If he returned every phone call,, he wouldn't have time to do his job. I would recommend this Attorney to anyone who has a legal matter large or small. He always prevails!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. best trial lawyer in New York

    Posted by Frank, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    There is no lawyer more committed to his clients than Bob. He is one of the VERY few lawyers that is NOT intimidated by prosecutors or large law firms.

    He knows his law and works with a passion. When he says he will go to trial, he is NOT bluffing and I can not tell you how important that is. He is known to follow through and go to trial.

    He takes control and is liked and respected by any jury he works in front of.

    I would recommend Bob to anyone that is facing criminal charges. Most lawyers take a fee go through the process for a few months or years and then recommend a plea, not Bob

  9. the best criminal lawyer on Long Island

    Posted by Joe, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My name is Joe and after many years of being a model citizen i found myself in big trouble and facing 15 years to life in prison.From the moment i met Bob,as i was handcuffed to a table in the basement of the suffolk county courthouse at my arraignment,Bob assured me he was going to do everything in his power to keep me out of prison and close to my wife and children whom i love so dearly.From the look in his eyes i knew this was true and Bob meant business,Bob took the necessary time to always make me feel at ease and that everything was gonna be ok.Many nights lying in bed unable to sleep from worrying about where my near future was headed, I would often receive a late night phone call from Bob just calling to check in and make sure i was ok! Amazingly enough it seemed that he knew that I needed a voice of reassurance and he let me know he was still working on my case well into the midnight hour! i was often told by other attorneys and people around the courts how lucky i am to have Bob representing me.When Bob walks into a courtroom the amount of sureness and confidence in his presence and demeanor makes his clients feel the same,this is big.After a year and a half I am happy to say Robert Delcol is a loving caring well spoken family man who treats all of his clients as if they were his own family,I will always be greatful for Bob as i didnt spend one day in prison and i am enjoying my wife,life and children and living the American dream.Bob you are a miracle worker and a wonderment to this world!Thank You!

  10. Divorce Client Mark

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Delcol.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Aside from being a great lawyer, Bob has a unique ability to foretell the future. I trusted him and he outlined what to expect. Wow, was he on the money. Because of Bob’s skill and work ethic, I have custody of my children. I did have an obligation as a client to listen AND follow his advice, even when I didn’t like what he told me to do. He was always right. I am forever in his debt, for what he has given me is priceless and beyond any gift I have or will ever receive. I have my children’s lives in my hands to guide them with love, trust and support. God Bless Bob. He has amazing and incredible abilities and is the smartest man I’ve ever met. He has the ability to write motions, try a case, appeal an unfair or improper decision; he keeps everyone on their toes. He knows the law better than any attorney I have ever met and on trial, he owns the Courtroom. He will also tell a person (client, lawyer or Judge) when they are being unreasonable or if they have an unwinnable position. He’s not a big hand-holder but, like he says, “you’re gonna hate me during the race but you’ll be kissing me at the finish line.” Lastly, as a constitutional and criminal lawyer, he’s amongst the best in the State and everyone knows it.