Ira C. Podlofsky’s Reviews

Ira C. Podlofsky

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. WARNING!! DONT WASTE YOUR TIME

    Posted by Nick, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira more than 3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

    A recent post by “John” is 100% correct. My Grandmother passed away in 2007 due to a wrongful death which lead to the retention of Ira Podlofsky’s office to pursue a medical malpractice lawsuit. At the time, my mother (the decedent’s daughter) entered into a lawsuit with several defendants to pursue the case. The case was assigned an index number and Judge and at some point was consolidated. That’s basically all that was done on the case over the course of 7 years. A couple of motions here and there mostly made on the defense’s behalf and, if we’re lucky, maybe one appearance by plaintiff’s counsel and one Examination Before Trial, which was of a non-party witness. Also, within these past 7 years, my mother spoke to Ira maybe, and I say MAYBE 5 times. She would call him for updated statuses on the case and she never received any phone calls from him. He NEVER returns your calls. His office manager/secretary/receptionist always gives you an excuse why Ira cannot speak to you: he’s either in court or with a client or at a meeting. He was supposed to meet at my mother’s house on more than one occasion to discuss the case and just never showed. My mother had to look into the court system on her own to actually find out what was happening with the case. What a disgrace! Oh yes, Ira did mail her a couple of correspondence letters - letters of apology to say how sorry he was for not working on her case due to his bankruptcy issues, his marriage problems and partnerships who left him. He promised he would continue full force with her case and have it moving and settled in no time. As of this year - 2014 - NOTHING! There was still no EBT of my mother – who was the sole witness in this case. How is that even possible? Every time my mother spoke to the office manager/secretary/receptionist about EBT dates, she always said to my mother to pick 3 dates and go with that. Is this even professional? Needless to say, nothing came out of any of those dates – no EBTs or conferences. My mother tried retaining other lawyers but no one would take the case because it was too far along with no action taken on it. A attorney friend of the family pulled the file and very little paperwork was found. He himself couldn’t believe it. What does that say about how much work was actually done on this case over the course of 7 years? 7 YEARS! Once again, my mother checked the status of her case and noticed there was an appearance scheduled for March 5, 2014. She was never notified of this appearance date or what the purpose of it was for. Needless to say, the end result is the case has been disposed of because there was an NAP – in non-attorney language this means Non Appearance by Plaintiff. Ira Podlofsky never showed up to the appearance. When the office manager/secretary/receptionist was questioned why he didn’t appear at the conference before the Judge and defense attorneys she told my mother Ira never even knew about it! What kind of attorney doesn’t even know when there is an appearance on the calendar? To me, it cannot be an attorney who is up on his client’s cases or even one who cares about his client’s cases. Now, I am her son writing this complaint because, unfortunately, my mother has just passed away in March. Ira does have other incidents against his record and was found guilty of an admonition and codes he broke as an attorney. You can look these up for yourself. Doesn’t an attorney take an oath to be the best attorney he can be for his clients and to practice to the best of his ability? Not in this case. I urge you to do your research before even thinking of retaining Ira Podlofksy. I’m really not sure how he sleeps at night. He should not have the given right to call himself an attorney and I’m hoping for the day he cannot practice law anymore. I believe I probably could have done a better job representing my grandmother pro se.

  2. Excellent Lawyer!!!!!!! Recommended 100%!

    Posted by a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira 1-3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

    Ira handled a case for my family and was able to get us money when NO other lawyer we spoke to had faith in our case. He is such a nice man and was so helpful to myself and my family. I would recommend him 100%. As to the negative comments, you people obviously are angry at the wrong person- you cant blame a lawyer for not having a good case to begin with! Ira is extremely professional and courteous, as well as his staff and office manager, she always returned our calls and was extremely helpful! I would use him again in a heartbeat!!! Thank you so much Ira!

  3. Great and Fair Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Bethany, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira 1-3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ira is very honest and fair. His fee is very reasonable and he tells it like it is. I am almost completely divorced and I didn't pay that much for lawyer expenses. I would HIGHLY recommend him to all of my friends!!

  4. bad attorney

    Posted by john, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira more than 3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Your profile reviewing on Podlofsky states he has no incidents against his record as an attorney. I stated the case number and what he was charged with, my grievance committee on our behalf found him guilty of an admonition on about four codes he broke as an attorney, so there are complaints against him , but on his profile you indicate he is a perfect attorney which is not true and you fail to post our complaint which we have in black and white from the grievance comm., put a true rating in as we deserve the truth to be printed in his profile, thank you John

  5. A+ for Ira Podlofsky

    Posted by Thomas C., a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira more than 3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    ira is an excellent attorney who was highly reccomended to me by a friend. He is intelligent, trustworthy, and very capable. i had a very positive experience working with him and was very happy with the outcome of my lawsuit.

  6. bad attorney

    Posted by john, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira more than 3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    yes I was a client of this attorney
    yes he was found guilty of at lest fife charges by the new York grievance comm

  7. Best Lawyer for MedMal and personal injury

    Posted by Jennifer, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira more than 3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

    Ira is an extremely intelligent, well spoken, outstanding attorney who knows this field inside and out. Ira is VERY good at what he does and I highly recommend him to anyone who is searching for an attorney.

  8. An Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Gail,RN, a Gaming client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira more than 3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Gaming matter.

    My son has an ugly scar on his face and Ira was able to get him a very large settlement. Our family is so appreciate!! As for the negative comments, I think lawyers may pay little attention to cases that are weak or dont have a value. ALL lawyers do this! If Ira had a case that was worth persuing, Im sure he would have. Sometimes people just dont get paid on cases they may think or hope are valuable and just arent. If he didnt file a suit in time and a case had value HE would have been sued and the client would get money anyway. I dont think this happened (because I just looked it up) the judge award $0 to that case! So the case mentioned was obviously a flop. As a health care professional I am really sick of people thinking they should get paid large amounts of money for everything under the sun just because something happened to them that isnt even directly related to the doctor. There arent many unbleiveable lawyers out there but I think Ira did a pretty good job- Thanks Ira!

  9. gives lawyers a bad name and lost our case

    Posted by john, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira more than 3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    this lawyer failed to file my law suite within the statue of time limitations
    therefore missing the alloted time frame and the doctors could not be sued 3 of them

  10. Excellent Litigator

    Posted by Mitch, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ira Podlofsky.
    • I hired Ira more than 3 years ago.
    • Ira handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As an insurance professional, I utilized Ira as a defense attorney to represent our insureds. He was professional, knowledgeable and provided input on the value of our cases. When a claim could not be settled, we had complete faith in his ability to defend to a verdict. As a consumer and knowing his ability, Ira would be the first person I reached out to represent my case. He knows how insurance companies handle claims and how they evaluate claims having represented their interests. He is an exceptional litigator when it comes to medical and dental malpractice, as well as general liability claims. He knows which claims should be pursued and which should be settled.