Darren M. Shapiro’s Reviews

Darren M. Shapiro

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Without a doubt the best attorney I ever dealt with!

    Posted by Esther, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren more than 3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I initially dealt with Darren Shapiro back in 2009 when he handled my divorce. He was always available to answer all my questions and quite knowledgable. I recently needed to contact him again and he responded without delay. I would recommend Darren without any reservation.

  2. I recommend Mr. Shapiro

    Posted by yvonne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren more than 3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Shapiro understood what I wanted from my divorce. He was able to give me all my options and explained all the consequences very clearly so that I could make the right decisions for myself. He answered emails and phone calls promptly. Mr. Shapiro was always very professional and I would highly recommend his services.

  3. A quick resolution to a complicated case!

    Posted by Mary, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After being told be several attorneys that I had "no case". Mr. Shapiro deftly handled a complicated interstate Paternity/Child Support case. There were many different issues that came into play- but the case was resolved in just under 6 months and my resolution was very satisfactory! I am most appreciative of his dedication and attention to every detail.

  4. Effective Representation

    Posted by Stan, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren 6-12 months ago.
    • Darren handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Constructive Emancipation is one of the most difficult areas for a Plaintiff to obtain a favorable decision. Darren Shapiro not only received one but two favorable Constructive Emancipation decisions for me. Remarkably the second decision was obtained on appeal. Many attorneys would say that winning on appeal in the second case would be slim but Darren presented the facts in a way that clearly showed that the original decision should have been in the Plaintiff’s favor. It’s been a very long time in New York State since a case with similar facts as mine was decided in favor of the Plaintiff. The bar to Constructively Emancipate a child in New York State is very high and rightly so. It was not enough to only have the facts on your side but you must present them in a manner that overwhelmingly convinces the court that the only correct decision is to Constructive Emancipate the child. Darren Shapiro is a fair, reasonable and hard-working attorney that will do his best to obtain the best outcome for you. He doesn’t use Court TV antics to achieve his results only practical realistic approaches. I have recommended him to friends and family and would use him again.

  5. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    If you are seeking a matrimonial / divorce lawyer, I would highly recommend obtaining Darren Shapiro to represent your case. I lived out of the state of New York during the time of filing. After calling several other lawyers in the NY area to check how they would handle my case and fees, I found Darren Shapiro's information. He was prompt in personally calling back on the initial contact and throughout my case. He communicated effectively and kept me updated throughout. His explanations regarding the case were informative, and guided me throughout the process. His points and counterpoints in the agreement / settlement process were well-thought-out, and justified. Therefore, no major concessions had to be made, and was happy to have found a lawyer who cared. He provides professional service and for a very reasonable fee. Overall he helped make this transition in a major life event easier to handle. I really appreciate all his help in this. Again if you need to retain a lawyer, I highly recommend contacting Darren Shapiro.

  6. #1 Divorce Attorney Darren Shapiro

    Posted by Nick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Darren is a top notch attorney! He walked me though my divorce with no problems. I was very impressed with the way he handle everything. Anytime I would call Darren, he calls me back in minutes. I'd have to give him a AAAAA+++++
    Thanks again Darren for all your help!

  7. Highly recommened Darren Shapiro for custody/vistation cases.

    Posted by Jeannie Lodewyks, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Child Custody matter.

    I would highly recommend Darren Shapiro to anyone who needs an excellent attorney for custody and or visitation cases.
    Our son's case was in New York and he lives in Florida. We knew no attorneys in New York and basically knew no one who could recommend an attorney. However, we decided to choose Mr. Shapiro and are very grateful that we did. He has handled our son's case on two separate occasions now and the outcome has been excellent. On both occasions he was outstanding. He protected our son and his daughter's rights completely and very professionally. He really cares about his clients and does everything he can to protect them and get them the best possible results on the case.

    We are very grateful to him for all he has done for our son and his daughter and we thank him very much for everything.

    Again, we highly recommend Darren for any of your legal issues. He is an excellent, caring attorney and will handle your case professionally to achieve the best possible results.

  8. DARREN SHAPIRO IS AN HONEST- ETHICAL- AND- EXCELLENT LAWYER

    Posted by Linda and David, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After speaking to several lawyers, I retained Darren Shapiro as my lawyer, for a child support court case.The other lawyers were talking about how to spend a lot of my money, even though I knew my case was not strong. I realized that the other lawyers I consulted with, just wanted to rack up a large bill on my behalf, and were not being honest with me based on the facts of the case

    Darren Shapiro is an honest and straight forward professional. I would highly recommend you retain him as your lawyer. He understands your financial situation as his or her client, and works with you step by step during your legal situation. He does not sugar coat your legal dilemma. WOW there are some honest lawyers still practicing! He is a great guy and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HIM!!!!!!! Linda and David.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Andrea, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren more than 3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It was a pleasure to have Darren M. Shapiro representing me in a Family Court case. He was always prepared, understanding, caring and confident. Mr. Shapiro was always accesible to answer my questions and returned phone calls and e-mails promtly. He was well knowledgeable of the Family Court system and worked fast. His fees were reasonable and fair. Darren M. Shapiro provided me high quality representation during the court process and excellent follow up after the case ended. I strongly recommend Darren M. Shapiro to anyone looking for a reliable , effective and knowledgeable attorney. Darren Shapiro is excellent and I thank him for the good results and all the effort and interest that he put into my case.

  10. my exp with mr. Shapiro

    Posted by doug, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Shapiro.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Darren Shapiro was dedicated, informative , honest and thorough. I would highly recommend him to those seeking representation . Darren help me win custody of my son. He took his time in explaining each part of my case as we went through it and helped me prepare .

516-333-6555