William Michael Sullivan’s Reviews

William Michael Sullivan

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An Amazing Attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.

    My wife and I retained Attorney Sullivan after she was served child custody paperwork related to her previous marriage. We are from out of State and were not familiar with New York child custody laws. I work with attorneys on a daily basis and know that there are good attorneys and bad attorneys out there. Because of my background, my initial meeting with him surrounded me finding out whether he is the type of attorney who is only good at motions to the court (and not a good trial attorney), or is he the type of attorney who is a good trial attorney, one who is going to stand up for your rights and not back down before the Judge and the other attorney.

    Attorney Sullivan immediately put my wife at ease. He fully explained the court process and described in detail what to expect during this trying period in our lives. I reviewed the cross motions and found that Attorney Sullivan was confidant, articulate and extremely well versed in New York Laws.

    Attorney Sullivan then represented us at the hearings. Here is where many attorney fail. Many attorneys boast about what they can do and what they are going to do at trial, but I have seen many attorneys fall apart. This was not the case. Attorney Sullivan was absolutely amazing. He continued to exude his confidence, his knowledge of New York Laws and then was still able to keep my wife at ease at the same time (and this is no easy matter!!)

    At the end of this 2 year ordeal (yes, it sometimes takes that long), we ended up winning EVERY motion that was filed before the court.

    We were not just a number in Attorney Sullivan’s Office. Attorney Sullivan showed kindness and compassion when we needed him the most. Attorney Sullivan showed and proved to us that he was also an amazing trial attorney.

    Words cannot describe how thankful we are in finding Attorney Sullivan. If you have the opportunity to retain Attorney Sullivan, you are going to be in excellent hands. Thank you Attorney Sullivan!!!

  2. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by JC,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.

    I retained Mr Sullivan after I was served papers for divorce . Knowing nothing about this at all , I was extremely scared. William Sullivan answered my questions and put my mind at ease. Going through a divorce isn't easy , but he gave advice that worked. His sense of humor and passion for his job made it clear to me that everything would work out. He's trustworthy , firm , yet compassionate . He put my needs and the needs of my child first. He helped me understand the law and when to compromise or when to speak up and say 'no' . He helped me stand up for myself and if I ever doubted myself , I'd contact him and he always responded . I'd definitely recommend William Sullivan .

  3. present client

    Posted by chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Will Sullivan's knowledge and expertise in divorce law has helped me through a difficult time. He has been reliable, accessible and aggressive when it was warranted and all with a sense of humor at the same time. I would highly recommend Will for representation, he also has an excellent paralegal Lisa Oppici.

  4. Do you want a lawyer that takes a personal interest AND win your case? Meet Will Sullivan!

    Posted by Lou, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Family matter.

    I met Will on New Years Eve, about 4 years ago. I retained him to assist on a bogus OOP my ex filed against me. First off I'd like to say one thing that impressed me was his genuine interest in my case, and his availability. It was always easy to reach him and any/all issues, questions and concerns were addressed in a timely manner. With his knowledge of family law, he was very reassuring and explained everything in layman's terms. With our first appearance on the OOP case he was able to have it vacated immediately. I was so impressed with not just his knowledge, but with his courtroom mannerisms, that I hired him on 2-3 more cases including a custody case which he helped me win. And with each case he would explain just what needs to be done and how the process works step by step. I would definitely recommend and rehire him if needed. To sum it up, Will Sullivan is an attorney who handles himself professionally in the courtroom, I like to say 'professionally polite'. He can harpoon his adversary in front of a judge without ever raising his voice, he simply allows his knowledge of the law and impeccable timing in presenting his point to shut down the opposition in a professional manner. He is extremely competent with current family law, maintains excellent communication with his clients and truly defends his clients as if they were a member of his personal family. In the past 4 years working with Will, I felt more like a brother/best friend rather then 'just another client or paycheck'. If you want a highly competent attorney that will take your case and handle it like he's personally involved, then you need to meet with Will. I'm sure after meeting with him you will hire him. You will leave his office feeling confident in his ability and professionalism and any stress caused by your current situation, will be greatly reduced after meeting with Will and seeing him in action. Again, I hope to never need his services in the future, but if I do there's no other attorney I would even consider.

  5. Five-Star-Lawyer

    Posted by Kathleen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    From the second I spoke with Will on the phone, I knew he was the right fit for my case, which involved my 3 year old daughter at the time. I wanted someone who was a family man and who also carried the right balance of "tiger" when needed. His confidence and integrity, along with his zest for life and passion for what he does is contagious, reminding me each time we spoke or met that I made the right decision in choosing him. It was also important I hired someone who was experienced but also took the time to listen to what I had to say and respect my comfort level. He followed my lead in the pace I wanted to go and I am pleased to say I am satisfied with the outcome of my divorce agreement. Will and his team have allowed me to provide the very best for my daughter: a life of consistency and love from both her mother and father.

  6. A Brilliant lawyer who really cares... Simply The BEST

    Posted by Joan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I retained William M. Sullivan to represent me in my divorce after been sorely disappointed by two previous lawyers. From our first meeting, I could tell Will is unique in his obvious passion about his work and his dedication and commitment to his clients. He is a wonderful communicator and his professionalism inspires confidence and trust in him. Throughout the time we worked together I felt he always gave advice and made decisions with my best interest at heart. Will possesses a winning combination of excellent analytical, negotiation and interpersonal skills. He took the time to ensure my questions were answered and always kept me informed throughout the process. Will was positive yet pragmatic in his approach and he always knew the right time to be aggressive and when to compromise. He has proven himself to be extremely knowledgeable, ethical, hard working, and highly effective. I have nothing but the highest regard and respect for him as an attorney and as a person. I found Will to be outstanding in his field and I could not have had better representation in handling my divorce case. I would highly and unequivocally recommend him.

  7. Will is the BEST attorney out there!

    Posted by Beth, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Child Support matter.

    I hired Will to handle my divorce in 2011 and I must say he was the calm in the storm. His confidence, knowledge and sense of humor helped me get through a difficult time. Will negotiated the divorce while paying attention to every detail so as to protect my future. He is fair, honest and respectable. I was very happy with the agreement Will constructed for me and my children. I have since hired Will again to represent me in a child support matter. His rapport with court officers, his peers and magistrates alike demonstrates a level of character, integrity and professionalism not possessed by many. His staff is caring and efficient. I would, and have, recommended Will to anyone I know who finds themselves in need of an attorney. There has never been a day that I doubted my decision to hire him. I have peace in knowing that my divorce and child support matter have been placed in the right hands.

  8. Man of his word.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have retained Will Sullivan with regards to my divorce and I highly recommend him. I have a very trying and difficult case and he always had me and my children's best interest at heart. He is very honest and compassionate man, which always eased my mind that he would always protect us.

  9. Came highly recommended!

    Posted by Jeannine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I am a teacher and Will was recommended to me by a wonderful family that knew him on a personal level and also used his services in two of their divorces. Ironically, when I was looking into a divorce attorney, a friend of mine was a Suffolk County District Attorney for many years and it was also this office that he recommended. If I remember correctly Will also serves on a board that probably gives him an upper hand as your attorney. He has a great rapport with the judges in the courts and he is very easy to talk to. He is also a dad himself so he gets what it means when you are in something to fight for the rights of your children. He is compassionate yet tough when he needed to be. He is very educated, well spoken and is definitely someone you would feel proud to represent you.

  10. Excellant

    Posted by Cathy, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Sullivan.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Family matter.

    Will was wonderful, very helpful and he made me feel very relaxed when I met him the first time plus he won my case!