Bruce Anthony Barket’s Reviews

Bruce Anthony Barket

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review of Bruce Barket, Defense Attorney

    Posted by John, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Barket.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Bruce Barket is a dynamic, knowledgeable and well-known criminal defense attorney. His team of partners and associates work diligently and expeditiously to bring your case to fruition. He listens to your concerns very intently, prepares a strategy and keeps you informed throughout the process. No case is too big or too small. If you are looking for a criminal defense lawyer, Bruce Barket is the attorney of choice.
    Due to economic circumstances, I made a mistake which resulted in my arrest for grand larceny. I chose Bruce Barket. He listened to my situation, explained the process to me and told me how long it would take to complete my case.. He made no promises, He planned a strategy for my defense and along with his associate brought the plan to fruition. The charges were dismissed and I can now go on with my life.

  2. BARKET LAW FIRM IS AWESOME

    Posted by Mike, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Barket.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Fraud matter.

    I was arrested 2 years ago on a Federal Conspiracy charge. My first "NYC Lawyer" advised me to go to the prosecution, cooperate immediately and I could possibly get "as little" as 2 years in Federal Prison. I had never been in any trouble in my entire life and thought my role in the "conspiracy" was minor. I was deeply depressed and felt lower than I ever imagined I could.

    I felt I needed a second opinion and a relative recommended I call Bruce Barket. My wife and I met with Bruce shortly thereafter. After hearing my story Bruce told me that the charges against me were somewhat significant
    but could be handled and said "there will come a time when this will seem like a speed bump in your review mirror and normalcy will return to your life". Bruce totally disagreed that the best course of action would be to immediately cooperate but it would be best to chip away at the charges until it becomes manageable. I left that meeting feeling like a noose had just been removed from around my neck.

    As the case progressed, Bruce's partner, Kevin Kearon took over my case. Kevin's efforts on my behalf were tremendous. He was in constant contact with the Federal Prosecutors and convinced them I was a good guy that got caught up in a bad situation." Over the many months, under Kevin's guidance we did every little thing possible to improve our position. After numerous postponements the final sentencing date was set for September 5th, 2013,
    over 2 years since my arrest. As the date approached the firm contacted me numerous times to make sure their sentencing memo was correct and effective and that all the pieces were in place. Alexander Klein, an associate of the firm was instrumental in writing a very effective memo to the judge on my behalf.

    I was facing a sentence of up to 41 months in prison and a restitution judgment of up to 7 million dollars. Yesterday I stood before the judge with Kevin Kearon by my side. Kevin gave a brilliant speech to the judge reflecting on my entire law abiding life. The sentence I received was for time served (1 day, the day of my arrest), no probation necessary and no restitution. Although I had doubts, today I'm looking at a speed bump in my review mirror, just like Bruce told me 2 years ago.

    If you find yourself in a position where your life has been turned upside down and the enemy is at the gate, these are the guys you want in your foxhole. I may have paid their very reasonable legal services fee but I can never repay what the Barket Law firm has given me.

  3. Stay away from Barket and his law firm

    Posted by Vincent, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Barket.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have known Bruce for 10 years and was his close friend. He was successful in representing me in one federal case, but I did all the work and got myself acquitted and had to fight him every step of the way. In 2011, I was arrested again and charged with making threats to the Government. I was denied bail even though I had no criminal record. Barket was terrible. He was in the middle of leaving his partnership from another man, and extorted me and my family for money and getting me to plead guilty even though I was innocent. He even brought in his now partner, who had extorted me into using back in 2003 and would not return $10k retainer I gave him. There is much more, but suffice it to say, stay away from this whole firm.

  4. Barket Rocks!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Barket.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I got arrested for something pretty small, but the prosecutors made stuff up and managed to turn it into a huge indictment that I could have gotten thirty years on. Luckily for me, somebody recommended Mr. Barket to me and I hired him.  He did a GREAT job. It took a while, but he worked and fought like crazy and by the time he got through with them, the prosecutors themselves dismissed the whole indictment and put back in the original small charge, which was all I really did in the first place. I ended up getting out with time served and probation.  He was really good in court, too. I didn't know anything about the law, but I understood most of what he was saying, and I certainly could tell that he can out-argue pretty much anybody I've ever seen. He had an answer for everything that got thrown at him by the prosecutors or the judge. Besides the overall great job he did, there were three things that really stood out to me about Mr. Barket, that might seem small, but really weren't. One was that while I was in jail, he always made himself available to take my phone calls. Maybe this seems like no big deal to someone who has never been in jail, but it was a huge help to me. I could always find out what was going on. Lots of people I was in with went for months without any communications with their lawyers, and they were frantic. I never had to feel like that. I also wrote him a lot, and I know he read every word I said because he would talk to me later about what I wrote. He also made himself available to my family and friends whenever they wanted. Another thing was that I could tell he really, personally, cared a lot about helping me and winning, not just to have another "win," but for my sake. That also might not seem like a big deal, but when you're in arrested for bad stuff and locked up in jail you feel like nobody's on your side. I never felt like that with Mr. Barket as my lawyer. He believed in me, he knew I was telling him the truth, he knew the prosecutors were wrongly trying to make a very big deal out of a little deal, and even when it seemed absolutely impossible to make them stop, he nearly always had something encouraging to say that gave me hope. There were times that even my family and friends were frustrated with the situation and not all that friendly to me, but he was always solidly on my side. The third thing was that he helped me deal with problems in the jails. I was moved twice to different places, and in one of them they said if I didn't let them do a highly intrusive physical exam, which I knew was pointless, they would put me in solitary confinement. I was honestly terrified of that, not just because of the loneliness and boredom, but because in solitary where I was, the conditions were horrible. He told me "I'm not going to let that happen." And sure enough, it didn't.  He also didn't just forget about me once I got out and was on probation. When problems arose with the probation officer, like ridiculous travel restrictions, he fixed it for me. I'll never stop being grateful to Mr. Barket for the help he gave me. 

  5. Unwavering confidence to stay the course.

    Posted by Gus, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Bruce Barket.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Barket set the course for my case after researching and carefully reviewing the facts, aided by a private investigator. As my case stretched past month number 18, he continued to stay the initial course that resulted in the most favorable outcome as he defended against an overreaching District Attorney's office.

    Mr. Barket coordinated with colleagues and staff at his firm to provide research and representation each and every time needed, even if my case may have been the least important at times.

  6. Best Lawyer Ever

    Posted by Grateful, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Barket.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Barket handled an extremely serious and complicated federal criminal defense for me with outstanding results. He was unbelievably dedicated to making the nightmare end as soon as possible, and he succeeded spectacularly. He is highly intelligent and extremely knowledgeable, brilliant on his feet and persuasive in court, but his most extraordinary trait might be the creativity and resourcefulness he displays. He just never gives up. As one after another horrible complication arose out of nowhere, he adapted to each one with consummate skill and redoubled determination. The prosecution was stunned by the outcome, but I wasn't, because I had Bruce at my back.

  7. Civil Rights Appeal

    Posted by a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Barket.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Barket to handle a civil rights case on my behalf. Was mislead during the entired process and overcharged(Invoice inflated). The case was never completed. Being in the legal community for many years, I deal with many dishonest lawyers, this was just another prime example. I would never refer or recommend him to anyone that needs help. He is a typical Long Island lawyer..

  8. Outstanding Attorney, Zealous Advocate, Fierce Litigator

    Posted by Marty, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Barket.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Bruce is an amazing attorney who is dedicated to his clients and the rule of law. He is fierce in the courtroom, passionate all around. Clients facing charges of all kinds would be well served by Bruce. Bruce was a member of a team of attorneys and he lead the courtroom battle which was fierce and unrelentless - his skills rose to the task.