Back to Edward’s Profile

Client Review

Edward has received 12 client reviews

Highly Recommend

Posted by: a Lawsuits & Disputes client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward 1-6 months ago.

Edward handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Referred by a friend,he responded immediately, was thorough, thoughtful, knowledgable. So helpful and attentive. Highly recommend!

Highly recommended for landlord/tenant disputes

Posted by: Nick, a Landlord & Tenant client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward 1-6 months ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I retained Mr. Deignan recently in a landlord/tenant dispute and was extremely satisfied with his performance, and I would highly recommend his services. Operating out of a non-traditional office space in Red Hook, Mr. Deignan offers a free in-person consultation. During my consultation, Mr. Deignan listened patiently to all the details of my situation. By the end of the consultation, he had throughly considered the facts of my situation and laid out various options for consideration. I choose to retain Mr. Deignan after that consultation. Mr. Deignan did an excellent job for the remainder of my case. In general, I was able to reach him via email as required, which was important to me. My specific case required a lot of back and forth between the parties and Mr. Deignan did a great job throughout that process. One area for improvement would be in the some of the back office aspects of Mr. Deignan's practice, as some of the paperwork required such as billing invoices could use some improvement. Thank you again. Highly recommended.

Excellent Lawyer

Posted by: a Landlord & Tenant client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward 6-12 months ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

We recommend Mr. Deignan:) My husband and I ran into a landlord/tenant situation, and we found Mr. Deignan through Avvo. We met him for a consultation, and he was extremely knowledgeable about landlord/tenant law, and he had given us very valuable advice. We are very grateful to have met him.

Helped me

Posted by: a Landlord & Tenant client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward 6-12 months ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I spoke with Mr. Deignan a few months ago regarding a landlord/tenant problem I was experiencing. He was kind, generous with his time, extremely knowledgeable about the matter, and he provided a solution nobody else could offer. I am grateful for the help he provided.

Excellent!

Posted by: Lou 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward 1-6 months ago.

This is the guy to go to when your landlord sends his sleazy lawyers after you. He has saved me thousands, and keeps my mean, litigious landlord at bay. He's a pit bull, tenacious, fearless. I had to go to court at least 5 times over rent issues in a 4 month period. My landlord insisted I owed a month back rent, we kept going back and forth on this matter. Finally I hired "Teddy" and he quickly pointed out that my lease was not even valid, and I had been overpaying for months. His impact was immediate. The case was settled on the spot. Mr Deignan pointed out, that I could have had as much as six months free rent, but it would have required more court time. Something I was not willing to do, In the end I settled for 1 month free rent, because I was just too weary of all of the previous court appearances. This guy is great.

gnerous with advice and time

Posted by: colin 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Edward Deignan

I am having problems with a NYC landlord (surprise!) and was referred to Mr. Edignan. He informed me that I didn't in fact need a lawyer in order to file a complaint and pointed me where to go. In addition, after I spelled out the particulars of the case, he advised me about how to proceed and about the legal parameters of the situation. Although we have never met and I was not a potential clinet, Mr. Edignan was generous with his time and advice. It is quite refreshing to have an interaction (even if only electronically) with someone who acts like a decent human being. This is, of course, in start contrast to the slumlord who is trying to take my damage deposit.

A great lawyer

Posted by: Martha, a Landlord & Tenant client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

After I posted a question on this site and several lawyers gave me very vague answers and even one of them tried to charge me $ 2500 without even a 15 minutes REAL consultation, Teddy showed up in court the day of my hearing and helped me out for a more than reasonable fee. The case was dismiss because of his knowledge and his kind respectful and serious behavior with the judge. I just hope he is ok, because I have been trying to contact him since then and he is not responding to emails, calls or messages and that doesn't sound like him. A pleasure to deal with and a great lawyer

An Awesome Attorney with A Bike !!!

Posted by: IBRAHIM, a Landlord & Tenant client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Edward Deignan is an awesome attorney with a bike. Edward Deignan helped me stop my landlord from unfairly evicting me. I contacted over 50 lawyers from this site before I got a response from him. Edward Deignan was the only attorney here who was able to help me. His knowledge helped me stay in my apartment after I informed him of my landlord's shenanigans. He is trust-worthy. He is knowledgeable. He also has a bike. He is simply awesome!

Excellent Litigation Work

Posted by: Anthony, a Landlord & Tenant client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

I am a non-practicing attorney and developer with 20 years real estate development experience having worked for national institutions including REIT’s. My partners and I were operating a restaurant in New York City and unfortunately found ourselves in a very complicated commercial landlord-tenant situation on the tenant side. There was much at risk and the situation required unique representation. I was fortunate to have been referred to Ted Deignan from a trusted attorney colleague. He quickly understood the complexity of the issues and the the various nuances of the matter. He mapped out our legal strategy and effectively administered the case. He anticipated every situation and aggressively pursued the appropriate response as well as making legal maneuvers that I did not consider - which is rare. Ted’s services were some of the best I have seen and his fee was very fair. I highly recommend Ted. .

Excellent and Knowledgeable Lawyer

Posted by: a Landlord & Tenant client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Deignan

I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

Ted assisted us with an SRO issue for a property that we were purchasing. He was very knowledgable and responsive. I would highly recommend him.