Steven H. Ebbin’s Reviews

Steven H. Ebbin

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Bought and sold a house with Steve

    Posted by Roy, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-6 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    Although you can't tell from the sparkling review that I gave Steve, I'm a very tough grader. If I had encountered even a single issue during my interactions, he would not be getting five stars from me.

    I worked with Steve and his fantastic assistant Diana for two separate real estate transactions over the course of the last four years. I've never found the team to be less than excellent.
    During my initial house purchase, it was clear that Steve knew exactly what was going on and he was patient enough to explain all the necessary parts to me very clearly. It was also clear that he was known, liked, and respected by everyone in the room, which also seems really important.
    During my most recent house sale, the entire transaction was carried out with a minimum of fuss. I was kept updated every step of the way, despite being unable to be physically present for most of the proceedings. Everything was concluded right on schedule.

    I don't have a lot of experience working with lawyers, but I've been told by friends that I am extremely lucky to not have a single complaint. If I encounter a legal issue in NYC again, Steve and Diana will be the first team that I contact.

  2. Tremendously Helpful and Knowledgable

    Posted by Rich, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-6 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    We needed some serious hand holding for our first home purchase. We got all of that and more. Attentive, caring, and knowledgable!

  3. Fantastically Fast

    Posted by Art, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    I was trying to execute the sale and purchase of two different Co-ops and needed a lawyer in a pinch and I was put into contact with Steve Ebbin and his assistant, Diana. They were fantastic at getting the documents I needed in order, always kept me informed and always answered any questions I had, both by email and by phone. Steve Ebbin was great doing back to back closing for me and my move from one place to another went off without a hitch.

  4. great lawyer

    Posted by rich, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    I hired steve as a lawyer for purchasing an apartment. In my case, there were an extra amount of details to go over and he and diana were able to navigate everything smoothly. particularly diana was always available to explain what was happening and where we were in the process. in addition to being clear and concise, she was fun to talk to, which in dealing with stressful stuff like nyc real estate is a real plus, since half the battle is your state of mind.
    I would recommend them.

  5. Very Grateful

    Posted by Andrew, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    I was referred to Mr. Ebbin's office by a piranha of a lawyer in Westchester who had been highly recommended to me. He said that given my property was in Brooklyn, he recommended that I work with Mr. Ebbin, of whom he thought highly.

    Mr. Ebbin and his staff (I spoke most frequently with Diana) were responsive, knowledgeable and friendly. It turned out that our closing required a very capable team, as we ran into one hurdle after another. They not only handled the legal work, but they advised us on a host of other issues, so that we always knew our options.

    We were buying directly from owners, who were quite difficult and who tried to back out of the deal several times. Mr. Ebbin saw to it that that didn't happen. Additionally, the owners didn't really know what they were doing and as we didn't have a realtor to help, the law offices stepped in to explain dynamics to us (we were first time home buyers) and smooth out the process. They never complained about the extra work. They were always a joy to communicate with and when the going got rough, they stepped up their efforts.

    After all the work that they had done, I braced myself for a giant legal bill. I was glad to see that it was fairly priced.

    I feel very bless that I was able to work with them. I've always sought to work with capable people, and everyone I interacted with in that office was just that. I guess Mr. Ebbins feels the same way, because in addition to his considerable ability, the people under him are great.

  6. Great Experience

    Posted by Rick, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    Mr. Ebbin's office kept us informed during the entire process. They were very responsive and cleared any questions or concerns we had as clients and in negotiations.

  7. Go with Steve! He is smart, experienced and very thorough!

    Posted by Sophia, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steve Ebbin is an excellent real estate lawyer. I hired him in 2012 for the purchase of my COOP in Brooklyn. He and his awesome, knowledgeable assistant, Diana, helped me through a very complicated and long process. They made sure that I was thoroughly informed about everything , down to the smallest legal detail. They addressed all of my questions and concerns in a timely and professional manner. Throughout the process, which took several months, I was at ease, knowing that my interest was protected and fairly represented by Steve Ebbin.

    I'm a very satisfied client and I highly recommend Steve to anyone who wants an experienced, thorough, and knowledgeable lawyer.

    Sophia
    Happy Homeowner

  8. Looking for a Real Estate Lawyer? Look no further!

    Posted by Tanisha, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Steven H. Ebbin. I recently used his services on the purchase of a co-op apartment in Brooklyn. I found himself and his team to be very professional and very knowledgeable of New York City real estate law. He made what is usually a painful and confusing process, actually pleasant. It was truly a pleasure to work with him, and I certainly plan to use him again on any future deals I might have. I also want to note that his paralegal, Diana is the best in the business by far. She is equally as knowledgeable, organized, and accessible at all hours of the day or night. She never made me feel that any question I posed to her was beneath her or a waste of her time and prepared me for every step in this process. The two of them together make a great team and in this wacky world of real estate you need a good team in your corner.

  9. One of the best out there!

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    AMBA, are you sure you have reviewed the right attorney? I have used steve on numerous occasions as have members of my family and we have been nothing but 100% satisfied with his work and his staff. He is always available when an issue arises and it's a pleasure to call an office and actually have a live person answer the phone!

  10. One of the Best.

    Posted by Jon, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebbin.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Have used Steve Ebbin multiple times for a variety of real estate transactions. I have always been totally pleased with the results. He is totally honest, up-front, knows his field extremely well (better than all the attorneys he's faced in his work for me), and gets great results. As anyone who may have dealt with lawyers in these modern times, honest and up-front are not the first two words that typically come to mind. It is truly a pleasure to work with him, and I certainly plan to use him on any future work. He also has a great and knowledgeable office staff.