Jay I. Simon’s Reviews

Jay I. Simon

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The VERY BEST in Brooklyn.

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having worked with Jay Simon on my own case many years ago, I have been delighted to recommend him to my closest friends with total confidence since then. (We were just in court again a few weeks ago for one of my closest family members). Therefore, you may consider this a review based on many experiences, not just my own. Jay will walk you through every step of the process, patiently and respectfully. There were no unanswered questions, no unanswered phone calls. I consider him an familiar acquaintance, and look forward to the next time I can suggest him to assist a friend in need of his expertise.

  2. A Caring Bankruptcy Attorney-Reassuring-Excellent Service-Supportive-Exceeded My Expectations-Highly Recommended!

    Posted by Amie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The minute I spoke to Jay on the phone, I knew I was in capable and knowledgeable hands. He provided instant reassurance and support during a clearly difficult time. He is knowledgeable and patient. His follow up and communication is impeccable. Even after I was discharged, he made himself available for questions and support about rebuilding my credit. Bottom-line, Jay CARES. I am so glad I chose to work with Jay and highly recommend him!

  3. Join a Special Club-Jay Simon Bankruptcy Clients

    Posted by Josie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I feel like I belong to an exclusive club; those individuals lucky enough to have Mr. Simon handle their bankruptcy.

    Mr. Simon does the little things that made me feel special, appreciated and, yes, loved as a client. He valued my business. He makes clients feel special.

    Why do I think so highly of Mr. Simon?

    The First Impression: Mr. Simon's office is so cool: interesting, comfortable, coziness; just a relaxed environment. Then there is Mr. Simon himself. He is very informal, not your typical stuffy attorney in a suit. He wouldn't even allow me to call him Mr. Simon. During our initial consultation Jay listened intently and with empathy. He explained. He was patient. He didn't push. He wasn't all about money. He was kind and caring. He understands how traumatic and scary it is deciding to file bankruptcy.

    Service: He provides the best service. He was respectful, pleasant, friendly, approachable, honest, and confident.

    Prompt Service: He went right to work. He started before I paid him dollar one. He didn't dither and filed my petition promptly. He has many clients but until we went as a group to the meeting, I never saw any of them. I never waited. What attorney or doctor doesn't make you wait? He respected my time and didn't think his time was more important than mine.

    Information and Supportive: Mr. Simon informed and educated me about bankruptcy before we started, as he prepared my petition, after it was filed, before my creditor's meeting and after I received my discharge. He went the extra mile with informative letters chock full of information and explanations. I understood what was going into my petition, was given ample instructions about doing the credit counseling and education course. I was never left wondering what was going on. He also has a way of explaining complex bankruptcy matters in simple understandable ways.

    Quick Communication: His letters were prompt. I knew exactly what was going on and what I needed to do. I sent a lot of email questions. And, I do mean a lot. His email responses were extremely rapid. He also returns calls promptly and personally answers the phone. He also never acted like I was bothering him even though I know I was.

    Personal Attention: He provided special treatment. Mr. Simon has the "personal touch" and gave me peace of mind throughout. He took the time to answer all of my questions along the way. Giving his time and personal attention sets him apart from other attorneys. He also remembered me. When I called over two years later, he spoke to me in a way that showed he recognized me. That made me feel special and important.

    Showed Appreciation: He said thank you. Most businesses don't bother. He thanked me for hiring him and expressed his appreciation. He sent me a simple, but thoughtful, handwritten note when my case was through.

    I have gone out of my way to refer family and friends to Mr. Simon. I actually feel happy to tell them about this wonderful attorney. That is why I am writing this review, so I can tell you. I stand by this attorney 100%. He provides great value for an affordable price. He provides "bang for the buck." He is nice, sweet, personable and caring. One of the nicest people I have ever met. What's not to like?

  4. Honest, Decent and Knowledgeble

    Posted by felix, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'am so glad I choose Jay Simon as my bankruptcy lawyer.
    The man knows his stuff. He prepared my petition expertly, always answered my emails and calls promptly. But most importantly, he listened to my concerns and made me feel at ease.
    His fee was very reasonable. i highly recommend him if you need a bankruptcy lawyer.

  5. Jay Simon is the best Lawyer for Bankruptcy

    Posted by Elba Noboa, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jay Simon is one of the finest Lawyer, I have ever known.
    He guided me thru the process of bankruptcy with such a invaluable kindness
    And Professionalism, that I will never forget and will always recommend him for his great work.
    My statement is 100% True story, experience by me recently, my case ended on 11/12, and I finished paying my payment plan to Simon on 3/14/13, yes he even offered me a payment plan for his services, which was great.

  6. A Special Person

    Posted by Jenny, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jay Simon...sigh. I would love to wake up next to this man every day. When I think of him, I smile. He is so caring; you know he would make a great husband. He is such a special person. One of the nicest people I have ever met. Really he is just the nicest, sweetest guy. He is a true gentleman; a good man. He is kind-hearted, caring, genuine, sweet, and thoughtful. He just seems so loving and sweet without having to try. He is one of the good ones.

    I had a great client experience. Mr. Simon thinks of others over himself. He is very client oriented; it is really all about the clients with him. You know clients come first with him. He cares about making clients feel comfortable. He provides individual attention. He is very supportive and makes sure you are taken care of throughout the process. Simply put, he will take better care of you.

    His office is so charming and well-curated. I love how collected old things are mixed in with beautiful new ones. I adore the vintage objects and all the wall artwork as well. Absolutely gorgeous, beautiful, interesting, enviable, comforting and fun. Just perfection! His desk looks welcoming too!

    You may not believe it but nothing I wrote in this review is an exaggeration. In fact I am probably not doing a good enough job in describing how wonderful Mr. Simon is as a bankruptcy attorney. If you are not just looking for a bankruptcy lawyer, you are looking for someone who will take care of you and make your bankruptcy experience special, then go to Mr. Simon. I love the man.

  7. Bankruptcy Attorney with a Heart

    Posted by "Bella", a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am writing this review to let people know that such a good person, such a good bankruptcy attorney, exists.

    So much about Jay Simon I have never seen in anyone else: altruism, understanding, kindness, compassion and attentiveness all in one person. He is simply an amazing person. He really helps people and goes beyond what I expected from a bankruptcy attorney. He is no ordinary attorney. When you are in his office, it is impossible to not feel like you are the most important person in the world. He took care of me throughout the bankruptcy process and I knew that he cared about how I felt, how things went and me personally.

    I don’t know what else to say. Mr. Simon was simply great. One of the most personable, professional, nicest, kindest, reassuring, caring people I have ever met. He treated me like a person, not just another client among many. He is very easy to talk to and explained everything. Mr. Simon made this process as smooth and stress free as possible. He put me at ease throughout the process of preparing my petition and going to the meeting. He returned emails, answered all of my calls, answered all of my many questions. He provided excellent service, even beyond what I expected. You can tell he doesn’t practice bankruptcy law to just make money for himself, but to help people. He really is that rare attorney with a heart. Before posting my review I read over the reviews of other Brooklyn Bankruptcy attorneys on here. All I can say is they might be good, but they can't be better than Mr. Simon! My recommendation is that you hire Jay Simon like I did. Mr. Simon helped me and he can help you too. You really won’t be sorry.

  8. A Wonderful Bankruptcy Attorney and a Better Person

    Posted by Valerie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a great client experience. The interactions between myself and Mr. Simon were just wonderful.

    I went to another attorney before Mr. Simon. I know that attorney wasn't right for me. I am so glad I found Jay Simon. Jay was friendlier, his office so much more comfortable and comforting. The other attorney acted like he was doing me a favor talking to me and was planning on having his paralegal do the petition. Jay, on the other hand, was very comforting and encouraging during my consultation. I knew then and there that he was the attorney for me. Most of all he treated me like a person. He made sure I understood all about bankruptcy, so I could decide whether I even wanted to file. That other attorney didn't bother to explain much about bankruptcy, its effect on me, how it was done; he just pressured me to proceed and, most importantly, pay him. While preparing my petition, Jay explained what he was doing, why questions were being asked, he stopped frequently to check how I was doing. While typing in all of my many creditors, Jay played my favorite type of music that he even let me choose, so that I would be relaxed. He offered me magazines to read while he typed and provided an assortment of candies for me to enjoy. Jay really knows how to treat a client and make a person feel special. Jay's office is so comfortable. He has the most comfortable seating and beautiful surroundings. His office is very warm and inviting. It is like walking into a cool museum filled with interesting items on display: a mix of vintage, homages to New York City, dolphins and robots! Just so nice and enjoyable.

    Jay Simon reminded me of the George Bailey, the Jimmy Stewart character in that Christmas classic, It's A Wonderful Life. Just like George Bailey, Jay is selfless, nice and caring. He was more concerned with me, the client, then himself. The other attorney wanted to charge me more than double the fee that Jay charged me. That other attorney would not file until I was paid in full, while Jay did not demand payment up front. Jay was also very understanding when I had difficulty paying him quickly. I didn't expect that from an attorney. Jay Simon is to attorneys as George Bailey is to bankers!

    Jay went over the petition page by page, explaining everything before I signed it. After the case was filed, he sent me a detailed instruction letter explaining everything I needed to know, with an explanation of the coming creditors meeting and how to do the education course. Nothing was left for me to just figure out on my own. On the day of my meeting he had me meet him at his office where we went over what was going to happen next in comfort, unlike other attorneys who met their clients just minutes before at the hearing place. Some sent other attorneys to substitute for them. These substitutes were unknown to the clients. Jay personally escorted me to the courthouse so I didn't have to worry about where I was going and wonder if he would be there for me. Then I allowed the deadline to do that education course to slip my mind. Jay called me a month prior to the deadline to, as he said, 'give me an early reminder' to do the course. I still neglected it and as I got closer to the deadline, Jay would call me repeatedly to remind me. I could hear the concern on his voice. I could tell he felt bad for constantly reminding me, but I knew he really cared about me. Instead of letting me screw myself, he followed up and made sure I got it done. Then there was the personal call when my case was discharged. He then sent me a copy of my discharge under a caring, informative cover letter complete with a personalized note wishing me well and thanking me for choosing him. So nice. And all this and I still hadn't paid him in full. Do you think that other attorney would have done any of this? I don't think so either.

    If you want personalized, individual, caring attention, you should go see Jay Simon.

  9. The Best Part of Filing Bankruptcy

    Posted by Dana, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been meaning to write a review of Mr. Simon for awhile now. You know how it is; I just never got around to it. Recently I had occasion to call Mr. Simon to help me with something that had nothing to do with what I had hired him for. I had filed bankruptcy over four years ago, so I wasn’t expecting to be remembered or for Mr. Simon to want to help me or, if he did, he would charge me. I was so wrong. He helped me and even refused MY offer to pay him. I should have known how nice Mr. Simon would be.

    So here is my review: I have nothing but good things to say about Mr. Simon. Mr. Simon brings his heart to being a bankruptcy attorney. He is a magical guy, a very special person. One thing I noticed is the way he takes care of clients. He went out of his way to put me at ease and make me comfortable when we prepared my petition. He is so nice, so genuine. The guy is one of the warmest, most sincere people, gentlest, sweetest, kindest human beings I’ve ever met in my entire life. He is an empathetic, sensitive man. He listens and is compassionate. I am not exaggerating to say that Jay Simon is one of the best people on the planet. I am blessed to have met this person. He was the best part of my filing bankruptcy. The guy is everything you could possibly ask for in a lawyer and in a person!

  10. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Posted by SV, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great, upstanding guy. Very good at what he does. Personable, patient and attentive. He made filing for bankruptcy feel not so overwhelming. He took care of everything and made me feel at ease. From the very day I hired him he took the reins and started the process. I did not think it would be as easy as it was. He made sure of every detail and made sure I was well prepared the day of my hearing. I appreciate his services SO MUCH.