Jay I. Simon’s Reviews

Jay I. Simon

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I HAVE NEVER MET ANYONE NICER...A GREAT MAN WHO THINKS OF HIS CLIENTS BEFORE HIMSELF.

    Posted by Melissa, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I read these reviews prior to deciding that Mr. Simon was the attorney for me. I am now back to add my review for others to assist others in deciding that Jay Simon should be the bankruptcy attorney for them.

    I am reminded of a favorite quote from YouTuber Philip DeFranco: "A good man fights for himself and his; a great man fights for everyone else". If you follow that logic, then Jay Simon is truly a great man. He fought to make my bankruptcy go well for me, just a client. He thought of me before he thought of himself. He could have done things less thorough, sent less concise instructions, not called me to remind me of things I needed to know or do, been less supportive, been less polite, given less effort and still done the job and gotten paid. But instead, he went the extra mile (and then some) and did more then he had to. He went above and beyond to make sure my bankruptcy case went smoothly. He made things so simple, easy and painless. He virtually held my hand through the whole bankruptcy process; like my own personal guardian angel. I have never met anyone nicer. So think about hiring Mr. Simon if you want to be treated like you matter to your attorney, as a person and individual, who needs compassionate help during this hard time in their life. You wont be disappointed.

    I have never met anyone nicer. If you are looking for a bankruptcy attorney to be on your side as well as by your side, the look no further then Jay Simon.

  2. Brooklyn's Best and NICEST Bankruptcy Attorney

    Posted by Monica, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I think Jay Simon's most important trait as an attorney is his attention to his clients. In the bankruptcy field that doesn't seem to be a common trait to have. I called various other attorneys and met with three of them and even went so far as to have hired one. These lawyers acted like they were doing me a favor in meeting with me, answering my questions or calling me back (oddly, those same attorneys actually have all positive reviews on this site). I dropped the first attorney and scheduled an appointment to meet with Mr. Simon.

    Mr. Simon is vastly different then all of the others. He provides superior customer service. He is nice, genuine and caring. He was the one and only attorney to talk to me at length on the phone before we even met. He was so nice in that initial conversation, I knew he would be better for me then the attorney I had already hired. Then when we met, Mr. Simon was so welcoming. He did so many small gestures that conveyed caring and thoughtfulness.

    Jay is great to his clients and I, for one, appreciate it. Once you spend time with Jay, you realize he is one of the nicest people you've ever met. I love his personality; so sweet, patient, understanding, relaxed, and easygoing. I love that he is genuine and so caring. He has a warm demeanor. He is a noble soul. If you are around Jay Simon enough, you consider him a friend, not just a lawyer.

    Mr. Simon should know that he is deeply and intensely loved by his clients. Jay takes great care of his clients at a time that they need the most help. When I went to the court meeting, I went with a five other clients of Mr. Simon. We talked. I am actually surprised there aren't more reviews of him here based on the way the other clients spoke about him; they all loved him. A simple example: Mr. Simon escorted us to the court meeting so we didn't have to worry about where we were going. Once at the meeting most of the other attorneys didn't even interact with their clients. In comparison, while we waited, Mr. Simon was attentive to us all. Mr. Simon repeatedly made eye contact, smiled reassuringly and even held my hand to reassure me that everything would turn out alright (I was very nervous!). I hope each of you has someone in your life that is as wise and steady North Star like Jay Simon is to so many clients.

    I really liked working with attorney Jay Simon, he helped me through the whole bankruptcy process; he made the whole thing as smooth as possible. I would highly recommend him to anyone. I thank Jay for helping me get to this debt free place I am now in my life. If I had a friend or family going through bankruptcy, I would INSIST they work with Mr. Simon. Jay is very, very nice and holds a special place in my heart!

  3. The Best Choice for Bankruptcy Attorney in NYC!

    Posted by Katie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 6-12 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jay Simon is, hands down, the best bankruptcy attorney you could find in NYC.

    My husband and I met with two other attorneys before finding Mr. Simon, and neither of them spent a tenth of the amount of time total that Jay Simon did simply listening to our circumstances before evaluating what our best options were.

    The first two attorneys told us we wouldn't qualify for Chapter 7, and seemed only to care about how soon we could pay them for their services. Had we gone with them, we'd still be trying to figure out how to pay back our debt, rather than having just received our bankruptcy discharge.

    Thankfully, we trusted our instincts and, after reading all of the favorable reviews on this site, made an appointment with Jay. All the positive reviews are true-- his office isn't corporate and stuffy like so many others. It is, as others say, cozy and comforting, and a place that makes you feel that you can relax.
    Best of all, when you have an appointment with Jay you will not walk in and see a line of people in the waiting room-- making you feel like an assembly-line cog-- because Jay makes sure that the time he spends with you is *your* time.

    Jay Simon is a patient, kind, and an honorable man and attorney. He listens to his clients, he walks you through the process before, during, and after doing anything official. He returns calls and emails promptly. He files your petition in a timely manner and makes sure that you aren't bothered by creditors in the mean time. He even provides you with a packet of information walking you through and explaining all of the steps that the state requires you to do on your own (such as the pre- and post-bankruptcy online courses). Then, he takes the time before your hearing to prepare . . . and even walks with you from his office to the bankruptcy court.

    I would send my family, friends, and anyone grappling with the decision of which attorney to choose for bankruptcy to Jay in a heartbeat. If you go with Jay, you can count on the fact that you will no longer have to feel scared and alone during a process that, without him, could feel very intimidating.

    Jay Simon is intelligent, kind, and an exceptionally talented bankruptcy attorney. Very, very highly recommended!

  4. The VERY BEST in Brooklyn.

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having worked with Jay Simon on my own case many years ago, I have been delighted to recommend him to my closest friends with total confidence since then. (We were just in court again a few weeks ago for one of my closest family members). Therefore, you may consider this a review based on many experiences, not just my own. Jay will walk you through every step of the process, patiently and respectfully. There were no unanswered questions, no unanswered phone calls. I consider him an familiar acquaintance, and look forward to the next time I can suggest him to assist a friend in need of his expertise.

  5. A Caring Bankruptcy Attorney-Reassuring-Excellent Service-Supportive-Exceeded My Expectations-Highly Recommended!

    Posted by Amie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The minute I spoke to Jay on the phone, I knew I was in capable and knowledgeable hands. He provided instant reassurance and support during a clearly difficult time. He is knowledgeable and patient. His follow up and communication is impeccable. Even after I was discharged, he made himself available for questions and support about rebuilding my credit. Bottom-line, Jay CARES. I am so glad I chose to work with Jay and highly recommend him!

  6. Join a Special Club-Jay Simon Bankruptcy Clients

    Posted by Josie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I feel like I belong to an exclusive club; those individuals lucky enough to have Mr. Simon handle their bankruptcy.

    Mr. Simon does the little things that made me feel special, appreciated and, yes, loved as a client. He valued my business. He makes clients feel special.

    Why do I think so highly of Mr. Simon?

    The First Impression: Mr. Simon's office is so cool: interesting, comfortable, coziness; just a relaxed environment. Then there is Mr. Simon himself. He is very informal, not your typical stuffy attorney in a suit. He wouldn't even allow me to call him Mr. Simon. During our initial consultation Jay listened intently and with empathy. He explained. He was patient. He didn't push. He wasn't all about money. He was kind and caring. He understands how traumatic and scary it is deciding to file bankruptcy.

    Service: He provides the best service. He was respectful, pleasant, friendly, approachable, honest, and confident.

    Prompt Service: He went right to work. He started before I paid him dollar one. He didn't dither and filed my petition promptly. He has many clients but until we went as a group to the meeting, I never saw any of them. I never waited. What attorney or doctor doesn't make you wait? He respected my time and didn't think his time was more important than mine.

    Information and Supportive: Mr. Simon informed and educated me about bankruptcy before we started, as he prepared my petition, after it was filed, before my creditor's meeting and after I received my discharge. He went the extra mile with informative letters chock full of information and explanations. I understood what was going into my petition, was given ample instructions about doing the credit counseling and education course. I was never left wondering what was going on. He also has a way of explaining complex bankruptcy matters in simple understandable ways.

    Quick Communication: His letters were prompt. I knew exactly what was going on and what I needed to do. I sent a lot of email questions. And, I do mean a lot. His email responses were extremely rapid. He also returns calls promptly and personally answers the phone. He also never acted like I was bothering him even though I know I was.

    Personal Attention: He provided special treatment. Mr. Simon has the "personal touch" and gave me peace of mind throughout. He took the time to answer all of my questions along the way. Giving his time and personal attention sets him apart from other attorneys. He also remembered me. When I called over two years later, he spoke to me in a way that showed he recognized me. That made me feel special and important.

    Showed Appreciation: He said thank you. Most businesses don't bother. He thanked me for hiring him and expressed his appreciation. He sent me a simple, but thoughtful, handwritten note when my case was through.

    I have gone out of my way to refer family and friends to Mr. Simon. I actually feel happy to tell them about this wonderful attorney. That is why I am writing this review, so I can tell you. I stand by this attorney 100%. He provides great value for an affordable price. He provides "bang for the buck." He is nice, sweet, personable and caring. One of the nicest people I have ever met. What's not to like?

  7. Honest, Decent and Knowledgeble

    Posted by felix, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'am so glad I choose Jay Simon as my bankruptcy lawyer.
    The man knows his stuff. He prepared my petition expertly, always answered my emails and calls promptly. But most importantly, he listened to my concerns and made me feel at ease.
    His fee was very reasonable. i highly recommend him if you need a bankruptcy lawyer.

  8. Jay Simon is the best Lawyer for Bankruptcy

    Posted by Elba Noboa, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jay Simon is one of the finest Lawyer, I have ever known.
    He guided me thru the process of bankruptcy with such a invaluable kindness
    And Professionalism, that I will never forget and will always recommend him for his great work.
    My statement is 100% True story, experience by me recently, my case ended on 11/12, and I finished paying my payment plan to Simon on 3/14/13, yes he even offered me a payment plan for his services, which was great.

  9. A Special Person

    Posted by Jenny, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jay Simon...sigh. I would love to wake up next to this man every day. When I think of him, I smile. He is so caring; you know he would make a great husband. He is such a special person. One of the nicest people I have ever met. Really he is just the nicest, sweetest guy. He is a true gentleman; a good man. He is kind-hearted, caring, genuine, sweet, and thoughtful. He just seems so loving and sweet without having to try. He is one of the good ones.

    I had a great client experience. Mr. Simon thinks of others over himself. He is very client oriented; it is really all about the clients with him. You know clients come first with him. He cares about making clients feel comfortable. He provides individual attention. He is very supportive and makes sure you are taken care of throughout the process. Simply put, he will take better care of you.

    His office is so charming and well-curated. I love how collected old things are mixed in with beautiful new ones. I adore the vintage objects and all the wall artwork as well. Absolutely gorgeous, beautiful, interesting, enviable, comforting and fun. Just perfection! His desk looks welcoming too!

    You may not believe it but nothing I wrote in this review is an exaggeration. In fact I am probably not doing a good enough job in describing how wonderful Mr. Simon is as a bankruptcy attorney. If you are not just looking for a bankruptcy lawyer, you are looking for someone who will take care of you and make your bankruptcy experience special, then go to Mr. Simon. I love the man.

  10. Bankruptcy Attorney with a Heart

    Posted by "Bella", a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Simon.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am writing this review to let people know that such a good person, such a good bankruptcy attorney, exists.

    So much about Jay Simon I have never seen in anyone else: altruism, understanding, kindness, compassion and attentiveness all in one person. He is simply an amazing person. He really helps people and goes beyond what I expected from a bankruptcy attorney. He is no ordinary attorney. When you are in his office, it is impossible to not feel like you are the most important person in the world. He took care of me throughout the bankruptcy process and I knew that he cared about how I felt, how things went and me personally.

    I don’t know what else to say. Mr. Simon was simply great. One of the most personable, professional, nicest, kindest, reassuring, caring people I have ever met. He treated me like a person, not just another client among many. He is very easy to talk to and explained everything. Mr. Simon made this process as smooth and stress free as possible. He put me at ease throughout the process of preparing my petition and going to the meeting. He returned emails, answered all of my calls, answered all of my many questions. He provided excellent service, even beyond what I expected. You can tell he doesn’t practice bankruptcy law to just make money for himself, but to help people. He really is that rare attorney with a heart. Before posting my review I read over the reviews of other Brooklyn Bankruptcy attorneys on here. All I can say is they might be good, but they can't be better than Mr. Simon! My recommendation is that you hire Jay Simon like I did. Mr. Simon helped me and he can help you too. You really won’t be sorry.