James Hal Medows’s Reviews

James Hal Medows

Average Rating

Based on 64 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Lawyer with Competence & Integrity

    Posted by Nancy, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James < 1 month ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have the upmost respect for James. He listened to everything. He was able to obtain my son's release without bail and he was able to have the charges reduced, resulting in no criminal record for my son. In addition, he is a man who gained even more respect with his sense of integrity. We travelled from South Jersey to court and on one occasion the ADA had failed to submit the paperwork. The judge refused to hear the case & to wait while the paperwork was obtained. James refunded to me his fee for that appearance. I was already pleased with the outcome of the case, but this gesture demonstrated not only competence, but integrity. Thanks from a grateful Mom.

  2. James Handles Everything Well

    Posted by Jacob, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Medows handled my DAT case. I was out of court in no time. Mr. Medows obviously has plenty of experience regarding DATs. Overall he handled the case the way I expected him to. I'm glad Mr. Medows met my expectations.

  3. great lawyer

    Posted by Irina, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My son was in a difficult situation, facing serious charges that he did not even commit. This lawyer, was able to get the charges dismissed. He was sincere and very knowledgeable, a total professional. Exactly someone you want in a tough situation. He showed genuine concern, and empathized with our situation. Always keeping in touch, returning phone calls promptly. He made a scary situation easier to deal with, explaining everything step by step. Highly recommended.

  4. great lawyer

    Posted by Dejana, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • James handled my Child Abuse matter.

    Mr. Medows saved my life in more then one way I am in a situation and he knows what's best every time at court if I didn't understand something he would explain it threw. if I was wearing something inappropriate he would let me know over all he is a great lawyer I would recommend him to others defiantly

  5. Great Lawyer, Saved my life~~

    Posted by Cindy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am so grateful I found such an exceptional lawyer. I was in trouble in February and I contacted with several lawyers. When I found James from AVVO, I read through all his history reviews and I met him in his office in Brooklyn. I decided to retain him only after 5 minutes` conversation. He is the type of person you can give all your trust without any doubt. He is smart, confident and who really cares about you. He assured me he will take care of everything and kept on comforting me. Four months later, he successfully helped sealed my case. In the Brooklyn Court, I found he has great relationship with the DAs like friends!!
    I would recommend James straight from the heart. Reasonable price and Great results!!!
    Thanks again, James.

  6. Highly recommend

    Posted by Dawn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Professional, kind, trustworthy, responsive, available, caring patient--these are just a few words to describe Mr. Meadows. I contacted another Attorney before retaining Mr. Meadows and was quoted a fee of a few thousand dollars to hear the case. I continued to look and was blessed enough to find Mr. Meadows. He quoted me a fee and did not charge me a penny more. I was AWLAYS able to reach him. I'm sure I drove him crazy with some of my questions, but he was always responsive. Mr. Meadows explained exactly what I should expect during court. Mr. Meadows is not just an EXCELLENT Attorney, he is a good person. If you or someone you know needs a Criminal Attorney, I highly recommend Mr. Meadows!!!!

  7. DV

    Posted by Yuriy, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James defense me well, also after we won the case, I ask him to send me court papers, what he did responsibly.
    Yes will recommend him.

  8. Caring, thoughtful, smart and to the point. That's Not what I was expecting from a lawyer. But that's James

    Posted by Mario, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    James stand out from all the other attorneys in the room. And it's not because of his selection of suits but because she is honest knowledgeable and frankly straight up into the point. Out of all the other attorneys in the court room James would always fight hard for me rather than stay quiet and wait for the next court date. He is a true professional and the help me out tremendously. If you're looking for someone to get you out of a jam James will go above and beyond to make it happen. Highly recommend him for anyone who's looking for an attorney.

  9. Let James Medows Work For YOU

    Posted by James,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.

    I found James Medows to be very knowledgeable, trustworthy, understanding and hard-working. From the very beginning of my journey through the court system he was there for me, explaining everything, and providing essential, sound, legal advice.

    He doesn't make any false promises. What he does is work tirelessly for you in order to ensure the best possible outcome for your case. He has a very good rapport with the assistant district attorneys, district attorney and judges. He explained every step of the process to me throughout my court case, negotiated diligently on my behalf, and secured the best possible outcome.

    Most important, James was there for me to answer any questions that I posed to ease my mind at all times, both inside and especially outside of court on his own time. He also helped me greatly in personal issues and other matters on the periphery of my case.

    I can write this review in the comfort of my own home due to the hard work of James Medows. If you want an honest lawyer that you can rely on and REALLY work for you, I certainly recommend Mr. Medows.

  10. rest assure that he will stand be your side

    Posted by shane, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Medows.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I cannot even put into words how appreciative I am of his hard work and expertise. Because of mr medows I am free and able to live my life. he communicated with me all the time in a way that we could understand everything that was going on and what he were doing for me. That made me feel secure and safe knowing that he had my back. I really could sleep better at night and could go on doing my daily stuff with much less anxiety and stress, and I'm sure that my friends and family feel the same way. i am sooo grateful for everything Mr Medows done for me . his so respectful, personable and straight forward. Thank you soo much!