Back to Gerald’s Profile

Gerald has received 8 client reviews

He works for you and your satisfaction!

Posted by: Siriwong, a Medical Malpractice client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gerald Oginski

I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.

Gerald handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

We hired Gerry to represent us in a medical malpractice suit--as a doctor made some careless mistakes in surgery resulting in the death of my mom. We interviewed a total of six other law firms (2 being top/successful firms in Manhattan and Long Island). Gerry was hired do to his personal presentation (initial office visit) and a strong personal reference that came indirectly from a leader and past president of the New York State Trial Lawyers association, who was also a competitor. Gerry and or his assistant Francis will keep you informed weekly or however you want it set up by email or even phone, never letting you wonder at any point of the litigation what is going on with your case. Remember that your lawyer will representing you during a long and lengthy process, so it is crucial to hire one that makes a good impression & aggressive, but not annoying, as your lawyer will have to deal with many types of personalities during your case. Gerry seemed to fit the criteria. He also helped guide us on how we went about setting up a special needs trust for my disabled sister so she could benefit from the settlement. and we did get a decent settlement. Feel free to contact me with any specific questions regarding Gerry. He knows where to find us. and one final note: Gerry returns calls super fast.

Gerald Oginski

Posted by: a Wrongful Death client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gerald Oginski

I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.

Gerald handled my Wrongful Death matter.

I started working with Gerry about 4.5 years ago, when I discovered his web site and turned for help with a wrongful death case involving my wife. Once retained, Gerry investigated a potential legal action by obtaining medical records and having the case reviewed by a medical expert. Thanks to Gerry’s monthly update notes and our regular phone discussions, I always felt well informed of what had transpired in my case in the preceding month and what to expect in the near future. The depositions taken by Gerry from the doctors involved in the case showed that he developed an in-depth understanding of my wife’s medical history, the methodology of the surgical procedure at issue, and the clinical consequences of the surgery. As the case was nearing its final stage, Gerry provided a critical evaluation of the arguments he was planning to use in mediation, as well as the arguments likely to be used by the defense. As a result of this analysis, we were able to reach a settlement that I felt comfortable with. Throughout my collaboration with Gerry, I always felt that my case was in good hands.
  1. Gerald Michael Oginski

    Gerald Oginski

    LawyerComment:

    I have often written about “Who is My Ideal Client?” This particular gentleman happened to be my ideal client. He was intelligent. He kept an open mind. He asked lots of great questions. He was receptive to my ideas. He made suggestions.

    He listened to my advice. He understood our strategies.

    What happened to his wife was tragic. What happened to her was preventable. Unfortunately, the doctor caring for her and the hospital staff failed to recognize what was going on which ultimately led to her untimely death.

    It was truly a pleasure and a privilege to represent this gentleman in his quest for justice. Thank you for your kind words above.

    Gerry Oginski, Esq.
    516-487-8207

    Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

Exceptional malpractice attorney

Posted by: Thomas, a Medical Malpractice client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gerald Oginski

I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.

Gerald handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I have hired Gerald Oginski on a per diem basis to conduct medical malpractice depositions for my firm for over ten years. I have always found Gerald to be exceptional in his knowledge of the facts, the medicine and his preparedness. He has effectively and in a very timely manner reported back on the assignments giving me feed back and insights and extremely helpful suggestions regarding further avenues of discovery to pursue and long range strategies to pursue in the prosecution of my case. As a lawyer myself, I would highly recommend Gerald Oginski to other attorneys looking for a medical malpractice attorney with experience to handle all phases of such a case from depositions to trials.

Gerry Oginski

Posted by: James almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Gerald Oginski

Gerry is a trusted expert in his field providing great results. He is expert in the power of influence and you want that influence on your side. I would hire and entrust Gerry with my legal cases and recommend you do the same.

Gerald Oginski - a true professional who gets things done, an awesome lawyer

Posted by: Linda, a Medical Malpractice client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gerald Oginski

I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.

Gerald handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I met Gerald Oginiski with little hope of pursuing a malpractice case because I had been turned down by two lawyers and one lawyer had withdrawn from my case after working on it for about a year. I was told that I had no case. When I met Gery he was very upfront with me about the kind of case I had and how it could go either way but he did take the case and he worked very hard. I had a traumatic experience with a doctor in the operating room and Gery handled it with care. He was stern with me yet compassionate. He kept me informed every step of the way. If I called with a question he got back to me as soon as he could. His legal assistant Frances was also extremely helpful contacting me on a moments notice with a question and when I called she was very informative, professional and got to Gery very quickly with any question I had. Gery received several offers but suggested I turn them down beasuse he was confident I could do better. I won my case, was very happy with the reward and extremely happy with Gery and would very highly recommend Mr. Gerald Oginski to anyone. He is a true professional

professional and compassionate

Posted by: Joe, a Medical Malpractice client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gerald Oginski

I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.

Gerald handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

When I contacted Gerry(Mr. Oginski) in regard to handling my case he assured me that he would investigate the case to the fullest and get back to me. Once I provided him with all requested documentation and information, he examined the details of the case and got back to me within a month to let me know that there was evidence of Medical Malpractice. From the very beginning to the very end of the case Gerry and his staff showed knowledge and exhibited a very high standard of professionalism, while a the same time showing me great compassion. I was confident that he had my best interest at heart and would do his very best to get what I deserved for my pain and suffering. He was very honest about the amount that he thought the case was worth, as well as his fee. I was pleasantly surprised on the outcome of the case! Throughout the entire process I was in contact with Gerry Oginski by mail, and or direct phone calls. If I needed to speak with him for any reason he was always available. His office staff were ALWAYS polite, friendly and a pleasure to deal with. There is no doubt in my mind that Gerry is one of the best Lawyers you could use. Even years later after my case has been settled, Gerry still continues to keep in touch! I can always look forward to a birthday note or holiday greeting from him. It was definitely a great experience working with him and his staff.

How does a doctor fail to diagnose an impending heart attack?

Posted by: Michael, a Medical Malpractice client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gerald Oginski

I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.

Gerald handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

My name is Michael Meyerson, and I am a personal injury attorney practicing in Brooklyn, NY. One day I received a call from a young woman who thought that something was done wrong to her husband. She began to tell me a story that just didn’t make sense. Her young husband had massive chest pain and was seen in a local emergency room. He was kept for a few days for evaluation and then told to follow up with his cardiologist. Three months later her husband suffered a massive heart attack that killed 70% of his heart. He likely would never work again. It turns out he was the number one mortgage broker in his company having won numerous awards over the years. His wife called wanting to know whether they might have a valid medical malpractice case. Since our firm does not handle that type of medical malpractice, I called my good friend Attorney Gerry Oginski who handles medical malpractice cases in New York. Gerry visited this family and promised to get the medical records and do a thorough evaluation to determine if they had a valid medical malpractice case. Here is what happened: When this young man presented to a local emergency room with severe chest pain, he was properly worked up. They did the right tests. They did an EKG. They did a stress test. They even gave him a proper referral to a cardiologist to follow up. The problem was that they failed to properly interpret one of the key tests done while he was a patient at this hospital. But the young man didn’t know that at the time. Over the next three months, this young man was told to follow up with his new cardiologist and that’s exactly what he did. Unfortunately, his new cardiologist never obtained the local hospital record where he had a cardiac workup. Had he done so, he likely would have seen the key problem that caused this patient to suffer a massive heart attack only three months after he was seen in the hospital. It turns out that the EKG that was originally interpreted by the doctor in the hospital was not interpreted correctly. That EKG showed, according to the cardiology experts that Gerry retained, that there was evidence of ischemia, which means there’s a decreased blood flow to the heart. If the doctors had recognized and accurately interpreted this EKG, this patient would’ve had additional testing that would’ve revealed the blockages to his heart. Gerry uncovered this while investigating the case. If this information had been revealed while he was in the hospital, he could have undergone an elective triple bypass surgery. Had that been done, the patient never would’ve had his massive heart attack, killing off the majority of his heart. Gerry did a remarkable job of obtaining multiple very qualified experts to support this case and prosecuted this case as if it were going to trial. He conducted extensive depositions of all witnesses in this case and most remarkable was his questioning of the cardiologist who interpreted the crucial EKG. Within the first 15 minutes of questioning this doctor, the key issue had been exposed and the defense’s case came crumbling down. The defense doctor didn’t even know what happened and why this case was over despite the fact that he was still being questioned by Gerry. The reality was that this doctor gave such damaging testimony without even realizing it, that he no longer had a viable defense. Not only was Gerry fully versed in the medicine involved in this case, he was fully prepared to go toe to toe with the cardiologist and the other doctors who treated this young patient. However, what was absolutely stunning was the call I received from him letting me know the settlement amount for this young man who will likely never be able to work again in his lifetime. Would you like to learn what this case settled for? Gerry settled this case for $6 million dollars. I give Gerry my highest recommendation as an experienced medical malpractice trial attorney here in the state of New York.

Gerry Oginski--More Than A Lawyer

Posted by: Mona, a Medical Malpractice client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Gerald Oginski

I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.

Gerald handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I had gone to a couple of attorneys prior to Gerry Oginski. These attorneys told me that I didn’t have much of a case even though I had told them that I could not see out of one eye as a result of botched cataract surgery. Then a miracle happened. I met Gerry, who asked me a bunch of questions and agreed to take my case. He knew all the right questions to ask and answered all the questions I asked him. His knowledge of the law impressed me. I felt very comfortable with his compassion, caring, and his positive outlook. I call him Gerry because over time, I started to feel that he was a part of my family, and that I could go to him at any time, with any concern or questions that I had. I came to look upon him as more than my lawyer. I felt like he was one of my sons, or at least, a much younger brother. I was pleased with the settlement that I received. The outcome of my case was a good thing; the fact that Gerry was there to see to it, PRICELESS.