Martin T. Johnson’s Reviews

Martin T. Johnson

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The best in the business! Bar none.

    Posted by Eric, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Marty Johnson has my highest, unreserved recommendation for managing a complex divorce in Westchester County. Marty is the best in the business and I am not alone thinking that way. When I hired Marty, I knew I was in good hands when I learned my wife's attorney recently went through his own divorce. Who did my wife's attorney choose, you ask? Martin T. Johnson!

    Unfortunately, this was not my first divorce and I did not have a good result the first time around. I speak from experience. To me, a divorce attorney has to be a good partner. Both the client and attorney have to work well together and be a good team to generate the best results. There are very few attorneys, in my mind, that can pull that off. They can't do it because their ego gets in the way...it's their way or the highway. Marty, on the other hand, actively sought my input and used it to maximum effect. He was responsive, compassionate and brutally effective with the information provided. I would marvel at the level of detail he could recite in open court and in judge's chambers where he would usually emerge with that 'I'm about to give you good news' contained smile. He translated facts and melded them into coherent legal speak that always resonated with the court.

    If I were to focus on one important aspect of Marty's effectiveness it would involve custody - the most emotionally charged and draining experience one can have. Some attorneys can prey on their client's emotions. Marty does not. During my experience, I left countless emotional voicemails and emails during the ups and downs of the custody and awful forensics process. I knew if Marty responded I was onto something and he would use it with remarkable effect. That said, his lack of response became just as important to me. If he didn't respond, I knew my points wouldn't amount to much in court and Marty didn't waste any time or billable hours addressing my emotions that would lead nowhere.

    I could go on and on but I'll conclude by saying Marty has a unique demeanor that generates respect of the judges, law guardians, and his opponents alike. My truly amazing results are testament to his remarkably high skill level. He destroyed his opponents with a smile and while maintaining the utmost respect of the court. My wife ended up burning through three attorneys and ultimately admitted in open court that she had no match for Marty. My divorce had a lot of moving parts - so many moving parts that it could have been a disaster if we didn't work well together. At one point, Marty was managing custody issues, a failed real estate transaction of my own doing (don't ask) and alleged violations of protective orders. It was a mess that Marty managed for me with such effectiveness that, looking back, I don't know how I could have gotten through it without him.

    The moral of this story: you want Martin T. Johnson in your foxhole.

  2. Well Represented

    Posted by Peter, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin 1-3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Marty Johnson represented me in a matrimonial case for 18 months. This was a very challenging case which required a lawyer with vast experience and a solid understanding of matrimonial law. Marty was able to guide me through the legal issues of the case and consistently afforded me direct and clear answers to the questions I posed throughout the process. I felt very comfortable relying on his advice knowing it was well founded in the law and that I was deriving the benefit of his many years of experience in the field. His advice consistently centered around what was best for me and my children and at all times Marty sought an expeditious and fair resolution to the case. The ultimate resolution to the matter reinforced the fact that the advice provided along the way was on point each step of the way. Representation by Marty Johnson meant that I could focus on and concern myself with a resolution to the case. Not having to worry about my representation was a huge advantage and a burden I did not have to concern myself with. Without hesitation I will continue to recommend and refer clients to Marty Johnson.

  3. Divorce Trial

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin 1-3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Johnson helped me through a difficult divorce that went to trial. He is an experienced and knowledgeable attorney who gets right to the important issues. Other lawyers sometimes get caught up in trivial points that waste both time and money. He did an excellent job in prepping me for my trial.
    There was a fair settlement at the conclusion of the trial thanks to Mr. Johnson.

  4. MARTIN JONSON THE BEST

    Posted by RICHARD, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin 1-3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Child Custody matter.

    I WAS IN A CUSTODY BATTLE FOR MY SON. HIS MOTHER HAS HAD ME ARRESTED NUMEROUS TIMES ON FAKE CHARGES. WHEN MR JOHNSON TOOK MY CASE,I HAD A MEETING WITH HIM IN HIS OFFICE. WHEN I SAW HOW PROFESSIONAL,AND DETAILED HE WAS,I KNEW RIGHT THERE AND THEN,HE WAS THE LAWYER I NEEDED. WHEN WE WENT TO TRIAL,HE WAS A TRUE PROFESSIONAL. HE WAS SO DETAILED AND ORGANIZED IT WAS LIKE WATCHING A SURGEON. AND HIS PRESENCE IN THE COURT ROOM WAS AMAZING.YOU KNEW THE MINUTE HE SPOKE WHO WAS IN CONTROL..AND I WASNT SURPRISED AT ALL WHEN HE WON THE CASE. IF YOU ARE GOING TO PAY A LAWYER ,YOU MIGHT AS WELL PAY THE BEST.WIN OR LOOSE HE IS WORTH EVERY PENNY..

  5. The Best Attorney

    Posted by Darlene, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin 1-3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Family matter.

    Mr. Johnson was recommended to me by an attorney friend. He was highly recommended and thought to be the "best" in Rockland County. I had been through the Family Court system of Rockland County with another attorney and was disappointed. It took a long time to find someone who I could trust to do the right thing for me and my son. Mr. Johnson proved to be the "best". He was admired in the Court Room by everyone he came in contact with. He is a shining star and dedicated attorney. Mr. Johnson is a highly respected and competent attorney whose confidence and outstanding knowledge of family law was proven by the results he achieved in the handling of my case. During a custody proceeding there are so many emotions the client experiences and having the skill and expertise of a successful experienced attorney is so important. He was there for me every step of the way and I am so grateful that I chose this outstanding attorney. He is simply "THE BEST"! I would highly recommend Mr. Johnson.

  6. He is extremely knowledgeable, moves quickly and lays out your options in simple terms

    Posted by don.moody3, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin 1-3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I worked with Marty through my divorce. He is extremely knowledgeable, moves quickly and lays out your options in simple terms. He helped me make hard decisions at a very difficult time. Having him on my side reduced the stress. I highly recommend him.

  7. Martin T. Johnson . . . Legal Prowess at its Finest!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin 1-3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Child Custody matter.

    We called a family friend who worked in the Family Court for over 25 years and asked her who, in her opinion, was the best attorney with respect to child custody/relocation matters. She replied, "Hands down, it's Martin Johnson." 



    Despite our best efforts to reach a settlement out of court, the matter was set down for trial. During the trial, I witnessed up close and personal, the caliber and integrity of Martin Johnson and his legal expertise. He continually maintained a code of ethics and standards during the trial. He successfully challenged the credibility of witness testimony and stated the facts in evidence clearly and precisely. Whether it was on direct, cross examination or re-direct, Marty maintained his professional demeanor. Furthermore, he exuded confidence without arrogance in his conveyance of the facts at every proceeding.

    Throughout the long and tedious legal process, Marty kept me apprised and discussed with me the legalities and proper courses of action to specific situations as they arose at various times during the proceedings. 



    You roll the dice taking matters to court and leave your fate in the hands of the justice system because you never know how the Court will rule. Courts do not rule with their heart. Courts rule based on facts in evidence and witness testimony. Through Marty's professionalism and litigation of the facts, we received the best possible outcome for my children and me. I put my faith in Marty and he renewed my faith in attorneys and the justice system.

    Marty is deserving of every accolade stated in this review and more. Divorce and custody battles are emotional roller coasters and I am proud to say that I had Martin Johnson in my corner every step of the way.

    A gentleman and a scholar . . . If you're looking for the best attorney to represent you, "hands down, it's Martin Johnson."

  8. A Great Lawyer

    Posted by Bruce, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Johnson was well informed and gave me the courage to do what was right for my family.

  9. Top Notch Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Bob, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nothing tops experience, and Mr. Johnson has been there some 25+ years. Confident without coming across arrogant, Current and in-tune without being lofty. Good listener.
    After it was over, my ex-wife commented how professional he was in comparison to the lawyer she chose.

  10. Superior Marital Attorney

    Posted by Greg, a Prenuptials client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Martin Johnson.
    • I hired Martin more than 3 years ago.
    • Martin handled my Marriage / Prenuptials matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Martin Johnson is the most highly regarded marital attorney in lower New York State. His expertise and experience make him far superior to any other marital attorneys. Every time I went to court, other lawyers would always come up to me and say, "is Marty your attorney?" When I said "yes," they would say, "you have the best there is." Marty is very honest with his billings, and a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend Marty as a marital attorney. He is simply the best.