James J. Sexton’s Reviews

James J. Sexton

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Quintessential professional

    Posted by Marguerite Cecelia Farnspeck, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Sexton was recommended to me by a physician friend to handle a very contentious divorce. I had consulted two others before securing him to handle what turned into a very long, arduous process because of a highly adversarial and vindictive opposition.
    A complex divorce is a ship floating on the murkiest of waters.....Mr. Sexton and his entire team led me carefully and were of solid comfort as they settled my life affairs. I am grateful.

  2. I am extremely satisfied

    Posted by Jenny, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I can honestly say that working with Jim has been a very pleasent experience as divorce isnt an easy situation. The staff was very helpfull at all times and were always available to provide information upon request. The process was very smooth and very fast. Someone i had recommended also went through a divorce process with Jim and feels the same way. I will deffinately recommend this law firm to anyone who may be looking for these services. Thanks a million!

  3. James is a must have lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This man saved my life, he is an amazing attorney and a great overall legal guide. He knew things about law that I didn't even know. James J Sexton is like a roller coaster, he always has the loopholes. He beat my wife's lawyer down and gave me what I deserved. Thank you James, you really helped my divorce be less stressful and expensive.

  4. Best Family Court Attorney Rockland Has to Offer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Highly recommend. Expert negotiator, skilled attorney, knows the court room.
    I've Been to every-other Family Court Attorney in the county, James Sexton was the only one who took control of major issues and delivered results. I started my divorce 8 years prior to hiring James. Three High Profile attorneys cleaned out my bank account and I still was not divorced, and had a stock pile of unresolved issues. Things changed with Sexton on my side. Divorce settled quickly, Problems were resolved. Continues to have my back and has turned things around many times. James Sexton is an outstanding attorney, I'd have non other by my side in the court room.
    Best of all, He actually Cares.

  5. There should be a picture of him in the Oxford dictionary next to professional

    Posted by Robert Casey,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My father said when choosing the right person for the job always pick the guy who is busy. If he doesn't have time to waste he will not waste yours! If he isn't busy he has nothing but time. I felt confident from start to finish when he said he would get back to me he or his staff did! He didn't hold my hand he did his job, and did it above expectation.

  6. James Sexton is the lawyer you want in your corner.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jim was a godsend during my divorce. He was great in the courtroom and at the negotiating table. I would highly recommend him.

  7. Tough- hardworking-aggresive with integrity

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Integrity and competence is something that is important to you than you will be happy with James. He will give you the advice and help you need. Sometimes its not what you want to hear but its better to be informed and understand the full situation. If you are looking for aggressive hard working tough attorney go for James.

  8. Extremely generous with his time

    Posted by a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gave me excellent legal advice in regards to a personal issue. Really really knows his stuff. Very smart and personable.

  9. Helpful in a time of personal crisis

    Posted by Todd S., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had the good luck to be recommended to James Sexton by a personal friend. I had seen several lawyers and worked with another and none of them dealt with my situation and the finalization of my separation with the clarity that Mr. Sexton did. Unlike other attorneys who speak in legal jargon and double talk, Mr. Sexton is as straightforward as can be. He cuts to the chase constantly and made the language simple and understandable. His advice and legal council were extraordinarily well thought out, and clearly came from a perspective of great knowledge and experience in family law. When I had questions, he took time to listen and took care to answer in a way that truly made me feel comfortable; even when I had to make difficult decisions as to property and time with my child. In addition, unlike others, he carried through with all he promised to do for me and he did so in a timely manner. He was accesible when I needed him, and I found all of his staff to be the same. Using Mr. Sexton turned out to be the best decision I could have made during this rocky time.

  10. "Professionalism at its best"

    Posted by Joseph M, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sexton.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    James was vey professional and understanding to my needs. Felt very comfortable with James and was 100% satisfied with the outcome of my case. I highly recommend James Sexton for your Divorce or custody case.

845-708-9100