Peter H Tilem’s Reviews

Peter H Tilem

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Stellar Representation

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter 1-6 months ago.
    • Peter handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Peter Tilem was not the first attorney that I have used but he is by far the best. I came into contact with him when I was in a pretty bad situation and didn't have much hope. Peter Tilem was able to not just lift my spirits but turn around but my case as well. He was able to use his experience and expertise to well exceed my expectations I highly recommend him to anyone in need of legal advice or counsel.

  2. Peter Tilem

    Posted by Ira, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter 1-6 months ago.
    • Peter handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Peter Tilem is extremely professional. He cares about his clients and there issues. There has never been a time where he was unable to give the personalized service I required. He has always kept me up to date and informed . He has represented me in numerous cases and has always achieved a positive result. He also tells you like it is whether you want to hear it or not he is a man of character and principal.

  3. Exemplary Professional Legal Services, Outstanding Outcome!

    Posted by Kay, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Peter was very patient and explained the process of what was going to happen clearly. He told me his strategies and options that were available to me. The cost was very reasonable. I was very nervous because I had never had anything like this happen to me and he was very reassuring. I felt very comfortable leaving this matter in his hands to do the very best for me.

  4. NY Fierarms Attorney

    Posted by James Ludwig, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Peter to represent me after contacting a "so called" gun Attorney, that told me I had no chance of winning my case. He was wrong, Peter won the case for me, He was very concerned, knowledgeable about what I was going through. I would highly recommend him to anyone with a firearms related issue. I feel that not only did I hire an attorney, I also gained a friend. I am extremely pleased.

  5. I'm delighted that I can without reservation endorse Peter Tilem's work in resolving my case successfully.

    Posted by Dick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Peter and his staff were very attentive to all my needs....returning my phone calls....sitting down with me and listening to me (endlessly)....offering advice and walked me through the entire process.

    If I ever need an attorney again, I would definitely use Peter's firm. I would definitely recommend them to others.

  6. Ecperience & Professional readiness is a must. Peter H TIlem has that and so much more.

    Posted by Lifelong Gun Owner, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Prior to contacting Peter I wasted a vital week attempting to call other attorneys. Who all said they would take the case then either never contacted me back after the screening or they would tell me they could take the case but reccomend finding someone more suitable for "such a serious crime". To explain: I had just recently moved to NY State where my daughter instantly obtained a issue with an older man that need the Police to get involved in. Once we called the Police they came to our home to take a report. Once they ran my ID they noticed I was a gun owner and asked about the guns I owned. All of a sudden I was being arrested inside my own home, taken to jail & charge with a violent felony that had me facing 7 years in prison. My guns were all legally purchased and registered but NY State doesn't recognize any of registrations but their own.
    Once I found and called Peter I was instantly transferred to him where he took a brief description of what had occurred. Within a few more minutes he contacted me back to take a full description. I was given 2 weeks to prepare my case for court but Peter's knowledge and quick action turned it around to 2 month in order to prepare the documents he wanted ( which my household was still in disarray from the move) Not only did he assist me with getting the proper documents but also made sure I completely understood what was happening every step of the process. If I had a question for him it was merely minutes after my call he would contact back HIMSELF. He was not only able to get my charges reduced without jail time but also obtained documents for me to from the Prosecuting Attorney and Judge that neither had ever heard of. These documents made it possible for me to retain necessary legal clearance for work and the ability to make a simple misunderstanding on my part into just that. When the court system made me into an instant "violent criminal" although I had no prior arrest history. If you NEED an attorney that will look after your best interest and be 100% up to par on the ever changing NY State Gun Laws then Peter H Tilem is the man you want. His knowledge, experience and personal professionalism means everything!

  7. Superior Representation

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Prior to contacting Peter we had worked with two other lawyers on the same issue. One was unhelpful and the other seemed grossly incompetent. Peter was like a breath of fresh air. He was calm, he was reassuring, and has a keen understanding of the government under which he operated. We feel we were well represented, with peter decisively on our side. The outcome was better than we had hoped for and we would not hesitate to use Peter in the future.

  8. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by WS, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Peter Tilem was the best choice I have had made in years prior to the poor choices that lead to my criminal issues. Since a lot of my personal circumstances were very vague and I did not completely understand the law, it helped a great deal that Peter was my attorney. He explained my options; he kept me informed at all times, he answered all of my questions, phone calls, and emails. During the tumultuous experience, Peter in some miraculous way made it more bearable. I am forever grateful for everything he and his staff have done to help me through the most difficult time in my life. If you are looking for an attorney who will truly help you and care about you, choose Tilem and Campbell. It will be the best decision you will make for yourself. Thank you, Peter! You will never be forgotten.

  9. Saved me from a 6yr minimum felony.

    Posted by Ray, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    i was facing a double felony after i severely misunderstood Ny's laws. i am a Pa resident. although i never met peter tilem face to face, he called, left voicemails, and made every attempt to keep me informed throughout the whole terrifying process. peter managed to build a case that favored me so well that i ended up with a small fine and nothing more! the pricing was more then i anticipated, but well worth it, i am proof.

  10. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Tilem.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Peter is an excellent attorney, personable and knowledgeable. He handled our matter quickly and effectively, and was always prompt in communicating with us whenever anything came up. Thanks to his help, and his thorough, aggressive defense of our interests, our matter was settled without recourse to the courts. That having been said, I would have had no qualms about being represented by Peter in a court action, and indeed he will be my first choice should this ever become necessary. At all times, having Peter in my corner made me feel a great deal more secure. His representation saved us an enormous amount of hassle and undoubtedly a great deal of money as well. His services came highly recommended from friends in the legal profession, and his advocacy on our behalf lived up to every aspect of the recommendation.