Jennifer Jill O'Hara’s Reviews

Jennifer Jill O'Hara

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A human, Not just a Attorney

    Posted by Rob, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer O'Hara.
    • I hired Jennifer 6-12 months ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.

    Handles the case with great care. Councils you to make the right moves and think clearly. She even picked up the phone on Thanksgiving eve and worked the problem when my ex tried to keep my children from me.( I did get them ;) ) I don't know many Lawyers that would do that. 5 stars from me! Look no further , She is the one you want on your side!

  2. Jennifer Jill O'Hara - Outstanding

    Posted by MEH, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer O'Hara.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jennifer is a consummate professional. She handled my fairly recent divorce case and child custody action that was complicated, lengthy and at times unnerving. Jennifer is knowledgable, honest, thorough, trustworthy and caring. She is greatly respected by her peers. She has strong rapports with office personnel, court personnel and court appointed professionals. She is quick thinking, expresses herself succinctly and eloquently. She has a strong presence in court and in the courtroom. She conducts depositions thoroughly, is a diligent negotiator and interfaces well with opposing counsel and clients. Jennifer is objective and works in the best interest of her clients. She has a keen awareness of situations and people and a sixth sense of what a particular action requires and how best to proceed. She is reassuring, strategic and focused. She is on target with moving cases forward to bring them to satisfactory closure. Her extensive experience in divorce and child custody actions, personal compassion and empathy, contribute to making Jennifer, in my opinion, one of Westchester's most outstanding attorneys. I unequivocally recommend Jennifer O'Hara to represent anyone in a divorce and/or child custody action. One would be hard pressed to find an attorney with greater integrity, passion and professional commitment.

  3. Jennifer made my ex husband cry and for this I will love her forever.

    Posted by Christine, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer O'Hara.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Support matter.

    Controlling ex husband thought that he could get away with bullying me around and telling me what he will and will not pay. I went to Jennifer to renegotiate my child support after my first attorney 3 years prior, had me settle for much less than me and my girls can live on. Jennifer was able to negotiate a child support that my girls and I can live with. In addition, she caught him in a huge lie and he cried. I would highly recommend using her and will go back to her if I ever need additional help.

  4. Jennifer O'Hara

    Posted by David, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer O'Hara.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jennifer is an invaluable resource to any client seeking to persue a divorce action. While her first preference is to settle, she will ensure that you are aware of all the unforeseen consequences of litigating so that you can make an informed decision. She is deeply knowledgable in area of Child Custody and very accustomed to high conflict proceedings.

  5. Highly Recommend Jennifer O'Hara!

    Posted by Grace, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer O'Hara.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jennifer Jill O'Hara was there for me in every possible way both legally and in terms of being a very kind person. She has gotten me through a very difficult legal battle and I felt totally confident the entire time that I was in good hands. She is absolutely trustworthy, responsive, professional, and kept me informed all along, putting my mind at ease. She is extremely hard working and I feel so incredibly fortunate to have found her and I highly recommend her. You will not be disappointed.

  6. Child custody and divorce with knowledge and compassion...

    Posted by Tom, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer O'Hara.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Divorce attorneys, in general, have very bad reputations as uncaring and money hungry. When I first contacted Jennifer, I had the feeling that she was different. In the back of my mind I beleived that every lawyer tries to sell themselves. However, after meeting with her, I knew she was the perfect choice. Jennifer got a handle on my situation relatively quickly and made my feelings of helplessness go away. Jennifer really listened and her knowledge of the law and custody put me at ease in a very stressful and trying time. Jennifer is very honest and understands life struggles. She encourages communication and presents all possible outcomes. I never felt she was just trying to make a buck. She is always available to answer my questions, give advise or offer encouragement. I gained the most respect watching her in the court-room. Her demeanor and court room presence is impressive. Her intimate knowledge of details and facts of the case are outstanding. And her compassion and care for me and my children's well-being is second to none. While going through this highly conflicted custody battle, Jennifer helps me maintain my focus, provides me support, and guides me every step of the process. She helped me achieve peace, remain hopeful and know that I will always be a part of my children's lives, while providing me the best represntation. She has been extremely hard-working, focused, knowledgable and informative and is highly recommended.

  7. Strong, Compassionate,Professional

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer O'Hara.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms Ohara has been my lawyer for the past 6 years. My actual divorce case ended but has had bits and pieces that needed her attention. She has always called back, always taken time to explain, never lied to me but told me the truth in the most humane way. She is still always well prepared, completely professional and from what I have viewed during court well respected by her peers. I respected that she always used the truth and never used drama in the court room to distract the judges, which always made me feel she was on target and was using facts instead of stuff. I have been in court alot in the battle of divorce and seen some interesting things brought on by other lawyers. I always felt safe with her there. She never promised what she could not produce but always seemed to come on top

  8. Communicative & knowledgable

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer O'Hara.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jennifer O'hara handled my custody case in the best way possible for me. She was very analytical of all of my paperwork and had all the legal knowledge and creativity to bring the best solutions. She communicates very persuasively and with credibiltiy in court. She also can explain the different choices to take in a way that was understanding to a client. I would recommend her.

914-328-3805