Back to David’s Profile

Client Review

David has received 27 client reviews

Truly a top family law expert

Posted by: Jonathan, a Child Support client 13 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Bliven

I hired David < 1 month ago.

David handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Mr. Bliven came very highly recommended to me by a friend who used to practice family law and had transitioned into other areas of legal practicee. I was not disapponited. Mr. Bliven was thoroughly knowledgeable and highly attentive as he helped me smoothly resolve complex child support matters involving international issues of competing jurisdictions. Having had a number of attorneys in the course of my divorce and child custody/support matters over the last 18 years, I believe I am expereinced to know that Mr Bliven is a top family law expert.

My child support/ child custody experience with Mr. Bliven

Posted by: Gregg, a Child Support client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Bliven

I hired David 6-12 months ago.

David handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Although I subscribe to a legal plan through my union (I'm a teacher), I decided to retain Mr. Bliven based on our initial consultation. He seemed much better versed than the less expensive "plan" attorney I spoke to in the child support matter I brought to him. Mr. Bliven scanned the paperwork I brought with me to the consultation and immediately developed a strategy using various points of law. Mr. Bliven kept in constant contact with me and "cc'd" me on all correspondence he and my ex-wife's attorney had via email or hard-copy. Mr. Bliven's court room demeanor was just as I had hoped it would be; vocal and on point. Ultimately, my ex-wife and I reached a fair compromise that did not follow the typical default percentages NY State dictates. I would definitely retain again should the need arise.

Great Lawyer

Posted by: Nancy, a Divorce client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Bliven

I hired David 1-3 years ago.

David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I had consulted with other lawyers during my search for an attorney. I felt comfortable hiring Mr. Bliven. He was able to answer all my questions and was honest. I was going through a difficult time financially. Mr. Bliven made adjustments to my bill and worked out a payment plan when I otherwise couldn't have afford a lawyer. I had to commute from the Bronx to court in Brooklyn which was hard for me financially. Mr. Bliven was willing to drive me to and from court in Brooklyn which I greatly appreciated. I am very satisfied with his services. I highly recommend Mr. Bliven.

Excellent lawyer

Posted by: Steven, a Divorce client 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Bliven

I hired David more than 3 years ago.

David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Took me through a difficult divorce step by step. He handled everything in a competent and professional manner. He kept me in the loop at all times.

Excellent Lawyer

Posted by: a Divorce client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Bliven

I hired David more than 3 years ago.

David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

Mr. Bliven is a true professional and was very helpful during my divorce process . He managed to keep me fully informed every step of the way. His rates were reasonable for a lawyer of his level. I would highly recommend him for any family related issues.

would do it over the same way.

Posted by: Anthony, a Family client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Bliven

I hired David 6-12 months ago.

David handled my Family matter.

was very help full in every way,kept me informed all the time.and of course very knowledgeable about the law.just a down to earth guy, so glad i found him, thank you David.

client of Mr Bliven. represented in a post divorce child support case

Posted by: ariane, a Child Support client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Bliven

I hired David 1-3 years ago.

David handled my Child Support matter.

Mr Bliven was knowlegable. Informative and an incredible strategist. He used all of my legal rights to defend me in my case and was extremely professional to work with. I can't thank him enough for his ability to use our rights as law abiding citizens and to get the job done. David consulted with me on all motions before revealing them to the court or to any other parties. For this I thank him for and am gratefull for his dlilgence in representation.

Worst attorney in NYS

Posted by: Ms. Z. Israel, a Family client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend David Bliven

I hired David 1-3 years ago.

David handled my Family matter.

He was absolutely one of the worst paid lawyers that I've retained. He's consistently late or sick. He charges you for email inboxes, instead of on aggressive and assertive representation in the court. He provided me with substandard representation. In the end I paid thousands of dollars on him receiving emails, and him sending out nonsense subpoena when it was never used, and his primary intention was to get me a standard 6-12 month ACD, when I clearly informed him that Trial is where I intend to take this case.Don't bother retain this legal aid attorney/ private attorney who disguises himself as a knowledgeable former ACS attorney. The worst attorney can get you an ACD for free. Word of advice to those seeking a family lawyer is spend your money where it will work for you, and clearly it won't work for you when hiring David Bliven.

Caution

Posted by: a Family client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Excellent

I do not recommend David Bliven

David handled my Family matter.

He always arrives late to court hearings, unprepared, and doesn't wholeheartedly advocate for what you want as a client. He doesn't listen to his clients wishes. He cowards down when he comes across a hostile Judge. He's not an assertive lawyer. He gives a good presentation upon getting your retainer, but his actions differ in the court room.

Highly Recommend

Posted by: Peter. S, a Child Support client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Bliven

I hired David 1-3 years ago.

David handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I found Mr. Bliven through AVVO. I have never hired an attorney and didn’t know where to start. Mr. Bliven was down to earth and very approachable. I hired Mr. Bliven for a Child Support matter because of his knowledge and honestly. During the hearing Mr. Bliven picked apart the opposing Lawyer. He got my case dismissed and saved me thousands in child Support. I couldn’t have been more please with his work. I even received a refund with a detailed Invoice for charges. I Highly recommend Mr. Bliven .